English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 June 2018, 15:21   #1
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 51
Replacement psu

In the facebook amiga group (im not on FB anylonger) someone showed how to add a new powersupply into the old case, it wasnt an ATX it was something different and im wondering if anyone has a link to it or something similar? I thought i bookmarked it for future use but i cannot find it.


any hints or tips are welcome. ideally i want a fanless psu.


Daz
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 15:26   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,154
Which Amiga is this for? MeanWell power supplies are one common option:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1087131
ajk is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 15:31   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,492
A PicoPSU is another option. Ian Stedman sells a suitable adapter if required.

http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/de...x_adaptor.html
Hewitson is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 15:33   #4
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 87
Drewlio77 over at AmigaWorld did a great DIY job.... Link...

Post
https://amigaworld.net//modules/newb...41790&forum=25

Pics
https://www.flickr.com/photos/129693...7683023187663/

PSU
https://www.jameco.com/z/PT-65B-Mean...5A_216734.html

Connector
https://www.allelectronics.com/item/...%3A1%3BN%3B%7D

Last edited by Amiga4000; 18 June 2018 at 16:26.
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 15:41   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,492
Many of the homemade PSU's I see on here and other sites look like nothing but fire hazards. That one is very professionally done.

In the C64 scene it's quite common to put 2 "wall warts" in a case and call it a PSU. I know of at least one case where one of these units has caught fire.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 16:50   #6
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 36
Posts: 2,431
Im waiting for this one to arrive here: https://lotharek.pl/productdetail.php?id=187



PWR1 - Power supply


Protections: Short circuit / Overload / Over voltage
Cooling by free air convection
LED indicator for power on
100% full load burn-in test
All using 105? long life electrolytic capacitors
Withstand 300VAC surge input for 5 second
High operating temperature up to 70?
Withstand 5G vibration test
High efficiency, long life and high reliability
3 years warranty
adjustable 5V line with digital LCD information display
transparent acrylic case
88 - 264 VAC Input
Ideal for AMIGA 1200/600/500, even expanded ones; ATARI 8bit, others...
kriz is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 17:05   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,158
Nice case (if slightly concerning to have it so open like that), and that's the same module I use for Amiga PSUs, the Meanwell RT-65B.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 18 June 2018, 17:42   #8
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 51
my machine is a 1200 ks3.1 with ACA1221ec added. Thanks for the tips. Regarding the PT50B isnt there a fuse in the plug anyway so no need add an internal fuse?
How safe are the PT65B's in use for this application?

Last edited by ItsTheSmell; 18 June 2018 at 18:33.
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 19:13   #9
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,158
PT-65s are similar to the RT-65s but open-framed, so you need to have an adequate enclosure around them (the original PSU case will work in this regard). They also lack the screw terminals so you need to get the crimp connectors needed (or solder directly to them for an "agricultural" solution). They do include an replaceable on-board fuse though so that's a bonus - the enclosed modules have a fuse but it's a smaller, soldered down one so difficult to replace. Not that you should ever need to...

Yes, the plug will have a fuse too, but in general you should really include a fuse in the unit itself. They're faster acting, and with a detachable cord you have more control over the rating by including a fuse in the PSU itself. There's nothing to stop someone using a different cord with a 13A fuse in it (UK/Ireland setup) or no fuse at all (US / rest of Europe setup). As I said however, the enclosed modules (e.g. RT-65B) have built-in fuses so you should be fine.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 18 June 2018, 22:05   #10
mpattonm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 30
This is another option:
http://centuriontech.eu/product/amipsu-forte/ or http://centuriontech.eu/product/amipsu-basic/
mpattonm is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 23:18   #11
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpattonm View Post



The amipsu - Forte is the one to go for. Thanks everyone.
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 19 June 2018, 20:05   #12
Solderbro
Registered User

Solderbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hamburg
Age: 50
Posts: 55
MEAN WELL original RT-65B meanwell RT-65 64.6W

This one is available at Amazon and cheaper than a cap replace in the small PSU. Found out that the Meanwell should fit into the original A500/600/1200 power supplies.
Solderbro is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 09:50   #13
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,704
Both the Lotharek and the Amipsu ones look good, however notice that the Amipsu does not seem to have an on/off switch, so you need to have this elsewhere, e.g. in your power strip.
demolition is online now  
Old 20 June 2018, 14:48   #14
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 246
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsTheSmell View Post
The amipsu - Forte is the one to go for. Thanks everyone.


AmiPSU is great (I have 2) but has no ON/OFF switch.
You need a switch in your powerboard but that can be annoying for other machines plugged...
seb132 is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 00:43   #15
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,624
What kind of idiot makes an Amiga PSU without a power switch?
idrougge is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 04:18   #16
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 246
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Go figure...
seb132 is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 08:07   #17
mpattonm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
What kind of idiot makes an Amiga PSU without a power switch?
If you do not like it, do not buy it. Simple as that. What makes you so angry to lay out your flustrations like this?
mpattonm is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 10:04   #18
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
What kind of idiot makes an Amiga PSU without a power switch?
Perhaps someone who prefers to keep the PSU out of sight? Then you can put a switch on the mains cable and put that switch anywhere you like. I guess most people probably had the PSU on the floor and then used their feet to kick the power on and off, but you must admit that is also not a very neat solution.


C= should have designed the Amiga with an internal switch, however since there are many voltages that needs to be switched on and off, it was probably not practical to do it like in the C64. However, they could have used an extra wire towards the PSU and used that to signal whether the power should be on or off and then have the PSU turn the power on and off (only really feasible with the switch mode types and not the heavy transformer types).
demolition is online now  
Old 21 June 2018, 10:10   #19
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
What kind of idiot makes an Amiga PSU without a power switch?

You can use one of this
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 11:53   #20
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Perhaps someone who prefers to keep the PSU out of sight? Then you can put a switch on the mains cable and put that switch anywhere you like. I guess most people probably had the PSU on the floor and then used their feet to kick the power on and off, but you must admit that is also not a very neat solution.
That's a matter of personal preference and something which an internal switch does not prevent. This product should be given a warning sign or delivered with the necessary accessories to make it function like a proper replacement PSU.

It is even more laughable when they boast that they use "not 'Made in PRC' junk" as a sales argument.
idrougge is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for CDTV mainboard + CDROM + PSU cap replacement list ChefDeadpool support.Hardware 0 29 November 2017 16:04
A4000 PSU Replacement 2017 IvanEBC support.Hardware 1 21 September 2017 09:12
WTB Any Amiga replacement PSU Akira MarketPlace 7 04 August 2015 15:44
Caps replacement in A4000 PSU (Skynet) Turran Hardware pics 1 30 April 2013 13:22
A4000D , psu replacement xc8 support.Hardware 10 28 March 2013 10:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09012 seconds with 15 queries