English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2019, 00:59   #1
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 884
Fastest way to exactly copy many files, Amiga-Side?

What is the fastest way on the Amiga to copy many files and folders recursively, with attributes etc.?

I tried directory opus 4 and 5, but it is slow and sometimes seems to truncate filenames etc.

Maybe the copy command on the CLI is better? Which arguments shall I use?

On my MacBook, I use rsync.
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 01:20   #2
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 122
Since you asked "What is the fastest way on the Amiga to copy many files and folders recursively, with attributes etc.?

I have passed this on many times... and use it myself. Works great. UNCROMPRESSED is faster.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

From mfilos.....

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=673448&postcount=2

LHA utility is enough mate.

Just open a CLI and type:
Code:
1> DH0:
1> lha -aezrx a DH1:backup.lha #?

That will create a file called "backup.lha" under partition DH1 (assuming the partition you want to backup is partition DH0) maintaining all protection bits etc.
The archive is not compressed so it will be rather large. If you want to make it compressed also just replace "z" with "Z" in lha options of the command provided.
Then of course you can transfer the one lha file via FTP or any other way anywhere

To restore the archive anytime just use the following command:
Code:
1> DH0:
1> lha x DH1:backup.lha
Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 05:41   #3
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 884
But I don't want to have one .lha file, I want each file and folder to appear on destination.
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 08:30   #4
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 646
It depends from many things.

First of all if something is truncated, You have something not right. It should not alter data in any way with proper system and settings. Check file manager if it supports longer filenames.

Second it depends from filesystem. OFS is slowest, FFS is little faster but not too much. If You want good speed it should be SFS or PFS. I had PFS3 on my Amiga Classic and disk operations were rather fast.

What CPU You have, it depends also from CPU - the faster the better. And even some FastRAM speedup disk ops.

You can also try to add buffers to device, it should speed up it.

Last edited by Solo Kazuki; 07 November 2019 at 09:17.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 11:35   #5
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn8887 View Post
I tried directory opus 4 and 5, but it is slow and sometimes seems to truncate filenames etc.
DOpus may have default filename length around 30 characters, have you checked that if you're using filesystems that support longer filenames? In DOpus5 you can find the setting in Settings->Environment->Directories->Maximum Filename Length. Set it as 107 characters, for example.


Quote:
Maybe the copy command on the CLI is better? Which arguments shall I use?
Yes, I think the Copy command from the shell is the most failproof solution in normal cases (no softlinks). Use the CLONE argument to get exact copies of the files.

Something like this...

Code:
Copy source:#? destination:path/ ALL CLONE QUIET
Then check the directory sizes, for example in DOpus, that they are exactly the same size in bytes in the source and destination to be sure that everything got copied correctly.

If you have soft links in the directory structure, then the Copy command isn't a good solution, but you have to find some 3rd party program for copying them correctly. BackUp, MirrorCopy, etc come handy then.
jPV is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 15:04   #6
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,377
As already mentioned by others. DOpus should work. If not something else is wrong (setting, filesystem, ...). If you want to copy only files that have changed like rsync then use Backup or MirrorCopy.
daxb is offline  
Old 08 November 2019, 00:03   #7
sTe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 61
Ill just make a note here, DOPUS has filesystem limits compared to CLI. I did some tests a month or two ago, to see how many characters a folder could have, and with how many nested folders inside could be ... CLI can go on forever, DOPUS I guess they decided to limit the amount of chars for tracking / memory usage?.
sTe is offline  
Old 08 November 2019, 12:37   #8
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,377
What DOpus version you are talking about? How many characters for a folder worked for you and where is the limit? How many sub directories? Give us examples/facts so we can test it on our systems. A small shell script that does all the things in RAM would be nice.
daxb is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 03:16   #9
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 884
Thanks for all the help! In the end I was successful with the copy command:
copy ALL FROM #? TO DH1:
worked perfectly

Yes, after I had some problems with Directory Opus 4 a year or so ago (truncating filenames, not copying files with many many subdirectories), I don't trust Directory Opus for this task anymore. I vaguely remember also having similar problems with latest Directory Opus 5 Magellan, but I might be wrong about that.
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 13:13   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,377
DOpus 5.82 works fine here. There is a (cosmetic) problem with truncated filename length in text lister. A lister buffer refresh can solve it.
daxb is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 14:16   #11
sTe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 61
I was using : Directory Opus 5 release 5.5 - Notes 20th August 1996.

I dont have my notes on me, but I think I was using DOPUS to create a folder :

012345678901234567890123456780

and then going inside and creating the same folder ... I think 8 times?

then going to CLI

makedir 012345678901234567890123456780
cd 012345678901234567890123456780

up arrow a few times, and you can re-run each line again.

and you will notice CLI, can go forever.

I can do some tests in a few weeks, at the moment in the middle of a project.

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
What DOpus version you are talking about? How many characters for a folder worked for you and where is the limit? How many sub directories? Give us examples/facts so we can test it on our systems. A small shell script that does all the things in RAM would be nice.
sTe is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 14:30   #12
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn8887 View Post
Thanks for all the help! In the end I was successful with the copy command:
copy ALL FROM #? TO DH1:
worked perfectly
If you forgot CLONE then it's not perfect.
idrougge is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 16:54   #13
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,377
I guess that is a CD and max command line length problem. With DOpus 5 and on CLI (3.1) I can greate 8 folders of 30 char length. The next (9) makedir throws an error ("can't create directory" or "already exists"). The ninth directory is shown in CLI "12" (DOpus 5) and "123456" (CLI). If I do a CD before makedir the directories are created without errors like you mentioned.
daxb is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 01:29   #14
sonninnos
Commodork

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 21
ZShell is great: "copy -r DH0: DH1:"
sonninnos is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 04:52   #15
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Why is ZShell great?
idrougge is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 16:54   #16
sonninnos
Commodork

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Why is ZShell great?
It delivers some sweet unixlinux feels. I boot straight to ZShell and not WB, because I like typing more than mouse action. Also easy to make function key macros (alias) for those often used commands.

Here is the convincing bits from the readme:
Quote:
Features:
* Freeware, no payment required !
* Usage is similar (or better) to the standard AmigaDOS shell.
* Has 68 built-in commands including all often needed commands,
so no disk access is necessary.
eg. list, dir, cd, assign, delete, copy, move, path, info, type
* About 36K small (pure assembler code)
* Starting from Workbench (!) or CLI. No installation needed.
* ANONYMOUS PIPES. You can choose between real and pseudo pipes.
* Fast FILENAME COMPLETION by simply pressing TAB; shows all matches.
* REVIEW buffer to see again what scrolled out of the window.
* MENUS for convenient use.
* Some commands and debugging features for PROGRAMMERS.
* ONLINE HELP function and AmigaGuide documentation with examples.
* Support of OS2.0+ and OS3.0+ specific stuff.
* LOCALIZED using standard shell's catalog file.
* Can open its own screen
* Wild cards and recursive processing.
* Real RUN and NEWCLI command that reenters ZShell quickly.
* Application-Window/-Icon
* 100% script compatibility
* DIR and LIST both sort (by default) and show file sizes.
sonninnos is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 19:28   #17
sTe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 61
Yeah I couldn't remember the exact numbers Thanks for confirming though.

I guess each programmer had their own ideas ... back in the day ... who ever is going to need more than 8 nested folders of 30 chars?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
I guess that is a CD and max command line length problem. With DOpus 5 and on CLI (3.1) I can greate 8 folders of 30 char length. The next (9) makedir throws an error ("can't create directory" or "already exists"). The ninth directory is shown in CLI "12" (DOpus 5) and "123456" (CLI). If I do a CD before makedir the directories are created without errors like you mentioned.
sTe is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 20:07   #18
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonninnos View Post
It delivers some sweet unixlinux feels. I boot straight to ZShell and not WB, because I like typing more than mouse action. Also easy to make function key macros (alias) for those often used commands.
How does it compare to KingCON?

OP, I found that the fastest way is the CLI. Dir managers seem to slow down with large file operations.
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 20:51   #19
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonninnos View Post
It delivers some sweet unixlinux feels. I boot straight to ZShell and not WB, because I like typing more than mouse action. Also easy to make function key macros (alias) for those often used commands.
I was obviously not communicating clearly. What I wondered was why it was a better alternative for copying files.
idrougge is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 21:08   #20
sonninnos
Commodork

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bren McGuire View Post
How does it compare to KingCON?
Never tried KingCON, so I can't tell. Only once seen someone use it on a video and the tab filename completion seemed much clunkier.



Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
I was obviously not communicating clearly. What I wondered was why it was a better alternative for copying files.
I did provide a command example, which does the same as "ALL FROM TO CLONE", but with a simpler syntax. I doubt there is any speed difference in action, though of course measuring is always welcome, if anyone cares enough.
sonninnos is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to copy files from inside an Amiga hardfile to real filesystem markmarques support.WinUAE 4 10 April 2017 11:49
fastest possible rom copy loop Yulquen74 Coders. Asm / Hardware 17 10 May 2014 20:10
Mounting .hdf files from Linux side? How? Hercules support.OtherUAE 3 15 August 2013 14:26
Amiga IDE shows in WinUAE but I can't copy files! SimonLCFC support.Hardware 18 09 July 2012 00:17
program to format/copy Amiga diks/files on the PC side ? Overdoc support.Other 3 21 January 2010 19:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08728 seconds with 15 queries