English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2018, 22:32   #1
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 584
Windows as a Screen in the Depth Gadget List

Hi Toni and all!

I'm using a lot WinUAE these days and I keep clicking the Workbench screen depth-gadget to go back to Windows .

So, I'm wondering, would it be possible to have a "special" screen in the list of screens of the screen depth-gadget that corresponds to Windows? So, clicking on the gadget would bring me back to Windows

Cheers!
tygre is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 12:20   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,408
I'm sure it would be easily doable, perhaps with a commodity that opens a dummy screen, the activation of which then triggers WinUAE to switch task... But that sounds horrendous. Without a counterpart gadget on the Windows screen, I can just imagine cycling through screens and ending up switching to Windows without wanting to, and then not being able to switch back without moving my mouse to the taskbar or hitting Alt-Tab... Or, perhaps even worse, hitting the close gadget on an application in Windows (since it's often in the same position as the screen gadget in Amiga OS) and losing a bunch of unsaved work.

I can see why you might like the idea, but I can see it getting very annoying, very quickly. The middle mouse button switch to Windows is annoying enough when accidentally triggered while trying to scroll a window.

Edit: It's been asked already: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=73868
Daedalus is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 16:05   #3
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 584
You would not have to use it

Thanks for the link to the other wish, though!
tygre is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 18:35   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,021
Optionally it would be ok but biggest problem is integrating it with UAE boot ROM and to activate it only when AmigaOS is in state when it can be activated (not too early).

I don't like external commands. Everything (almost) needs to be integrated.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 November 2018, 18:52   #5
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 584
Thank you Toni! Actually, I thought that it was a good idea and a nice integration into the Amiga UI but I can live with the suggestion in the other thread, to use a command that send the ALT+TAB

Best!
tygre is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 19:27   #6
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 39
Posts: 641
Make a button on the WB with Toolmager or something like that and put it close to the screen gadget...

Sent from mTalk on W10M...
Michael Sykes is online now  
Old 12 November 2018, 19:35   #7
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 584
Thanks Micheal! Great idea!
tygre is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 20:13   #8
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,070
i see another problem:
what if you want to use this gadget to switch to another (amiga-) screen in background?
switching of screens won't work anymore, if depth gadget is linked to windows desktop...
honx is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 20:37   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,021
Actually it would be even more useless, for example use of Amiga+M/N shortcut would become really annoying.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 November 2018, 20:40   #10
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 584
Nobody would be forced to use it, would they?
tygre is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 20:42   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,021
No but I am quite sure everyone (including you) would also find it totally useless and really really annoying to use.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 November 2018, 20:45   #12
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 584
I wouldn't ask for it if I had not been confronted several times to the situation in which I clicked the depth gadget to go to the "Windows screen" My workflow makes it natural to me to use the depth gadget to go back to Windows...

But, as I wrote above, I'll try Micheal's suggestion in the other thread!

Best!
tygre is offline  
Old 13 November 2018, 14:30   #13
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,070
i for example simply use alt+tab to switch out of emulation. for me it's enough.

another question, how can i disable some windows shortcuts like win+l (logoff) while using winuae?
there is an application using shortcut amiga+l which i can't use because of win+l shortcut active.
honx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen cycle gadget to Windows.... Michael Sykes request.UAE Wishlist 11 01 June 2014 15:06
Controller list isn't initialized in FS-UAE Launcher (Windows) discomike support.FS-UAE 2 24 June 2013 21:42
Can't change color depth or screen mode VoltureX support.Apps 4 19 September 2011 12:39
Can't find Close gadget in full-screen mode garyg support.WinUAE 1 11 August 2010 21:19
Gadget/Layout.gadget V44 ruliovega support.Apps 6 02 January 2006 12:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07544 seconds with 14 queries