English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2016, 13:01   #1
techfury90
 
Posts: n/a
Fusion Mac Emulator

Does anyone have a copy of the Fusion Mac emulator for the Amiga?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 July 2016, 14:17   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,057
take a look on the ftp.

please take in mind - an updated version will be available on cbmstuff.com in the near future.

Last edited by emufan; 30 July 2016 at 14:31.
emufan is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 18:29   #3
ExiE
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: T/C
Posts: 45
what you mean by updated? tell me more :-)
ExiE is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 18:49   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,057
Jim said he will provide a new updated version which will benefit from Vampire accellerators and the FPGA Arcade board.
emufan is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 20:58   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
Jim said he will provide a new updated version which will benefit from Vampire accellerators and the FPGA Arcade board.
Good news emufan, soon update my Fusion (Fusion x Mac at the end of my video), if you can help someone in the movie you can see the various settings.

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 July 2016, 14:49   #6
HanSolo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Gdynia/Poland
Posts: 147
I have update for Fusion to version 3.3 . This is a old update no special support for vampire accelerator.
HanSolo is offline  
Old 01 August 2016, 22:30   #7
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Fusion 3.3 is a fake.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...29#post1080129
prowler is offline  
Old 11 August 2016, 19:24   #8
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 496
I am working on a version of FUSION for the vampire. FUSION *requires* a 68040 with FPU and MMU when exec sees a 68040. So, since the vampire is a 68EC040 (no FPU or MMU) the MAC is trying to use MMU and FPU instructions, resulting in some compatibility issues. Using SoftwareFPU will dramatically improve compatibility right now until the update is released.

I am also releasing an update for PCx that uses some of the special features of the vampire. You can already see from the video above how much faster PCx is over PC-Task... it's even better now!
JimDrew is offline  
Old 12 August 2016, 00:26   #9
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
I am working on a version of FUSION for the vampire. FUSION *requires* a 68040 with FPU and MMU when exec sees a 68040. So, since the vampire is a 68EC040 (no FPU or MMU) the MAC is trying to use MMU and FPU instructions, resulting in some compatibility issues. Using SoftwareFPU will dramatically improve compatibility right now until the update is released.

I am also releasing an update for PCx that uses some of the special features of the vampire. You can already see from the video above how much faster PCx is over PC-Task... it's even better now!
PCX is a good emulator yes, some programs not worked by some programs worked fine
around 1997 I used it on my A1200 to play the chess game Fritz V2 and V3 which was the strongest chess game in the era used by grandmasters,another strong DOS chess program that worked fine on PCX was Hiarcs v1 and v6

I imagine you are planing releasing a freeware version of pcx, right ?
Sandro is offline  
Old 12 August 2016, 01:59   #10
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Jim, when will the new version of Fusion & PCx be for sale?
Pyromania is offline  
Old 12 August 2016, 03:59   #11
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
PCX is a good emulator yes, some programs not worked by some programs worked fine
around 1997 I used it on my A1200 to play the chess game Fritz V2 and V3 which was the strongest chess game in the era used by grandmasters,another strong DOS chess program that worked fine on PCX was Hiarcs v1 and v6
I am not aware of any programs that were designed for the Pentium that did not work with PCx. If you know of any please let me know so I can look into it.

Quote:
I imagine you are planing releasing a freeware version of pcx, right ?
These updates will only be for vampire users, due to using special vampire instruction modes and other vampire specific features.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 12 August 2016, 04:00   #12
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Jim, when will the new version of Fusion & PCx be for sale?
Sorry, but I don't have a release date. It's something I am doing in my spare time (which I don't have a lot of right now).
JimDrew is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 10:42   #13
Umpal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DR
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Sorry, but I don't have a release date. It's something I am doing in my spare time (which I don't have a lot of right now).
Hi Jim. Thank you for coming back to FUSION and PCx - the best emu soft for our beloved Amiga . We, V2 users, are awaiting this update with huge desire. Any updates regarding the progress?
One more question. Do you plan to support PPC emulation on V2? That would be a huge step forward and ecstasy in soul . I wonder how fast would be PPC comparing to the lowest and first PPCs on Macs (however I'm aware it's different architecture and could end in pointless 'it's possible but...'. In that case don't waste your time on it mate and focus on perfecting 68k ).
Umpal is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 01:18   #14
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 496
I am currently relocating to a new city, and my plans are to launch of new line of C64 and Amiga hardware and software.

I will not EVER work on anything PPC related. PPC is absolute junk.

I did make new drivers for FUSION, one of which allows you to mount an .iso image as a CD ROM drive, instead of needing an actual CD ROM drive. I also made many changes to support some faster operations with the Vampire board. Same with PCx.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 13:01   #15
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
I did make new drivers for FUSION, one of which allows you to mount an .iso image as a CD ROM drive, instead of needing an actual CD ROM drive.
Can it be done, to have also audio tracks playing from CD image or just data?
And can you tell when the updated Fusion and PCX will be available?
amigoun is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 18:22   #16
Umpal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DR
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Same with PCx.
Dear Jim, how do I quit from PCx? (returning to Workbench.) Documentation doesn't say a word about it. This question, unanswered, has been asked some 11 years ago w/o any hint. Maybe now this mistery will be solved with your help

And please, make some update on the progress of your work
Umpal is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:23   #17
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,057
PCx.guide says this: Index ---> Quitting:
Code:
To stop the emulation completely, hold down the Left-Amiga, Right-Amiga, and
Right-Alt keys simultaneously. Right-Amiga Q performs the same function.

Note:	Shutting down causes the emulator to save the CMOS RAM to the
	save file.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 August 2017, 11:18   #18
Umpal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DR
Posts: 9
@emufan, thanks a lot! I still don't know under which part of the guide it is but nm, it works

One more question. How do I display on RTG? I can't configure any mode as they are inactive on any video driver I tried from the package. In PC-Task I am able to chose P96 video driver and select different modes but not here.

Last edited by Umpal; 04 August 2017 at 11:38.
Umpal is offline  
Old 04 August 2017, 19:01   #19
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,057
if you open the PCx.guide file, click on [Index] and scroll down to Quitting.

i have no idea about the video modes. not sure if it does support P96 or CyberGfx.
in the Video settings you can choose between some drivers, but from what I can see,
they support max 640x480 screens.
choose one driver and click on "Information" - a descrption of the driver and modes listed.

#1) testing with version 1.1 - VGA_Direct driver supports P96/CyperGfx cards.
but i can only change mode 13 in the video driver configuration (320x200 mode)

Last edited by emufan; 04 August 2017 at 19:25.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 August 2017, 23:28   #20
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
#1) testing with version 1.1 - VGA_Direct driver supports P96/CyperGfx cards.
but i can only change mode 13 in the video driver configuration (320x200 mode)
Did the mode 13 (320x200) worked for you? I never had luck making it work with graphics card.
amigoun is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fusion MAC emul back to wb keys clauddio support.Apps 0 15 March 2012 03:35
Fusion Mac emu DDNI request.Apps 47 12 March 2009 02:21
Mac emulator Fusion panos_pit request.Apps 2 26 October 2008 16:58
Were to get Mac os for emulator? adonay request.Other 12 28 February 2008 17:07
Damn Mac games fly in Fusion!! DDNI Amiga scene 1 04 June 2007 02:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.41010 seconds with 14 queries