English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2019, 14:31   #1
toxicshadow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: a
Posts: 14
Linux + fs-uae-launcher + python 3.7.2 = Broken :(

Does Frode still visit these forums occasionally?


The latest version of python does not play well with fs-uae-launcher and results in the following crash:


Code:
fs-uae-launcher
2.8.3
enabling except hook
enable tread exception handler
uname_result(system='Linux', node='PC_1', release='4.20.10-200.fc29.x86_64', version='#1 SMP Fri Feb 15 18:33:14 UTC 2019', machine='x86_64', processor='x86_64')
['/usr/bin/fs-uae-launcher']
FS-UAE Launcher 2.8.3
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/Archive.py", line 9, in <module>
    from lhafile import LhaFile
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'lhafile'
LhaFile module import problem
[SETTINGS] Constructor <fsbc.settings.Settings object at 0x7f5f7b1b85f8>
[SETTINGS] No settings path specified
[SETTINGS] Using default /home/toxicshadow/Documents/FS-UAE/Data/Settings.ini
[SETTINGS] Loading from /home/toxicshadow/Documents/FS-UAE/Data/Settings.ini
[SETTINGS] Set config_changed = 1
[SETTINGS] Set config_name = Unnamed Configuration
[SETTINGS] Set configurations_dir_mtime = 1550852071+30
[SETTINGS] Set fullscreen = 0
[SETTINGS] Set fullscreen_mode = fullscreen
[SETTINGS] Set kickstarts_dir_mtime = 1550852071
[SETTINGS] Set last_cd_dir = /mnt/nas_games/emulators/roms/amiga/CD32_ISO/sleepwalker
[SETTINGS] Set last_floppy_dir = /home/toxicshadow/Downloads
[SETTINGS] Set last_hd_dir = /mnt/nas_games/emulators/roms/amiga/whd
[SETTINGS] Set last_rom_dir = /home/toxicshadow/Documents/FS-UAE/Kickstarts
[SETTINGS] Set last_scan = 1417350508.4891355
[SETTINGS] Set last_settings_page = Maintenance
[SETTINGS] Set maximized = 0
[SETTINGS] Set scan_configs = 1
[SETTINGS] Set scan_files = 1
[SETTINGS] Set scan_roms = 1
[SETTINGS] Set video_sync_method = swap-fence
[I18N] Initialize_locale language = 
[I18N] Locale is en_GB
[I18N] Checking /usr/bin/share/fs-uae-launcher/share-dir
[I18N] Checking /usr/bin/../share/fs-uae-launcher/share-dir
[I18N] bindtextdomain fs-uae-launcher: /usr/bin/../share/locale
[I18N] find translations for en_GB in local directory /usr/bin/../share/locale
[I18N] Path to mo file: None
[I18N] Translations object: <gettext.NullTranslations object at 0x7f5f7b1b8860>
malloc(): smallbin double linked list corrupted
KCrash: Application 'python3.7' crashing...
 Alarm clock

I can confirm that downgrading python to 3.6.8 allows it to run without issue.
toxicshadow is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 17:32   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,270
python installs itself in various dirs. You probably have the module installed in 3.6 not in 3.7

Try using "pip install lhafile" from 3.7
jotd is offline  
Old 23 February 2019, 23:02   #3
toxicshadow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: a
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
python installs itself in various dirs. You probably have the module installed in 3.6 not in 3.7

Try using "pip install lhafile" from 3.7

Thanks for your reply. The actual crash is the double linked list corrupted line.
Just incase though i did check to see if I do get the no module named lhafile error still on python 3.6.8 and i do.


As fs-uae-launcher is a python script itself I had a quick look around in the code and it is designed to check for the lhafile module and if it is not found it controls a flag to not use any functions that rely on the missing module.


It appears that the latest python is less tolerant in some way or more strict on the syntax.
toxicshadow is offline  
Old 24 February 2019, 01:26   #4
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 65
To answer your question regarding Frode, sadly, he doesn't I consider fs-uae dead.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 24 February 2019, 21:59   #5
toxicshadow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: a
Posts: 14
Thats a shame. I am a programmer myself so I understand that most projects eventually become tedious and cause you to burnout so I can only hope that one day he will become interested in it again.

As for my problem, it looks like someone has already done the debugging work for me and presents a solution here for anyone who comes across this:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=94950
toxicshadow is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Launcher does not work in Fedora 29 - too new Python - here is workaround Goingdown support.FS-UAE 1 03 November 2018 08:38
FS-UAE Launcher Linux Gentoo problem dylanmc support.FS-UAE 11 25 December 2017 14:02
Issue with fs-uae-launcher on Gentoo Linux philr5150 support.FS-UAE 1 19 September 2017 14:50
fs-uae-launcher and fs-uae-arcade (dev versions) linux problems [Solved] esc support.FS-UAE 2 18 November 2014 02:02
Python errors from fs-uae-launcher [Solved] mocham support.FS-UAE 8 01 November 2012 20:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06524 seconds with 13 queries