English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2012, 13:46   #1
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 39
Posts: 357
Using shaders with FS-UAE on Ubuntu [Solved]

Hi, Finally made a full and final switch over to Ubuntu/Unity (WinUAE was the only thing keeping me on windows) and have a couple of questions for you (sorry if they have been asked/answered already).

1) How do i use a HQ2X shader? (it works fine on WinUAE but I can't figure out how to do it on Ubuntu, Assuming it's possible?

2) Are there any plans to add the auto resolution switch function from WinUAE?

Edit: added a second question.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 04 November 2012 at 19:19. Reason: Changed title
DaveMB is offline  
Old 14 October 2012, 15:12   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMB View Post
Hi, Finally made a full and final switch over to Ubuntu/Unity (WinUAE was the only thing keeping me on windows) and have a couple of questions for you (sorry if they have been asked/answered already).
Excellent, let's hope you can stay on Ubuntu

1) How do i use a HQ2X shader? (it works fine on WinUAE but I can't figure out how to do it on Ubuntu, Assuming it's possible?[/quote]

The following option enables a bundled HQ2X shader if you run the development series (1.3.x) of FS-UAE:
Code:
shader = hq2x
But because the shader assumes that pixels are non-doubled, you will get best results with:
Code:
shader = hq2x
low_resolution = 1
line_doubling = 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMB View Post
2) Are there any plans to add the auto resolution switch function from WinUAE?
No, it does not change resolution at all currently, and while I may implement a switch-to-resolution/refresh feature, I don't plan to do any kind of auto resolution switching. With modern LCDs, you get best scaling results by using the native resolution of the monitor and scale the graphics.

FS-UAE is designed to run at the native monitor resolution (of course, ideally at 50Hz if the monitor supports it), but currently, you must manually change to a 50Hz mode. It uses the current desktop resolution.

BTW: If you use nVIDIA, you may want to read this:
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/50hz-disp...nvidia-drivers

Also, please note that Unity (the compositing versions) have problems with OpenGL applications especially in windowed mode, and you will likely see only half the frame rate / stuttering graphics. If you use the following option:
Code:
video_sync = off
the problem will go away, but this will also introduce tearing.

The other solution is to run FS-UAE in fullscreen (*) -or use Unity 2D...
(*) Unity may also have some problems with OpenGL fullscreen graphics.

I actually switched to using the KDE desktop for this reason. While it too has problems with OpenGL applications in windowed mode (with vsync), compositing can be temporarily turned off with a shortcut key, and fullscreen mode is fully unredirected OpenGL and works very well.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 14 October 2012, 16:46   #3
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 39
Posts: 357
shader = hq2x
low_resolution = 1
line_doubling = 0

did the trick, thanks

and thanks for the other info as-well
DaveMB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE speed, Ubuntu 12.04 zardoz support.FS-UAE 3 16 December 2012 00:34
Unity / Ubuntu performance problems (was: mouse issue) [Solved] DaveMB support.FS-UAE 11 25 November 2012 21:38
Any UAE for G3 Mac running Ubuntu? Fingerlickin_B support.OtherUAE 7 05 February 2008 12:34
problem getting uae to run with ubuntu bdz support.OtherUAE 14 01 December 2007 13:21
E-UAE package for Ubuntu Enverex support.OtherUAE 0 19 July 2006 14:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06072 seconds with 13 queries