English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2020, 02:41   #1
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 913
Games that pushed resolution to the limit?

Are there any games that actually run in 256 color mode on AGA?

Similarly, are there any games that actually use super hires, 1280 columns, on AGA?
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 06:09   #2
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 550
Tons of games used 256 colors, mostly ports of VGA games. Action games made native for AGA often used dual playfield instead for two 16-color playfields.

No game I can think of used super hires by default -- only ones that let you set the screenmode arbitrarily or that just ran on workbench. The one possible exception would be Pinball Brain Damage, which used superhires for the full-table/multiball view.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 07:36   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
There's only one game that runs in 1280 on AGA and in 256 colors

[ Show youtube player ]

I supported this mode for a joke but it does work (obviously it's too slow to use on real hardware)
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 09:06   #4
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,643
Quote:
Tons of games used 256 colors, mostly ports of VGA games.
examples? (except Cfou! EOB/EOB2 hacks)

it's true that they often just added one more playfield and no extra colors (Bubble & Squeak, Fire & Ice, Oscar). Too much work to recolor all sprites, probably.

And not sure that original AGA creations were using 256 colors. Takes a lot of memory, and it's slow to handle with all those bitplanes.
jotd is online now  
Old 01 February 2020, 10:04   #5
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
There's only one game that runs in 1280 on AGA and in 256 colors

I supported this mode for a joke but it does work (obviously it's too slow to use on real hardware)
That's not really fair to the Amiga, as many early Pentium PCs with insanely high VESA graphics modes ran just as slowly. Heck, my 486 DX2/66 ran Quake very much like this, a slideshow.
Foebane is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 11:15   #6
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
That's not really fair to the Amiga, as many early Pentium PCs with insanely high VESA graphics modes ran just as slowly. Heck, my 486 DX2/66 ran Quake very much like this, a slideshow.
486=/=Pentium. Quake was playable even on the early ones.
dreadnought is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 11:31   #7
chb
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: germany
Posts: 228
Virtual Karting (1 and 2) is using super hires to simulate some sort of low-res chunky mode best suited for TV sets/composite video.
chb is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 11:51   #8
Master484
Registered User
Master484's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Vaasa, Finland
Posts: 424
Quote:
Are there any games that actually run in 256 color mode on AGA?
I think Slam Tilt at least uses 256 color mode.

But as others already mentioned, the higher color modes were rare, and often dual playfield was a better choice for action games.

Many AGA games that look "high color" are actually 16+16 dual playfield games, with an extra 16 colors for sprites, so they have 48 "natural" colors. And these colors are then boosted with Back Playfield copper color changes, which in the case of AGA can produce really smooth gradients, easily adding some 100+ colors to the screen. And this in practice gives you a game that's 150 colors with parallax. For example the screenshots of Overkill have over 200 colors, but in reality it's a 16+16 dual playfield game.
Master484 is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 12:02   #9
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 47
Posts: 3,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
examples? (except Cfou! EOB/EOB2 hacks)
Some point-n-click did use 256 colors for their aga version (simon the sorcerer, bloodnet...). Ishar trilogy in AGA version did, too.
meynaf is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 13:19   #10
chb
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: germany
Posts: 228
I guess almost all first person shooters on AGA used 256 color mode; those using copper chunky like AB3D probably* used it too, but the resulting screen mode is 4096 colors.


* it's possible to do copper chunky in 7 bitplanes + some bplcon4 mask, or even using only sprites + bplcon4 like in the Roots/Sanity demo, but I guess 8 planes was mostly used, as the DMA overhead on AGA is really low.
chb is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 00:34   #11
Hannibal
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Posts: 25
Banshee used 63 colors, with 2 semi-transparent layers (used for fog, and for transparent bullets/polygon lasers) and 15 colors for sprites (hud and bosses), so 205 used but technically 256 color mode.
Hannibal is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 01:19   #12
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,710
Super Stardust runs the main game, (but not the tunnel sequences) in 256 colours.
Pretty sure T-Zero runs in 256 colours as well, but I can't check that right now.
roondar is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 09:26   #13
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn8887 View Post

Similarly, are there any games that actually use super hires, 1280 columns, on AGA?
Not many i guess because the Amiga was more a games machine where the majority of people used them on their old 480i/p TV’s, so unlike on the PC devs weren’t inclined to offer high-res modes.

Plus the fact AGA games only made up a few percent of total Amiga games makes the possible results even lower.

But the ones i can find are:

Sim City 2000
Sim Life
Civilization
Colonization

Basically the games that run in an windows enviroment.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 11:32   #14
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
universe claimed to use 256 colours
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 12:38   #15
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 550
Basically anything made that targeted VGA but got an AGA Amiga version, some action games (e.g. Wing Commander CD32). Strategy games, Adventure games like Simon the Sorcerer, etc.

i.e. anything that had an engine that just rendered to an 8-bit framebuffer and written without any thought to hardware sprites or playfields (i.e. a straight up VGA -> AGA port).

Lores 8-bit on AGA is not slow at all assuming the fetch mode is set to 4X -- i.e. 8-bit lores on AGA is about as fast as 4-color 2-bit lores on OCS (at least as far as Denise/Lisa DMA access is concerned). Hires 8-bit is same speed as 16-color 4-bit Lores on OCS.

Now obviously chip RAM speed is slow compared to a VLB-equipped 486 VGA PC but that's a given. AGA chip RAM speed is absolutely competitive with an ISA VGA card though.

And repeating again since I think it got missed in wall of text, only Super Hires games (1280x512) game I can think of is:

Pinball Brain Damage
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 13:27   #16
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,590
I think he means 256 colour mode not copper etc so maybe half a dozen games if that.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 14:24   #17
Steve
Corona Virus is Fake News
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
universe claimed to use 256 colours
Yea and that was on an Amiga 500!

Apparently it used a special mode created by the developers which they codenamed SPAC?? According to Amiga Format Issue 55 (my very first issue of AF) on page 44:

http://amr.abime.net/issue_211_pages

It states that SPAC stands for 'Super Pre-Adjusted Colour' and was a utility created by programmer Gary Antcliffe to create the illusion of 256 colours in a 32 colour environment.

Fascinating stuff. Anyone know anything more about this SPAC utility?
Steve is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 16:10   #18
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,710
Just for fun, I checked hol.abime.net.
It says there are about 500 AGA only games. Now obviously, a number of those will be doubles due to multi-lingual releases and separate releases for A1200/CD32.

No idea how many of those are 256 colour games, though. But looking at the total number I'd say there may well be more than I originally thought.
roondar is offline  
Old 02 February 2020, 16:27   #19
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,509
Games that require AGA don't necessarily use all 256 colours. There's more to AGA than just the 256 colour registers. As others have pointed out, 16+16 dual playfield + a further 16 for sprites is impossible on OCS/ECS, but used for a lot of AGA games. It's still using 8 bitplanes, but not for 256 colours. AGA is also required for larger sprites, subpixel smooth scrolling etc. And then there are games like Aladdin that use 64 colours. So, probably not that many that use 256 colours (and the superhigh resolution isn't really suited to games, with its either 1:4 ratio pixels, or 1:2 ratio pixels with interlace, as well as being relatively slow and essentially wasted unless you had a decent monitor...
Daedalus is online now  
Old 02 February 2020, 16:29   #20
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
No idea how many of those are 256 colour games, though. But looking at the total number I'd say there may well be more than I originally thought.
Probably not, depends if you were just remembering AGA disk games and not Amiga CD as well, then its around 160-180, i forget the exact number when i last checked.
Amigajay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High-resolution games Minuous Nostalgia & memories 71 24 February 2020 10:16
WinUAE Display Problem - Gloom Pushed Horizontally To Left CodyJarrett support.WinUAE 1 23 December 2014 10:29
Screen resolution in games JackTheKnife support.Games 17 31 December 2008 12:22
Puzzle Game with blocks being pushed by a tractor? zardoz Looking for a game name ? 2 21 January 2005 16:08
Few games don't switch resolution from video card to native amiga resolution! digital support.WinUAE 12 14 March 2003 13:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09828 seconds with 13 queries