English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 February 2020, 15:49   #1
rcman
Long time Amiga Owner

rcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uxbridge Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 167
Amiga Basic not running

Hi

I am trying to run Amiga basic in WINUAE with AmigaDOS 3.1.4 but its not working.

When I look at the info on AmifaBasic says it's executable but nothing happens when I double click on it or try it from a shell.

Any ideas?
Thanks
RC
rcman is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 19:44   #2
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,818
Amiga Basic was written by Microsoft, so it sux ballz. The major problem is performance and lack of features. They were just behind and clueless as to what the Amiga could do.

I thought it was removed after umm WB 1.4? I plead innocence here, one look is all it took.
Photon is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 22:02   #3
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,549
Yeah, it was dropped for Release 2.0 and replaced with ARexx. It does some pretty dodgy things like assuming 24-bit address space, which breaks it on anything higher than a 68000, so it's also very possible they're doing similarly dodgy things with the OS calls that makes it break under 3.1.4. But first thing to try is to make sure your emulation is set to 68000, then try again.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 22:03   #4
tech3475
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 57
Try KS/WB 1.x and emulating an Amiga 500/2000.

From wikipedia:
Quote:
AmigaBASIC itself was rendered obsolete because of incompatibilities with AmigaOS 2.0 and the hardware successors to the Motorola 68000 CPU. Some incompatibilities were due to the disregard of programming guidelines set forth by Commodore.[citation needed] However, there were a number of third-party compiled BASIC languages released for the Amiga that could compile AmigaBASIC programs with minimal changes, like A/C BASIC or Cursor (see below). Some of these compiled BASICs continued to work with AmigaOS 2.0, and as they were compiled rather than interpreted, they generally ran much faster than the original.
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AmigaBASIC?wprov=sfti1
tech3475 is offline  
Old 03 February 2020, 22:14   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,697
24-bit address space is the worst. I remember trying to fix a game for whdload that was written in BASIC. Gave it up.

Microsoft wrote most of 8-bit BASIC software. I guess they should have stuck to 8 bit... not 24.
jotd is offline  
Old 04 February 2020, 07:40   #6
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcman View Post
I am trying to run Amiga basic in WINUAE with AmigaDOS 3.1.4 but its not working.

When I look at the info on AmifaBasic says it's executable but nothing happens when I double click on it or try it from a shell.

Any ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
It does some pretty dodgy things like assuming 24-bit address space, which breaks it on anything higher than a 68000, so it's also very possible they're doing similarly dodgy things with the OS calls that makes it break under 3.1.4. But first thing to try is to make sure your emulation is set to 68000, then try again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech3475 View Post
Try KS/WB 1.x and emulating an Amiga 500/2000.
Alternatively, you could use the AmigaBASIC patch to make it work on higher Amiga configs or use the much nicer ACE Basic compiler to execute AmigaBASIC programs.

http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/PtchAmigaBASIC

http://aminet.net/package/dev/basic/ace_final_r2
DrBong is offline  
Old 04 February 2020, 10:09   #7
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 193
Isn't Hisoft Basic the better solution?
Etze is offline  
Old 04 February 2020, 16:19   #8
rcman
Long time Amiga Owner

rcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uxbridge Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 167
Thank you everyone! I used AmigaBasic for testing idea/code.

I posted my code to GitHub. I used it for basic stuff.


RC
rcman is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pimp up your Basic skills ! BASIC Tenliner Competition 2016 ! SkulleateR Retrogaming General Discussion 6 09 February 2016 23:58
Amiga Basic Ze Emulatron Coders. General 4 29 March 2014 05:36
Manuals for GFA Basic and Hi-Soft Basic 2 ricky500 request.Apps 20 12 February 2013 21:06
Amiga Basic metalrules request.Apps 4 25 March 2011 23:17
Amiga Basic, where is It? sgt_chimp support.Apps 5 19 December 2001 22:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08493 seconds with 15 queries