English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2019, 23:11   #1
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,954
Pointless feature request: rewind button

Hi Toni,

Another pointless feature request.. Would it be possible to have a rewind feature for some of the simpler configs (quickstart setupd for example).

This would probably work like auto save states, however it would differ in that you can go back to any time over a set period (say 10 mins). Would be even better if everything played backwards
BippyM is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 03:20   #2
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
Hi Toni,

Another pointless feature request.. Would it be possible to have a rewind feature for some of the simpler configs (quickstart setupd for example).

This would probably work like auto save states, however it would differ in that you can go back to any time over a set period (say 10 mins). Would be even better if everything played backwards
This really would be the ultimate in debugging technology. Just rewind after the crash to see what caused it.

I guess it would consume a tonne of resources and be a pain in the ass to code tho.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 05:09   #3
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 3,641
some emulators have it, if i remember well.
I'm pretty sure that a snes emu has it.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 05:20   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,889
RetroArch has it... And it has an Amiga Core, So technically you can rewind on that unless the core doesn't support it?

Would be cool to see a rewind feature with winuae though...
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 28 November 2019, 21:15   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,672
It has been attempted years ago and it technically already exists but it is randomly unstable (re-recorder in output panel. not even sure if it works anymore at all).

Almost impossible to fix because no one ever managed to find reliable way to trigger the problem.

note that it can't work with system friendly programs/hd setup.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pointless feature: Rad drive display BippyM request.UAE Wishlist 2 20 December 2018 20:50
Pointless Feature Request - Zoned areas for drag and drop BippyM request.UAE Wishlist 12 16 November 2018 14:08
Totally pointless feature request BippyM request.UAE Wishlist 4 26 July 2015 10:30
Feature request Galahad/FLT support.WinUAE 5 12 February 2013 19:38
feature request Mad-Matt support.WinUAE 4 25 January 2007 09:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06632 seconds with 15 queries