English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 April 2004, 21:15   #1
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Unhappy Crashing with VirusZ III

WinUAE keeps crashing (Windows "Sorry, this program has terminated unexpectedly" message) when I am scanning files with VirusZ III.

Config file is below. PC Spec is http://atomnet.co.uk/?p=systems#RedDwarf

------------------------------

config_description=UAE default configuration
config_version=0.8.25
win32.rom_path=./
win32.floppy_path=./
win32.hardfile_path=./
win32.middle_mouse=true
win32.logfile=false
win32.map_drives=false
win32.serial_port=none
win32.parallel_port=none
win32.active_priority=1
win32.inactive_priority=0
win32.inactive_nosound=false
win32.inactive_pause=false
win32.iconified_priority=-1
win32.iconified_nosound=false
win32.iconified_pause=false
win32.ctrl_f11_is_quit=false
win32.midiout_device=0
win32.midiin_device=0
win32.no_overlay=false
win32.aspi=false
win32.soundcard=0
win32.cpu_idle=30
use_gui=yes
use_debugger=false
kickstart_rom_file=D:\Program Files\WinUAE\ROM\3.1rom.zip
kickstart_ext_rom_file=
kickstart_key_file=
flash_file=
cart_file=
kickshifter=false
floppy0=
floppy0type=1
floppy0sound=0
floppy1=
floppy1type=1
floppy1sound=0
floppy2=
floppy2type=1
floppy2sound=0
floppy3=
floppy3type=1
floppy3sound=0
nr_floppies=4
floppy_speed=0
floppy_volume=33
parallel_on_demand=false
serial_on_demand=false
serial_hardware_ctsrts=true
serial_direct=false
scsi=false
sound_output=exact
sound_channels=mono
sound_max_buff=16384
sound_frequency=48000
sound_interpol=none
sound_adjust=0
sound_filter=off
sound_volume=0
comp_trustbyte=direct
comp_trustword=direct
comp_trustlong=direct
comp_trustnaddr=direct
comp_nf=true
comp_constjump=true
comp_oldsegv=false
comp_flushmode=soft
compforcesettings=false
compfpu=true
comp_midopt=false
comp_lowopt=false
avoid_cmov=false
avoid_dga=false
avoid_vid=false
cachesize=8192
joyport0=mouse
joyport1=joy0
bsdsocket_emu=false
synchronize_clock=no
maprom=0x0
gfx_display=0
gfx_framerate=1
gfx_width=800
gfx_height=600
gfx_width_windowed=800
gfx_height_windowed=600
gfx_width_fullscreen=800
gfx_height_fullscreen=600
gfx_refreshrate=0
gfx_vsync=false
gfx_lores=false
gfx_linemode=double
gfx_correct_aspect=false
gfx_fullscreen_amiga=false
gfx_fullscreen_picasso=false
gfx_center_horizontal=none
gfx_center_vertical=none
gfx_colour_mode=8bit
gfx_filter=no
gfx_filter_vert_zoom=0
gfx_filter_horiz_zoom=0
gfx_filter_vert_offset=0
gfx_filter_horiz_offset=0
gfx_filter_scanlines=0
gfx_filter_scanlinelevel=0
gfx_filter_scanlineratio=17
immediate_blits=false
fast_copper=true
ntsc=false
show_leds=false
keyboard_leds=numlock:none,capslock:none,scrolllock:none
chipset=aga
collision_level=full
fastmem_size=8
a3000mem_size=0
z3mem_size=64
bogomem_size=0
gfxcard_size=32
chipmem_size=4
cpu_speed=max
cpu_type=68040
cpu_compatible=false
cpu_cycle_exact=false
blitter_cycle_exact=false
log_illegal_mem=false
catweasel_io=0x0
kbd_lang=us
state_replay=no
state_replay_rate=250
state_replay_buffer=20971520
filesystem2=rw,DH0:Workbench:\Program Files\WinUAE\HD0,0
filesystem=rw,Workbench:\Program Files\WinUAE\HD0
filesystem2=rw,ND0:Files:\Account\Desktop\Amiga,0
filesystem=rw,Files:\Account\Desktop\Amiga
filesystem2=rw,ND1:HTTP:Y:\,0
filesystem=rw,HTTP:Y:\
input.config=0
input.joymouse_speed_analog=20
input.joymouse_speed_digital=10
input.joymouse_deadzone=33
input.joystick_deadzone=33
input.mouse_speed=100
input.autofire=10
input.1.joystick.0.disabled=0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.0=JOY1_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.1=JOY1_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.1.disabled=1
input.1.joystick.1.axis.0=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.1.axis.1=JOY2_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.1.button.0=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.1.button.1=JOY2_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.1.button.2=JOY2_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.1.mouse.0.disabled=0
input.1.mouse.0.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.1.mouse.0.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.1.mouse.0.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.1.mouse.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.1.mouse.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.1.mouse.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.1.mouse.1.disabled=1
input.1.mouse.1.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.1.mouse.1.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.1.mouse.1.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.1.mouse.1.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.1.mouse.1.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.1.mouse.1.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.2.joystick.0.disabled=0
input.2.joystick.0.axis.0=JOY1_HORIZ.0
input.2.joystick.0.axis.1=JOY1_VERT.0
input.2.joystick.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.2.joystick.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.2.joystick.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.2.joystick.1.disabled=1
input.2.joystick.1.axis.0=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.2.joystick.1.axis.1=JOY2_VERT.0
input.2.joystick.1.button.0=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.2.joystick.1.button.1=JOY2_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.2.joystick.1.button.2=JOY2_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.2.mouse.0.disabled=0
input.2.mouse.0.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.2.mouse.0.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.2.mouse.0.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.2.mouse.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.2.mouse.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.2.mouse.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.2.mouse.1.disabled=1
input.2.mouse.1.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.2.mouse.1.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.2.mouse.1.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.2.mouse.1.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.2.mouse.1.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.2.mouse.1.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.3.joystick.0.disabled=0
input.3.joystick.0.axis.0=JOY1_HORIZ.0
input.3.joystick.0.axis.1=JOY1_VERT.0
input.3.joystick.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.3.joystick.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.3.joystick.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.3.joystick.1.disabled=1
input.3.joystick.1.axis.0=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.3.joystick.1.axis.1=JOY2_VERT.0
input.3.joystick.1.button.0=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.3.joystick.1.button.1=JOY2_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.3.joystick.1.button.2=JOY2_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.3.mouse.0.disabled=0
input.3.mouse.0.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.3.mouse.0.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.3.mouse.0.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.3.mouse.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.3.mouse.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.3.mouse.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.3.mouse.1.disabled=1
input.3.mouse.1.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.3.mouse.1.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.3.mouse.1.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.3.mouse.1.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.3.mouse.1.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.3.mouse.1.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.4.joystick.0.disabled=0
input.4.joystick.0.axis.0=JOY1_HORIZ.0
input.4.joystick.0.axis.1=JOY1_VERT.0
input.4.joystick.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.4.joystick.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.4.joystick.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.4.joystick.1.disabled=1
input.4.joystick.1.axis.0=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.4.joystick.1.axis.1=JOY2_VERT.0
input.4.joystick.1.button.0=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.4.joystick.1.button.1=JOY2_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.4.joystick.1.button.2=JOY2_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.4.mouse.0.disabled=0
input.4.mouse.0.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.4.mouse.0.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.4.mouse.0.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.4.mouse.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.4.mouse.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.4.mouse.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.4.mouse.1.disabled=1
input.4.mouse.1.axis.0=MOUSE1_HORIZ.0
input.4.mouse.1.axis.1=MOUSE1_VERT.0
input.4.mouse.1.axis.2=MOUSE1_WHEEL.0
input.4.mouse.1.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.4.mouse.1.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.4.mouse.1.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
Enverex is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 20:57   #2
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Re: Crashing with VirusZ III

Quote:
Originally posted by Enverex
WinUAE keeps crashing (Windows "Sorry, this program has terminated unexpectedly" message) when I am scanning files with VirusZ III.

Config file is below. PC Spec is http://atomnet.co.uk/?p=systems#RedDwarf

------------------

kickstart_rom_file=D:\Program Files\WinUAE\ROM\3.1rom.zip
Hmmm...which one exactly?

3.1 ... 40.063 / 40.068 / 40.070 ?

Consider that [afair!] unlike the others, A4000-type 40.070's address bus is 32bit!
Buggy software *might* care about such "unimportant" things.

Quote:
cpu_type=68040
...

Quote:
cachesize=8192
Ahaaaa...gotcha!

JIT is active!

Quote:
filesystem2=rw,DH0:Workbench:D:\Program Files\WinUAE\HD0,0
filesystem=rw,Workbench:D:\Program Files\WinUAE\HD0

filesystem2=rw,ND0:Files:D:\Account\Desktop\Amiga,0
filesystem=rw,Files:D:\Account\Desktop\Amiga

filesystem2=rw,ND1:HTTP:Y:\,0
filesystem=rw,HTTP:Y:\
OK, so there are three file systems in your setup.
Or is Y: a CD-ROM?!

Can you make it crash with 68EC020 / 68020 / 68020 + FPU as well?

Also try to turn JIT off!
Usually, GPFs are related to JIT.

Log file would come in handy, too.

Last edited by andreas; 16 April 2004 at 21:07.
andreas is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 21:06   #3
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Y: is a network drive. I have a feeling it is the softwares fault, not WinUAEs as VirusZ seems rather unstable to say the least. Ill do some testing and report back later.

I am NOT turning JIT off. Do you know how long it would take to scan that many files with JIT off? It takes it 10 minutes to open a window with JIT off, never mind scanning >40k files.
Enverex is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 21:10   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
OK.

As I said though, General Protection Faults [GPFs] that occurred on my system *WERE* usually related to JIT and disappeared when I turned that beast off.

Can you turn logging on and post the log file?
This usually tells you (resp. Toni) what the problem is like.
andreas is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 21:32   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,559
If VirusZ gurus/crashes while JIT is disabled -> you have either buggy library or your version of VirusZ is buggy..

JIT is not very forgiving and usually crashes the emulator when programs do stupid things..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 April 2004, 21:48   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
As I mentioned in another thread, virusz is fine - I use it with the ClassicWB P96 setup, JIT enabled, and the whole system is very stable when scanning. In fact, this setup hasn't crashed once yet in WinUAE!

What it might be is that new XAD freeware library - once it became GPL, someone different compiled it. I haven't tried that freeware one yet. What I do know is the official shareware version (12.1a) never causes a single problem in my setup.

Of course, it may be caused by another issue........
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 21:54   #7
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
You couldn't have possibly scanned enough files with the shareware one as you would have gone insane clicking the stupid messages. Try clicking quit while it is still scanning....
Enverex is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 22:01   #8
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Believe me, I got sick of waiting 8 seconds between clicks and yes, I won't have scanned as many files as you.

I'm not saying using the shareware one is the solution, just the freeware one might be the problem! It seems to have different files in the libs directory in comparison to the shareware, so I've been hesitant to use it.

I'll give it a go and see what happens............
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 22:42   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
............ok I replaced the lib with the freeware 020 version and scanned 12000 files, JIT enabled - mixture adfs, zips, WHDgames etc etc

After scanning ok on a HDF, I re-scanned in a PC directory as I know you use them enverex.

Not one crash (or virus or shareware popup) which is a good thing.

So it's not the lib. At least now I know I can use it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	6676  
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 22:47   #10
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
It seems to be certain files as it crashes at exactly the same point every time (unless I hit quit while it is scanning). I don't have time to narrow it down though.
Enverex is offline  
Old 19 April 2004, 23:55   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
The "live-crash" log file might tell more. (repeat, repeat, repeat )

C'mon, go post that puppy.
There must be some clue given by the log file.
That's what it's for! To narrow down the possibilities where to look for a crash spot.
andreas is offline  
Old 20 April 2004, 00:08   #12
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
The "live-crash" log file might tell more. (repeat, repeat, repeat )

C'mon, go post that puppy.
There must be some clue given by the log file.
That's what it's for! To narrow down the possibilities where to look for a crash spot.
How do I enable logging again?
Enverex is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 00:46   #13
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Right, verified it isn't a UAE problem at all, it crashes on my Amiga too. It seems to be when it hits a specific file...
Enverex is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 03:04   #14
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Have you tried:

Deleting ALL the files associated with the old XAD v12.1a in the Libs, Libs/XAD, and C directory

Then installing v13 using ONLY the files contained in that package. The old files or ones you downloaded separately might be causing problems with the freeware lib.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 03:06   #15
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Ill try that next, but I have no idea which files were 12.1 related. I didn't install it before hand though, so the only 12.1 files I have would be the slaves which shouldn't matter anyway.

Seems to be Flashback crashing it though (excuse the quality, it wouldn't take a screenshot in overlay due to it being direct overlay, and DIB was half width for some reason).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	flash.png
Views:	189
Size:	34.7 KB
ID:	6701  
Enverex is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 14:02   #16
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
If you put it in the zone I could have a go at scanning it. I'm running VirusZ in WB 3.0 so I don't know if that counts for anything. Problem is, it could be the slightest difference in our setup that causes the problem.

Looking at the freeware and official Lib release, you can see how the files differ below (freeware v13 left, official 12.1a right). Since no documentation comes with the freeware version, I'm not sure what files are actually worth keeping from the 12.1a install. You'll notice the freeware lib is 28K larger, but has about 40K less slaves (ignoring the 040, 060 slaves). The freeware has different names for some slaves, whilst the official has 13 more in total. So have some of them been integrated into the main lib? That's why I'm wondering if a conflict of v13 vs v12.1a is causing problems. Also the 12.1a has extra folders, like a "special" folder.

I just don't understand how each has been compiled. Since it's a crucial lib for virus checking our collections, we need more info about this freeware version but it's not available.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image11.png
Views:	168
Size:	36.7 KB
ID:	6703  

Last edited by Bloodwych; 25 April 2004 at 14:22.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 14:28   #17
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Yep, just scanned the fin.cmp file on it's own and got the Suspend Reboot option immediately.

I'm running WB3.9 btw with BB2 ROM and Oxyron Patcher.
Attached Files
File Type: zip fin.zip (16.2 KB, 133 views)
Enverex is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 18:38   #18
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Just tried it enverex and no problems. As I said, I'm using ClassicWB 3.0 and after deleting all traces of the older XAD, the install only has files contained in the freeware lib.

As for getting answers concerning my last post, look what I just found.

No "official" freeware release there, but the author seems to post so I'm going to have a read of the messages.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 18:43   #19
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
It's probably because my installation (both UAE and Real) are ready for a 060/PPC setup as I will have a CyberstormPPC arriving at some point, so everything I set-up before now is for that (other than the XADMaster.library which I replaced with 040 for now) so some PPC or 060 library or file is probably getting caught somewhere...
Enverex is offline  
Old 25 April 2004, 18:47   #20
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yes, it now seems it's something to do with your newer hardware/software.

You need some 060/PPC/3.9 peeps to post.
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Devpac keeps Crashing?? bpazolli Coders. General 14 10 January 2009 00:06
Winuae crashing RickyC support.WinUAE 4 29 May 2007 19:01
Shadow of the Beast III - Crashing... DamienD support.Games 5 10 August 2005 17:18
VirusZ III LAJ New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 23 December 2004 15:48
Turrican III / Turrican III - Payment Day - question about covers andreas Nostalgia & memories 14 20 December 2004 23:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12251 seconds with 14 queries