English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2019, 16:45   #21
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
I don’t think he made a thread about it, but I think he has a more pcbs.
I sent him a link to this thread, so he can take it from here if he want to sell them.
Great, I'd be very interested too
indigolemon is offline  
Old 21 January 2019, 16:45   #22
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 164
Yesterday evening I wrote a PM to Yulquen74 and I'm waiting for his reply.
Hopefully we will know more soon!
jurassicman is offline  
Old 21 January 2019, 18:23   #23
Yulquen74
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kleppe / Norway
Posts: 205
As some have asked about some boards I did as an alternative layout for Fast-ATA,
and notified me about this thread, I thought I might reply here.

I have only built one myself, and it has been working just fine for quite some time now,
using CF card adapter with SanDisk Ultra 16GB card on primary port (2.5" header)
and CD-rom on the secondary port (3.5" header) with Blizzard1260@85, both using PIO4.

Using the drivespeed tool that came with the fast-ata I get either 9.004.137 or 8.851.525 bytes/s,
with RSCP I get 8605K/s, with sysinfo 8.738.133 bytes/s. PFS3AIO on all partitions.

With sysspeed, i get 6.25 and 6.12 MB/s for create and writefile, and 7.06 MB/s for both readfile and rawread.
I also did many tests with readtest without generating any errors.

Several brands of CF cards gave me the same results.

As of now, I have 5 PCB's available. Jurassicman expressed interest in 2 cards by PM,
and another user before him did express interest as well, but have not heard from him for
3 days.

But there are some important things to be aware of.

There are some slight PCB layout differences between fast ata board revisions.

I had the MK3 and MK5 original boards which I used to create the schematic
for my project, and added jumpers on PCB to change between the two versions.

Note that I have only tested MK5 chips on my board. If you have an MK4,
I do not know if the original board layout is like MK3 or MK5, or different, and therefore can not recommend using it.

So far I can only confirm it works with MK5 chips, have not tested it with MK3 chips yet,
and can not guarantee it works with them, and can not take responsibility if you mess up
or blow any of the chip revisions for any reason.

I guess I could test the MK3 chips in my working setup, but I do not want to mess with a working system.

Besides, I have set aside a board to populate with MK3 chips for another machine, and was planning to do this shortly.

The board extends a bit over the end of the blizzard board as seen on picture, but they do not touch each other
(you need to trim/cut the outer legs of the rightmost PLCC sockets a bit).

I did have problems with PIO4 when using the fast-ata in its original incarnation with Blizzard 1260, but not anymore.

I soldered SMD decoupling capasitors directly to the power supply pins of the
MACH chips (in addition to the ones on the PCB), 2 for each chip, on the bottom of the chip.
The 0805 size caps are thin enough that it does not raise the chip in the socket, at least the 50V ones usually are.

The reason I did this is that hole mounted sockets are used, and the
distance to the decoupling caps on the PCB is rather long, and I have seen it cause huge problems in other projects using other CPLDs with hole mounted sockets, until caps were soldered directly to chip.

Those devices are power hungry devils, and long distance to
decoupling caps can easily cause instabilities. This alone might also improve the situation on original boards,
but you need good soldering skills and equipment to avoid damaging the chips.

Yes I could have made the design with SMD sockets, but I wanted to do a (mostly) hole design for easy assembly.

If someone wants the remaining boards despite all this (theres a reason I did not put those in my Amibay sales thread),
please do so by PM, and for additional tech questions pls direct them to this thread (if moderator permits it).

I can sell them for 10 euro each + shipping , which is much less than I paid,
due to special form factor, 4 layers, and thin board type.
Though there are most certainly cheaper PCB houses than the one I used (GoldPhoenix).


Click image for larger version

Name:	pcb.JPG
Views:	82
Size:	353.9 KB
ID:	61691

Click image for larger version

Name:	CPLD.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	61692
Yulquen74 is offline  
Old 21 January 2019, 18:45   #24
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 164
@Yulquen74
Thanks for the explanation.



I've sent the link to this thread to my trusted technician in order to know if he can use your pcb to fix my FastATA (it is a MK V) and the other one that he owns.


I'll contact you by PM soon!
jurassicman is offline  
Old 21 January 2019, 21:01   #25
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 643
@Yulquen74 that's amazing work to reverse engineer it man!

PM your way
indigolemon is offline  
Old 22 January 2019, 10:32   #26
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 164
Payment sent for two boards, thanks Yulquen74!
jurassicman is offline  
Old 22 January 2019, 22:40   #27
Yulquen74
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kleppe / Norway
Posts: 205
Update: indigolemon notified that the mediator riser board collides with my Fast-ATA implementation,
and by reading this thread closer, it seems that this is the combination users here seek, not only neat integration with Indivision.

I will of course give a full refund for users that payed me for boards if they should no longer want/need them.


I completed my second Fast-ATA board today, and installed the chips from my older original Fast-ATA, and it turned out it
is an MK2, not MK3 as I first thought (the silk screen has Rev.3.0 printed on it which I mistakenly took for beeing MK3).
The Fast-ATA needs the correct driver files for the respective version, or it will not work.

However, this chipset also works with my PCB, when jumpered for "MK3", but I was only able to use PIO3, and not PIO4 or PIO5, regardless of
CF-card/IDE device used, lenght of cable, or extra caps on CPLD chips. This was the same on the original board, so its neither better or worse
on the new PCB.

This test machine has a 030/25 card installed, so I can not blame this on an overclocked 060 either.
Lending the MK5 chips from my working machine, I get full PIO5 without issues, so it is clear that that the MK5 chipset is an improvement over the old one.
Yulquen74 is offline  
Old 22 January 2019, 22:43   #28
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 545
That's okay, I don't want it for mediator, I want it for my A1200 desktop.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 23 January 2019, 00:05   #29
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 164
That's ok for me too, I confirm the purchase of two boards, if I won't be able to use it along with the Mediator I'll use it on another A1200.
jurassicman is offline  
Old 05 February 2019, 22:28   #30
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 164
@yulquen74
Boards received a few days ago... my friend is working on them... thanks for now!
jurassicman is offline  
Old 06 February 2019, 11:50   #31
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 545
Received my board yesterday, thanks! =)
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 06 February 2019, 16:54   #32
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 643
Bandwagon! I got mine too, sorry - should have said ( it arrived at the weekend )

Cheers!
indigolemon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
indivision mk2cr gunstarrhero support.Other 1 21 June 2018 08:59
Indivision AGA MK2cr? Pheonix MarketPlace 4 12 February 2017 11:28
Amiga 1200 Desktop + Indivision AGA MK2cr + FastATA 1200 Mk-V dirkies support.Hardware 3 07 October 2016 20:26
Indivision MK2CR pinout? papa_november support.Hardware 2 06 November 2015 07:46
Amiga 1200 + Indivision aga mk2cr + fastata 1200 mk-iv...plcc extension? watsonfmly support.Hardware 3 02 October 2014 20:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08170 seconds with 14 queries