English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2018, 22:27   #1
robotriot
Tubby mechanical friend
robotriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Regensburg / Germany
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to robotriot
Tab Completion in AmigaDOS

When I'm booting without startup-sequence on my OS 3.9 Amiga, I'm executing a small custom startup sequence to set a couple of things I always need. What's missing is the tab completion feature of the regular shell... is there a way to access this feature somehow? Or do I have to launch the shell from within AmigaDOS somehow to access this?

Thanks!
robotriot is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 23:15   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,177
If the feature isn't in the ROM then of course need to be loaded from somewhere. To access it when booting without S-S it can be loaded as a resident module. So, after a soft reset it is still available.
daxb is offline  
Old 28 December 2018, 01:49   #3
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,657
The default Shell from OS 3.9 is ViNCEd, which is is normally mounted as VNC:. The standard AmigaDOS prompt is normally mounted as CON:, which lacks the extra features of ViNCEd, such as tab completion. I believe it's possible to replace the 3.9 ROM's CON: handler with the VNC: handler so that it's available without a startup-sequence, but as standard a Shell window has to be launched explicitly requiring VNC:. I haven't tried it without a startup-sequence, but you could try something like:

Code:
newcli window="VNC:0/50/640/200/AmigaShell/SHELL/CLOSE"
which should open a new Shell window with VNC: as the handler, thus providing tab completion.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 29 December 2018, 01:55   #4
robotriot
Tubby mechanical friend
robotriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Regensburg / Germany
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to robotriot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
The default Shell from OS 3.9 is ViNCEd, which is is normally mounted as VNC:. The standard AmigaDOS prompt is normally mounted as CON:, which lacks the extra features of ViNCEd, such as tab completion. I believe it's possible to replace the 3.9 ROM's CON: handler with the VNC: handler so that it's available without a startup-sequence, but as standard a Shell window has to be launched explicitly requiring VNC:. I haven't tried it without a startup-sequence, but you could try something like:

Code:
newcli window="VNC:0/50/640/200/AmigaShell/SHELL/CLOSE"
which should open a new Shell window with VNC: as the handler, thus providing tab completion.
Thanks for the tip and explanation! To be honest, I've got no idea what the command means that you suggested, but I typed it in anyway. However, I'm getting the error "Please insert volume VNC in any drive" when doing so. Is there anything else I need to set up to be able to use ViNCEd?
robotriot is offline  
Old 29 December 2018, 14:48   #5
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,177
I would say you should have a look into the documentation of ViNCEd. If it is installed you just need to start it.
daxb is offline  
Old 04 January 2019, 13:33   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,657
Ugh... Yes, of course, my mistake. VNC: needs to be mounted first. That line I posted basically tells the OS to open a new Shell window, but instead of the default built-in window, it should use VNC: as a window. The rest of the parameters just set some settings of the window (size, position, behaviour etc.).

You could try typing
Code:
Mount DEVS:DOSDrivers/VNC
before the newcli line and see if that works...
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ViNCEd tab completion not working on OS 1.3 Giuseppe support.Apps 4 21 January 2013 03:54
Games you played to completion over and over and never got sick of LordNipple Nostalgia & memories 60 16 December 2011 01:42
Software failure preventing completion of Dispossable hero apachacha support.WinUAE 1 25 September 2011 13:25
Enhanced config tab tero request.UAE Wishlist 5 21 January 2009 11:31
Cody's Great Game Completion Challenge (CGGCC) CodyJarrett EAB's competition 34 09 February 2008 14:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07082 seconds with 13 queries