English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2018, 03:26   #21
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by avongil View Post
One more question, How do I patch the ROM on the card?
I don't see anything replaceable?

Yeah the ROM on there is soldered on a lot of boards, it's right next to the SCSI connector.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 12:08   #22
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 694
It's socketed on this one (the AT27C256). Should be easy enough to find an EPROM version.

Of course you will need an EPROM programmer, UV eraser and the skills to build a custom ROM (which isn't that hard).
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 16:26   #23
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
For the T-RexII ROM you don't need a UV eraser, just a programmer, and I have the patched ROM if someone wants it, but it's trivial to apply the patch.

Burning a custom Kickstart is a little more involved and I wouldn't recommend it unless you were doing it for other reasons.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 August 2018, 17:03   #24
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 694
I was assuming it would not work first time :-)
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 23:16   #25
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,430
Can I get the patched ROM please?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 05:28   #26
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Can I get the patched ROM please?

Sorry, I had a look around and I don't know where I put it. It's really easy to do, just get the patch file from Doobrey and read the very short instructions.

http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/amiga.html
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 11 December 2018, 16:25   #27
avongil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Easton
Posts: 13
Hi everyone, sorry I had to drop the Amiga 4000 project for a bit. Got my hands on a bunch of old computers, and had my hands full with a Comodore 64, an AT&T 286, and a Sun Ultra 10 for a while. Those projects are done - back to the holly grail of home computers.

Can someone help me with a patched rom for this card? I would rather pay someone to burn it for me, my time is a bit limited these days. My two kids are very demanding! If someone is willing to help me please message me with your email.

I can't wait to get the Amiga running on the compact flash!
avongil is offline  
Old 12 December 2018, 04:15   #28
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
I found the patched GVP Trexx-II ROM. There is an issue the fellow I helped out with this mentioned, with an IDE HDD+CDROM hooked up it would not boot. Or if he only had an IDE Drive hooked up set to Master (and I presume lastdrive flag set). I never saw any of these issues myself but maybe manually set your CF adapter to Master/Single, why Dynamic Computing said above.

The other thing once you get it to boot, is you can LoadModule PFS without the ROM update. What I was doing before was I had a small FFS drive on the IDE which would do all of my Loadmodule stuff, it would reboot then the now present GVP SCSI drive would boot.
Attached Files
File Type: lha GVPTrexx2.LHA (8.5 KB, 25 views)
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 16 December 2018, 22:42   #29
avongil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Easton
Posts: 13
Can anyone recommend hardware to burn this rom with? I want to get a known working solution.

Thanks.
avongil is offline  
Old 16 December 2018, 23:49   #30
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 623
Some CF cards are very picky. Make sure the CF card is on the Master Header of the IDE cable. Some CF cards will not work as a Slave & more so with a Master already in place.

& Make sure you have the 060.library in your Libs Drawer on the CF Drive before you boot from it.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 17 December 2018, 00:12   #31
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,657
Indeed, and some CF cards won't even work as a master if there's a slave present on the cable.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 17 December 2018, 05:21   #32
avongil
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Easton
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
Some CF cards are very picky. Make sure the CF card is on the Master Header of the IDE cable. Some CF cards will not work as a Slave & more so with a Master already in place.

& Make sure you have the 060.library in your Libs Drawer on the CF Drive before you boot from it.
Dangit, I knew I forgot to try something. Too many computers to fix. Rookie mistake. Will report back soon.
avongil is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 18:04   #33
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 623
Any Luck fella?
Kin Hell is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Indivision AGA MkIIcr compatible with Video Toaster 4000 in a 4000? pgovotsos support.Hardware 0 07 January 2016 06:26
getting my Amiga 4000 cd drive working sovietconscript support.Hardware 38 24 July 2012 03:32
Amiga 4000 (internal) floppy drive cybernoid support.Hardware 0 26 November 2007 02:29
[FA] Amiga 4000 HD Floppy Drive scan_x MarketPlace 10 26 March 2004 09:40
Amiga 4000 Ide Hard Drive THX1138 support.Hardware 12 25 May 2003 13:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07747 seconds with 14 queries