English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2019, 17:02   #3001
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 136
..

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus View Post
guess im gonna have to try this on my a1200 now both sound cards
BULI is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 01:49   #3002
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,598
New SB128 driver works ok in my A4000, though I don't know if it was supposed to be any different in that configuration.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 January 2019, 22:40   #3003
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 136
I found new trick/speed up.

When I want have "light system", I load Workbench without WBstartup programs (push RALT when loading).
Standard I have workbench desk in 800x600 32Bit, when i change resolution desk to 640x480 8bit, I have increase FPS in Quake GL (Blitz from Cowcat) from 50.1 FPS to 54 FPS !


Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
New SB128 driver works ok in my A4000, though I don't know if it was supposed to be any different in that configuration.
BULI is offline  
Old 22 January 2019, 01:10   #3004
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
I found new trick/speed up.

When I want have "light system", I load Workbench without WBstartup programs (push RALT when loading).
Standard I have workbench desk in 800x600 32Bit, when i change resolution desk to 640x480 8bit, I have increase FPS in Quake GL (Blitz from Cowcat) from 50.1 FPS to 54 FPS !

That's quite a big difference. That also explains a lot of performance differences I was having between two systems, one I run the Workbench at 960x540 and the other system is running at 1280x720.

Some programs have an option to "Close Workbench" I wonder if that negates the difference.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 January 2019, 09:58   #3005
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 919
As expected, the Killer card are going for ridiculous prices on Amibay now.

BTW, I didn't follow this thread in all detail anymore, but what has an SB sound card got to do with PPC cards?
spudje is offline  
Old 22 January 2019, 20:23   #3006
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 136
Yes, to high resolution have changeg preformane, but in this time, is somting else, because i have this speed up only when I'm changing resolution from 800x600x32 to 640x480x8 in the same session in Workbench (ScreenMode USE)!
When I saved preferences screen in Screen Mode 640x480x8bit, and restarted Amiga/Workbench, i didn't SpeedUP!


Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
That's quite a big difference. That also explains a lot of performance differences I was having between two systems, one I run the Workbench at 960x540 and the other system is running at 1280x720.

Some programs have an option to "Close Workbench" I wonder if that negates the difference.
BULI is offline  
Old 22 January 2019, 23:23   #3007
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
As expected, the Killer card are going for ridiculous prices on Amibay now.
Yeah I saw that too, I paid £15 for mine - sad times

Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
BTW, I didn't follow this thread in all detail anymore, but what has an SB sound card got to do with PPC cards?
Well, we have things going in the 1200 Mediators now, but no way to use Paula for sound. I had some success with AHI, but it was distorted or would lock up after a minute or so. With these new experimental drivers for FM801 and SB128, it just works!

[ Show youtube player ]
indigolemon is offline  
Old 23 January 2019, 01:28   #3008
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Still no Prdoom or chocolateduke?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 23 January 2019, 01:34   #3009
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Still no Prdoom or chocolateduke?
Real life is getting in the way ATM, had a brief fight with PRBoom, but not had as much time to play with the Amiga as I'd like
indigolemon is offline  
Old 24 January 2019, 00:21   #3010
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 919
Thanks for explaining the SB stuff!
spudje is offline  
Old 24 January 2019, 05:12   #3011
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Thanks for explaining the SB stuff!

The other thing that's far less interesting or may possibly exist is that SB128/FM801 support with Sonnet applications has been spotty, and to the most optimistic among us (just me), there was some hope that this would somewhat improve with the new versions for non-A1200 machines. And with these new versions I can definitely say, maybe. Or at the very least they don't seem much worse for non-A1200s.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 01:05   #3012
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
For now the reasons to use a CSPPC would be:

1) iFusion
2) Payback WOS
3) Old demos in combination with a CVPPC
4) OS4 Classic
5) MorphOS Classic or whatever it was called, PowerUp?
Payback has problem with sound, some samples are looping, has problem too with control via keyboard, but if you are using gamepad (CD32 or PSX), game works fine.
Scroll could be more smooth, but results are depending on choice of view in game. In my opinion (with gamepad) Payback is playable enough.
BULI is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 02:39   #3013
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
Payback has problem with sound, some samples are looping, has problem too with control via keyboard, but if you are using gamepad (CD32 or PSX), game works fine.
Scroll could be more smooth, but results are depending on choice of view in game. In my opinion (with gamepad) Payback is playable enough.
I just included Payback on the list for completeness, since it's well known. But really I think it runs a slightly better than the 060 version. Whether that's a real selling point for a CSPPC user, I don't know. The bad part is that it's a basic architectural issue that isn't worth fixing, if it is even fixable.
And it's not the kind of game that if it was running optimally that it makes it playable vs unplayable-at least from what I've seen.

Best bet would be to somehow track down the owner for a patch, that happens all the time in Amiga land with success right?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 02:54   #3014
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Set sound to 0 in PaybackWOS and see how fast it is ;-)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 05:17   #3015
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
But really I think it runs a slightly better than the 060 version.

Surely, much better than 060 version!
BULI is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 05:27   #3016
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Set sound to 0 in PaybackWOS and see how fast it is ;-)
Hedeon, do you mean set level of volume to 0?
BULI is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 09:49   #3017
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 907
Yes. The programmer decided to use the hardware directly. Later he upgraded the 68k version with AHI, but not the PPC version. Set sound level to 0 in game to see a remarkable speedup.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 22:08   #3018
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Still no Prdoom or chocolateduke?

Hey! You know my beta of Chocolate Duke is here:


http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=95887


Hopefully another beta coming soon following your updates to SDL...


BTW K1/M1 users: Duke runs on your platforms quite well I've been told
Wrangler is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 21:04   #3019
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 264
Duke Nukem 3D beta 2 is now up on that thread ^^^
Wrangler is offline  
Old 05 February 2019, 13:04   #3020
jack-3d
kLiker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno / Czech Republic
Posts: 360
Your Duke port works very good on Killer M1, I just tested it and it runs smoothly at 640x480.
jack-3d is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 01:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 01:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 16:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17557 seconds with 16 queries