English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 May 2016, 02:53   #1
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 313
Best Accelerator for Amiga 4000T

What is the best best Accelerator for Amiga 4000T?
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 09:40   #2
jack-3d
kLiker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno / Czech Republic
Posts: 360
Cyberstorm MK3/PPC
jack-3d is offline  
Old 07 May 2016, 11:38   #3
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 623
Hiya. Another fine Sunny day in Cornwall.

Another one worth a shout would be a Warp Engine with one of those Statchu 060 mods & some 50ns Fast Ram

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...ble&highlight=

Very very Fast & SCSI II is more than adequate.

CSMK3 & CSPPC both have SCSI III & Interleaved Memory Access 64Bit (Dual 2 x 32Bit Channels), but unless you use these boards for their Graphics/PCI interfaces, there's no point. If you're hankering after a PPC and some OS4.1 action, the emulation is poor & slow compared to an 060 on OS3.9

CSMK3 without the PPC is a slick card, but not as slick/snappy as an 040 Warp Engine @ 40Mhz. 60ns Ram on this board actually speeds it up no end over 70ns. Never been seen on any other Accelerator for the Amiga.
I could only imagine an 060 on this board being bonkers for speed on the desktop.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 07 May 2016, 22:26   #4
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
CSMK3 without the PPC is a slick card, but not as slick/snappy as an 040 Warp Engine @ 40Mhz. 60ns Ram on this board actually speeds it up no end over 70ns. Never been seen on any other Accelerator for the Amiga.
I could only imagine an 060 on this board being bonkers for speed on the desktop.
A 68040 is often faster at memory access than a 68060. The single integer core of the 68040 has full access to the memory bandwidth instead of sharing between cores with the 68060. The 68060 can only fetch 32 bits of instructions per cycle also.

The CSMK3 has 2 settings for memory speed. Overclocking the 68060 requires faster memory. I am using 50ns memory in my CSMK3 with 68060@75MHz and the fastest memory setting. It took me a while to find fast enough SIMMs for the faster memory setting. The memory speed in benchmarks is significantly faster than a CSMK3 with 68060@50MHz. It would be interesting to Compare to an overclocked QuickPak 68060 accelerator with EDO memory. Memory speed is not as important as CPU clock speed for performance though (caches!). The ACT Apollo accelerators with rev 6 68060 are the fastest big box accelerators (they half the memory clock speed so the memory performance isn't the best and the SCSI is poor). The fastest Amiga 68060 accelerator could be the fpga Arcade expansion board as it has the highest CPU clock speed and fastest memory but I don't know if it counts as an "accelerator".
matthey is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 13:30   #5
sayasupacrew
Registered User
sayasupacrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: noirmoutier france
Age: 49
Posts: 39
the 060 quickpak accelerator card, go very fast with its ram alongside the processor.
sayasupacrew is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 20:56   #6
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by sayasupacrew View Post
the 060 quickpak accelerator card, go very fast with its ram alongside the processor.

Which one to you mean?
k0x is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 23:42   #7
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
Which one to you mean?

This one:
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/eagle060


This was the 060 option for A4000Ts from the factory. Supports EDO and has optional SCSI. Only fits in an A4000T, don't know if it would fit in an A3000T though.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 09:51   #8
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 47
There are two known QuikPak accelerators

4060T
4060XP

https://www.bigbookofamigahardware.c...t.aspx?id=1892
k0x is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 17:29   #9
sayasupacrew
Registered User
sayasupacrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: noirmoutier france
Age: 49
Posts: 39
this card.

http://www.bigbookofamigahardware.co...ct.aspx?id=268


Last edited by sayasupacrew; 08 January 2019 at 17:48.
sayasupacrew is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 18:51   #10
Pollock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 17
PPC boards are really nice, but there are a few things to keep in mind.

1. Not for the novice to setup. Even getting the system boot to the OS can take some work, never mind getting it stable. i would only advise on one, if you know what your doing.

2. Software, if running a PPC board, you really need an OS with native support for it throughout, so that means OS 3.9 and up etc. you can get support on older OS's, but this means loads of installs (see point 1). The other thing to mention is, there isn't really that much software, that is compiled to take advantage of it, there are a few games, some ports, and some professional software, and that's it. In short, you'll use it to look at the pretty scores on SysSpeed, and thats about it.

3. Power and Heat. These things run *hot* and i mean, really toast. so, expelling heat from the case, is an issue, and is supply enough juice on the 12V and 5V rails. it might not be an issue for some, but worth consideration.

4. The cost. We aint talking 2 groats and a sheckle here, we are talking some serious money, aim around 1,000 Euros on Amibay, and you might get one, and for how much you will use it, it's a very expensive to. But if you have a 4000T, then that's probably not an issue.


As for a 68060, its a nice CPU for any system, i have an Apollo 1260 @66Mhz in one of my systems, and it's really nice to use. Workbench is nice and snappy at any colour depth, and rendering images etc. is instant, but TBH, for everyday use of WB, there isn't much difference between a quick 030, an 040, or 060. I know people will argue, some games are smoother for example, but as no matter how fast the CPU is, it's stuck with the AGA chipset, sure you can use FBlit etc, and move some of this to fast RAM, but the AGA chipset, is still old and slow. To get the best out of a higher end accelerator, you really need good tools to manage options, cache and burst etc. and especially MapROM. I have a 68030TK accelerator for my A500+, and while it has a 68030 @ 50mhz, and gets 10,800 dhrystones, the screen draw speed has only increased by a few percent, as the processor is an EC version, with no MMU, making MapROM more difficult. In short, while i have boards with 030s, 040s, 060s, etc. the Amiga doesnt really utilise the high end CPU's without alot of fettling, and for what you pay, well, let's just say it's the most expensive "red bar" i have ever bought in any computer program. i have an A600 with a Vampire II that i never use, i just fire it up, look at how fast it is, and put it away. Playing Uridium II on an A500+ with a 68030 board @50Mhz, is the same as playing it on an AGA chipset, with an Apollo 1260 @66Mhz.

think about why you really want it
Pollock is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 23:57   #11
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by sayasupacrew View Post

Not that one, this one.


grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 23:59   #12
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 47
Those are same card only different revisions
k0x is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 00:10   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
Those are same card only different revisions

No see his version would never fit in the machine over there since you guys have to use the machine upside-down.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 00:23   #14
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 47
Really?

This is the 4kT motherboard in correct direction
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga-4000t-motherboard-amiga_1_d1b3e1bdf31a71e3e970a7e59e70e877.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	432.0 KB
ID:	61512  
k0x is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 01:05   #15
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
Really?

This is the 4kT motherboard in correct direction

Yeah for North America that would be. Oh, I guess this is upside down for you, so I guess you're right as the other guy.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 20:59   #16
sayasupacrew
Registered User
sayasupacrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: noirmoutier france
Age: 49
Posts: 39
do you know what price is worth this accelerator card?
sayasupacrew is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 23:34   #17
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by sayasupacrew View Post
do you know what price is worth this accelerator card?

Do you have one?
k0x is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 01:50   #18
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by sayasupacrew View Post
do you know what price is worth this accelerator card?

I checked the WTO listings for 2019 Amiga gear and that shows as $429.98 plus shipping. You're welcome.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 12:27   #19
sayasupacrew
Registered User
sayasupacrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: noirmoutier france
Age: 49
Posts: 39
yes, I have pictures of the accelerator cards.


sayasupacrew is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore Amiga 4000T Worth This Much? fondpondforever Amiga scene 10 05 December 2014 12:29
Amiga 4000T AV Module DarrenHD support.Hardware 3 10 December 2010 07:44
Amiga 4000T cdrom Landoq support.Hardware 33 28 May 2010 18:45
Amiga 4000T not booting Kristian95 support.Hardware 6 25 April 2008 00:10
Amiga 4000t HD help GreenMeanie support.Hardware 17 04 November 2007 10:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10031 seconds with 16 queries