English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 January 2019, 14:02   #21
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
One thing is I have a Mac not a PC. Would anyone know the command or process to clone the drive to a backup file on my internal Mac drive?

I'm going to go with this Mac compatible kit I think:
I can't help specifically with the Mac, but if the drive is IDE it probably won't work with most IDE-USB converters. [There have been a couple of other threads relating to that, try searching for "CHS".]

The reason is that old IDE drives only support CHS access, whereas newer ones support LBA access too. Most IDE-USB converters only use LBA access, so can't be used to read old CHS-only IDE drives.

WinUAE has a workaround for that which works with at least some JMicron-based IDE-USB converters, so if you have access to a PC or boot Windows on your Mac (Boot Camp, Parallels, VMWare?) you should be able to image the drive with WinUAE. I have a converter which looks similar to the one you pictured and it is the right type.
mark_k is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 15:21   #22
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
I can't help specifically with the Mac, but if the drive is IDE it probably won't work with most IDE-USB converters. [There have been a couple of other threads relating to that, try searching for "CHS".]

Very interesting point! Thank you for mentioning.
k0x is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 10:58   #23
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2
One thing is I have a Mac not a PC. Would anyone know the command or process to clone the drive to a backup file on my internal Mac drive?
I'd personally start with something like this instead of going straight to ddrescue:

dd if=/dev/disk?s of=~/image.img bs=64k status=progress

If any errors are detected dd will abort. Then more aggressive options can be explored.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 05:46   #24
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,052
Update:

I was able to back up some of the IDE drives with DDRescue (GUI Mac version). Some however just scanned through every block as unreadable 0Kb.

What is the best way to read the IDE drives in UAE for Mac, to copy the files to a UAE virtual disk please?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 01:52   #25
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,602
I used a USB-IDE adapter on some very old IDE drives as small as 85MB, and it worked ok. It also helps if it's also an older USB-IDE adapter as it won't try to use faster UDMA modes.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 02:01   #26
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
I was able to back up some of the IDE drives with DDRescue (GUI Mac version). Some however just scanned through every block as unreadable 0Kb.

What is the best way to read the IDE drives in UAE for Mac, to copy the files to a UAE virtual disk please?
Those would be the non-LBA-capable drives.

Using the hardware you already have, install Windows then run WinUAE to create image files. You should be able to create a VM (using e.g. VirtualBox?) and install Windows in that if you don't want to dual-boot via Boot Camp. You would "attach" your USB-IDE converter to the VM so Windows can see/control it.
mark_k is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 22:32   #27
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Those would be the non-LBA-capable drives.



Using the hardware you already have, install Windows then run WinUAE to create image files. You should be able to create a VM (using e.g. VirtualBox?) and install Windows in that if you don't want to dual-boot via Boot Camp. You would "attach" your USB-IDE converter to the VM so Windows can see/control it.
Thanks. So once I'm in WinUAE with the IDE adapter attached and recognized, what is the process to image the drives?

Last edited by Starglider 2; 19 January 2019 at 02:05.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 02:05   #28
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Thanks. So once I'm in WinUAE with the IDE adapter attached and recognized, what is the process to image the drives?
Polite bump
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 02:17   #29
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Those would be the non-LBA-capable drives.



Using the hardware you already have, install Windows then run WinUAE to create image files. You should be able to create a VM (using e.g. VirtualBox?) and install Windows in that if you don't want to dual-boot via Boot Camp. You would "attach" your USB-IDE converter to the VM so Windows can see/control it.
Just to be clear, is this functionality to read an Amiga CHS drive via USB unique to WinUAE (for Windows, obvs) and won't work on FS-UAE for Mac?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 02:18   #30
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 637
First, make sure you run WinUAE as admin, it needs this to hit the drive at a low enough level. Once you have it running, there's an option to create an image in there. I can't remember exactly where in the menus - sorry.

[Edit] oops, posted at the same time. I've never tried to do this with FS-UAE sorry!
indigolemon is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 20:58   #31
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Just to be clear, is this functionality to read an Amiga CHS drive via USB unique to WinUAE (for Windows, obvs) and won't work on FS-UAE for Mac?
Yes that's correct.

How have you installed Windows, natively (Boot Camp) or in a VM?

I haven't actually tried reading a CHS-only drive with JMicron USB adapter, so maybe someone who has (Toni?) can chime in here. But you'll need to tell WinUAE the C/H/S geometry your drive uses. What is its make/model number?
mark_k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why cannot I boot hard drive directory or hard disk image jotd support.WinUAE 2 31 October 2017 19:00
A4000 won't see Hard drive The Mutt support.Hardware 10 24 January 2015 04:58
Writing a HDF back to a Hard Drive Cauterize support.Hardware 6 12 October 2011 01:41
Want to replace the hard drive in my A4000. Need advice Dougal support.Hardware 11 12 September 2010 17:00
How much would an A4000 set you back? Smiley Retrogaming General Discussion 10 17 March 2006 21:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08564 seconds with 15 queries