English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 April 2007, 12:22   #1
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 87
Oktagon 2008 Rev.7 Board

Could it be that this revison got a rom version higher than 6.8 or at least 6.8? I don't know what would happen if I put that thing on my Hdds plus CD-Rom.

As I don't have it yet (thinking of buying one!) I ask this question.
Drake008@ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 April 2007, 17:56   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
I have seen versions of the Oktagon 2008 ROM upto 6.12 (at least 4 versions after 6.8). The 6.12 ROM image is available online if you want to upgrade.

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/oktagon2000

Why are you considering getting a crappy oktagon? I thought you had your Apollo 2030 SCSI controller? And a GVP HC+8 controller?
alexh is offline  
Old 11 April 2007, 20:32   #3
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 87
The Apollo SCSI is ... crap fdue to the errors. And the GVP won't work with the Apollo.

So that the only thing is to get an Oktagon which is very good from what I heard.
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 11 April 2007, 20:54   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
I bet those errors dont go away.

The oktagon is a PIO only design meaning that the CPU load when accessing the disk is much higher than a DMA design.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 April 2007, 21:01   #5
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 87
I know that's for sure. Direct Mem access is always much better than anything else. But what can I do.
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 11 April 2007, 22:52   #6
Secret Vampire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham UK
Age: 36
Posts: 214
But then, the Apollo SCSI controller doesn't do DMA either, and is quite bad, so there's not really any loss there.
There are other DMA cards to investigate apart from the GVP, Commodore A2091s are common and cheap, and the IVS trumpcard and at least one of the Microbotics controllers are also DMA cards, but whether any of them would work correctly is another matter...
It's also worth considering that no Zorro II DMA controller will be able to do DMA directly to the Apollo's onboard RAM anyway, unless it maps some of it's memory into the 24 bit address space, so DMA transfers will be restricted to the relatively slow ram on the controller or a Zorro II RAM card, probably faster than PIO with an 030 running the show, but for faster CPUs? I'm not sure.
Secret Vampire is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help for A2000 rev 6.4 board! genny support.Hardware 3 16 April 2011 05:26
Oktagon 2008/A2000 radzik Hardware mods 5 03 March 2009 16:25
Board Revision ADVICE Rev 1D.1 vs Rev 2B D4Ni3L3 support.Other 1 02 December 2008 23:44
Cdrom with Oktagon 2008 controller..how? Nick99 support.Apps 12 10 April 2007 11:46
For Sale: Oktagon 2008 Zorro II SCSI controller Smiley MarketPlace 0 18 September 2006 19:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20093 seconds with 12 queries