English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hall Of Light > HOL data problems

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 March 2007, 19:14   #41
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor
The 's'-key should be pressed at the same sequence as the 'k'-key (but not together). That's the code that's called from pressing the 's'-key (from EU version):
Code:
LAB_075B:
    TST    -30410(A4)
    BEQ.S    LAB_075C
    CLR    -30410(A4)
    BRA.S    LAB_075D
LAB_075C:
    MOVE    #$0001,-30410(A4)
LAB_075D:
...
It toggles something. When -30410(A4) is 0 then it is set to 1 otherwise it is set to 0. But I don't know what it is.
Someone needs to see what the initial -30410(A4) value and after pressing 's' value are. If I only had a stable PC, I would test this out.
demoniac is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 March 2007, 19:18   #42
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Ok, I've worked out what holding the <S> key does, it turn off / turns on all sound

...but holding down the <S> key on the same blue / green map screen does absolutely nothing... The way to deactivate / reactivate the sound is as follows:


Deactivate
In the intro as soon as you see Robin Hood, hold down the <S> key and the sound will fade out. You now won't have any sound throughout the whole game.

or

Once the game has started, select "Seek Conquest" and go to Sherwood Forrest. As soon as you see Robin hold down the <S> key and the sound starts to fade out.

Reactivate

Select "Seek Conquest" and go to Sherwood Forrest. As soon as you see Robin hold down the <S> key and the sound will be back on next time you try any event that had sound.


Not sure why anybody would want to do this though, rubbish hey

Last edited by DamienD; 14 March 2007 at 19:57.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 March 2007, 19:18   #43
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Maybe it's a hidden save function?

me/ too late
Shoonay is offline  
Old 14 March 2007, 19:20   #44
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by demoniac
I believe Codetapper is the owner of the cheats.
...then hopefully he is reading this thread and will make ammendments to the HOL Cheatcode: page

Actually mods, do you think it would be possible for you to move this thread somewhere under the HOL section where it belongs?
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 March 2007, 20:08   #45
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
@Damien found that out now too that it turns sound on/off. For me it worked in the same screen as in your pictures (and should be as the keys are checked at the same location). I think there are more screens where one can press the keys, need to check with the debugger where they are exactly.
thor is offline  
Old 14 March 2007, 20:10   #46
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor
@Damien found that out now too that it turns sound on/off. For me it worked in the same screen as in your pictures (and should be as the keys are checked at the same location). I think there are more screens where one can press the keys, need to check with the debugger where they are exactly.
Interesting, I tried on the green / blue map screen at least 3 times and it didn't work for me

Well, atleast we came to the same conclusion about the function
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 March 2007, 20:27   #47
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Ok more testing

You can hold down the <S> key anytime in the intro or game and this will turn off the sound

However, I did try to turn it back on at each new screen in the intro but couldn't get it to work (this includes the blue / green map screen). I then did an activity and held down the <S> key again when back at the blue / green map screen, unforunately the sound didn't return...

thor, did you actual manage to get the sound back on in the blue / green map screen or some other place? For me I can only do this when Robin Hood appears
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 March 2007, 08:03   #48
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Yeah, Robin Hood, the avenger of the lost sound

No seriously, yes you can turn sound on in i.e. the blue / green map screen. But don't hold the key down. Just press it and release after a second. Don't release too fast, but a normal key press should do.

And a tip: Move all your men to your campaign army, don't have anyone in your home army. If your home castle is attacked the number of soldiers / knights of your campaign army defend the castle (just the number of them, not the real campaign army). So if you have no one in the home army, you can double your total army men (minus the ones you lose in the fight), but if your home army was bigger than the campaign army, you lose the difference between both and the ones you lose in the fight. Tested with EU version.
thor is offline  
Old 15 March 2007, 11:06   #49
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Hello thor,

Thanks for the info

So, to summise you can probably turn the sound off / on at anytime throughout the game by just pressing the <S> key (not holding)?

I do believe that the <K> key cheat only works on the green / blue map screen as this when when gold / stats are updated. I'll try other places tonight
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 March 2007, 11:55   #50
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Do now I have to find EU version of Defender of the Crown. Cheater...
Anubis is offline  
Old 15 March 2007, 15:42   #51
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
wahey I got it to work!! Thanks to you all for replying so positively to my plight!!. What am I gonna do for the NEXT 20 years though???
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 March 2007, 19:48   #52
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Excellent news DDNI
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 March 2007, 19:58   #53
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAART !!!.... fart....... faaart!...... fjut!....







I'm soooo immature.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 16 March 2007, 02:27   #54
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
girls, be nice to each other...
Anubis is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 00:43   #55
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Was a bit bored tonight so I thought I'd try to test a few other things regarding the Knight cheat and the Sound toggle option... So, here are the details:

2048 Knights:
Press the <K> key anytime after the Character selection screen and you will receive 1024 Knights in your Home Army and 1024 Knights in your Compaign Army. You can do this as often as you like, just remember that both your Home Army and Campaign Army will be reset to 1024 Knights though.

Toggle sound off / on:
Press the <S> key anytime in the game to turn the sound off and press the <S> key again to turn the sound back on.


Notes:
... These only works in the EU region version of the game and not the US region version.
... With the toggle sound off / on option; after you turn the sound off, if you try to turn it back on you will not hear anything again until the next section that is supposed to have sound. For example if you turn off / on the sound through the intro, you will not hear sound again until after the Character selection screen.

Last edited by DamienD; 19 March 2007 at 12:28.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 15:29   #56
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
It works with SPS version, but it makes game pointless...

10-15 min and you'll see this...

Anubis is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 15:39   #57
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis
It works with SPS version, but it makes game pointless...
Yup, sure does

Anyway, as said previously in this thread all versions of DotC are easy to finish without cheating
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 18:35   #58
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
What the hack you're supposed to do on turnament??

I don't have any controll and I always get kicked from the horse.
Anubis is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 18:42   #59
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Yeah, tournaments can be a real headache

I know that when I posted the strategy above which was found somewhere on the Internet it says:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
STRATEGY:

- Move your lance until it is just left of your opponents shield, then down a little. Count the number of bounces and on the 5th strike at the lowest possible point.
However, this is how I usually have success. Just aim your joust at the middle of the cross on your opponent's shield and make sure it stays in the middle at the final point of impact. It does take some practise though

Obvious but, until you get good at tournaments only joust for fame.

Last edited by DamienD; 19 March 2007 at 18:57.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 18:45   #60
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Will try that when I play this game without cheat.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defender of the Crown Zeewolf Nostalgia & memories 29 18 December 2012 04:38
Defender of the Crown mange_lars Nostalgia & memories 8 07 October 2010 09:32
Defender Of The Crown 2 Retro1234 support.Games 1 16 May 2009 20:05
Anyone ever gotten Defender of the Crown cheat to work? Raid27 support.Games 3 31 January 2006 10:13
Defender of the Crown Djay support.Games 9 10 April 2003 14:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22520 seconds with 13 queries