English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 June 2018, 20:01   #1
bebbo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 288
Happy m68k-amigaos-gdb

Feel free to read more at https://franke.ms/amiga/gdb8.wiki

and give it a shot!

I updated my web page and added
  • a first bgdbserver executable for the Amiga
  • some info how to build m68k-amigaos-gdb
  • a very short description howto use it


bebbo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 June 2018, 20:02   #2
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 400
Woohoo!
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 22:37   #3
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 146
Great!
ovale is offline  
Old 19 June 2018, 23:49   #4
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 185
been using it today with stepping. it seems to work well !

for those using WinUAE just remember to enable bsdsocket.library otherwise you will HALT (obvious i know but took me ages to figure out why my debug server wouldn't start
lantus360 is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 02:34   #5
gregthecanuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 9
Awesome!! Stefan I just sent you a (small, sorry) PayPal donation for your work on gdb. Hopefully you can buy yourself a nice beer or something.

Cheers!
Greg
gregthecanuck is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 13:13   #6
bebbo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregthecanuck View Post
Awesome!! Stefan I just sent you a (small, sorry) PayPal donation for your work on gdb. Hopefully you can buy yourself a nice beer or something.

Cheers!
Greg
Thank you Greg, I will toast to you!
bebbo is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 14:27   #7
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 946
bgdbinit seems to be working under aros 68k, perhaps it can be useful. im just not sure how to approach m68k-amigaos-gdb.
lets assume ill build it within my vm linux environment im building software with, i will not be able to access winuae with it. on the other hand to use it under windows one would have a windows or at least cygwin version. is there a solution for that?

perhaps i might try to access fs-uae, im running within linux vm while initially testing, not sure what port.
wawa is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 13:36   #8
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 906
Great!
kamelito is offline  
Old 01 July 2018, 14:25   #9
bebbo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 288
A small step for me, a giant leap for Amiga fellows:

Today it worked for the first time to remotely debug an Amiga application from Eclipse.

See attached screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EclipseRemoteDebug1.png
Views:	75
Size:	90.3 KB
ID:	58714  
bebbo is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 17:41   #10
alkis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 47
Posts: 412
Nice work. Works from terminal for me. I am trying to make Clion work with it. Stepping works (F8), it can't understand the variables though. (No variables in context)
alkis is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 18:25   #11
bebbo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkis View Post
Nice work. Works from terminal for me. I am trying to make Clion work with it. Stepping works (F8), it can't understand the variables though. (No variables in context)
Code:
inf arg
inf loc
are both working. Are you using bgdbserver 0.2?
bebbo is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 23:49   #12
alkis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 47
Posts: 412
Everything works from terminal. I can see variables and all.

It must be some idiosyncrasy of Clion.
(Btw, I was using bgdbserver 0.1, switched to 0.2 still the same issue on clion. )
alkis is offline  
Old 04 July 2018, 03:59   #13
gregthecanuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebbo View Post
A small step for me, a giant leap for Amiga fellows:

Today it worked for the first time to remotely debug an Amiga application from Eclipse.

See attached screenshot.


And the angels sang with joy...


Very exciting! How anybody can develop in C without a decent debugger is unbelievable.
gregthecanuck is offline  
Old 04 July 2018, 05:19   #14
pants
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: fastmem
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregthecanuck View Post
Very exciting! How anybody can develop in C without a decent debugger is unbelievable.

Me: "Boss, can we not just *buy* a debugger vs writing our own dev tools for each new platform?"
Boss: "Sure, if you buy it with your own money and use it in your own time. I don't pay you to write bugs."

back-on-topic: awesome work bebbo :)
pants is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Csound 3.481 on m68k squidbass Amiga scene 5 21 July 2013 21:29
Rewriting m68k code RobSis Coders. Tutorials 1 26 January 2013 16:15
Remote GDB debugging copse support.WinUAE 6 31 August 2011 01:05
m68k-amigaos-ld.exe bug ? FrenchShark Coders. General 2 30 November 2009 09:54
Shorten ported to AmigaOS m68k and WarpOS Paul News 0 20 August 2006 12:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07420 seconds with 14 queries