English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2011, 13:02   #1
absence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: moon
Posts: 349
Garbage on screen during boot

I used to have an A500 (KS 1.3) and remember that sometimes when booting plain DOS disks (like Workbench), there would be a quick flash of garbage on the screen instead of plain white while the boot block (original unmodified) was loaded and did its thing. Once in a while the garbage would stay until the AmigaDOS window appeard, and the garbage would change with the floppy drive noise.

For some reason I suddenly remembered this "phenomenon" the other day, and am curious about why this happens. I've seen it on other Amigas, so it wasn't a problem with my particular computer. Is it a bug in the Kickstart that occasionally causes bitplane pointers to be set to random addresses, pallette issue, BPLCON, or what?
absence is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 February 2011, 13:05   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
You can still use rippers after reset so I think RAM is not fully cleared.
s2325 is offline  
Old 16 February 2011, 13:20   #3
absence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: moon
Posts: 349
It shouldn't matter if memory is cleared or not, as the hardware registers decide if anything is visible on screen. You're right about memory usually not being cleared on reboot, but I had an Action Replay III which does clear all memory IIRC. The pixel data of the garbage is likely system structures that exist in memory prior to booting, Kickstart code/data, or (if memory isn't cleared) whatever has been in memory earlier. What I wonder is WHY this pixel data is sometimes allowed to display briefly, sometimes longer, and often not at all?
absence is offline  
Old 16 February 2011, 13:54   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,900
I guess it's because of bitplane DMA that is enabled before bitplane pointers have been initialised.
StingRay is offline  
Old 16 February 2011, 14:52   #5
absence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: moon
Posts: 349
Hmm, so DMA is always enabled slightly before pointers are initialised, and depending on the initial content of the pointer registers there may or may not be a flash of garbage. That makes sense for most of the cases, but what about the odd ones where the pointers aren't set at all, and the garbage stays on screen and animates for the few seconds it takes to open the AmigaDOS window? Race condition of some kind?
absence is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 01:25   #6
Steady
 
Posts: n/a
Maybe there is something dodgy with the boot block and it is a bit buggy. Are you certain that this is a clean C= boot block or has something else installed itself there (virus, maybe)?
 
Old 20 February 2011, 20:28   #7
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 42
Posts: 1,374
I can confirm I also saw this a lot, still happens from time to time on my CDTV nearby. And the bootblocks are usually the standard C= ones...
mr.vince is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Early Boot screen Methanoid support.Hardware 13 03 March 2013 01:46
Boot Screen and Backdrops rossb project.ClassicWB 1 09 May 2010 19:51
No Boot up screen on my A3000 Retro_71 support.Hardware 10 18 May 2008 01:36
Purple Boot Screen? Christian support.Hardware 12 26 May 2007 20:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06490 seconds with 15 queries