English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2013, 13:23   #1
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Amiga questions you've always been too embarrassed to ask

Did you ever have an Amiga related question that seemed too simplistic, something you should normally know the answer to and are therefore too ashamed to ask? I thought it would be nice to have a thread for such questions. Thread rule: nobody is allowed to laugh, no matter how stupid the question is.

Here's mine:

What does Game & Mini Mag mean?

If nobody else posts a question in a week, I will kill myself
alkis21 is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 13:33   #2
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkis21 View Post

What does Game & Mini Mag mean?

If nobody else posts a question in a week, I will kill myself
I too would also like to know the answer to this question

Please don't kill yourself
Rob 1 is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 15:00   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
"Game & Mini Mag" refers to a kind of 'magazin' that basically only had one or more games on a disk and 1 or 2 pages of printed instructions I'm not sure about other coutries, but they were quite popular here (most popular Amiga one was 'Amiga Fun'). The games on them varied from shareware to 'close-to-commercial' quality.
TCD is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 15:28   #4
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 348
What does paralax-scrolling mean? Pretended to know what it is when others talked about it but never really understood.
Zak is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 15:40   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
You have multiple layers of your 'playfield' and once you move they scroll at different speeds (to create some kind of depth). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallax_scrolling#Example
TCD is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 15:41   #6
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,706
Parallax scrolling is a way to create a depth feeling using only 2D planes. Consider cutting out some shapes in cardboard. In the back you put the background, then you might add some trees in the next layer, then some grass etc. When you move sideways, you move the front layers faster and the back ones slowest relative to their distance, thus creating a sense of depth, South Park style. This is used in most platform games.

Edit: I was slow
demolition is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 15:46   #7
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 54
Posts: 1,170
Play Shadow of the Beast and watch the background as you move around, parallax scrolling at its best.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 16:11   #8
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 40
Posts: 1,060
Regarding parallax. Without using more technical terminology..Next time you sit in a moving train, look out of the window, you will notice objects closer to you are moving faster than objects that are further away. This is what programmers hope to achieve when they use parallax scrolling.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 20:49   #9
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 135
How is an A4000 different from an A1200? I mean from a software point of view - I heard many times that some software or game works on A1200 but not on A4000. Isn't the AGA chipset exactly the same as on A1200, the only difference being Budgie / Buster?
chaos is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 20:59   #10
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 40
Posts: 1,060
@Chaos. AFAIK the only real difference is the processor. The A1200 houses the "68020" and the A4000 it's the "68040". One is faster than the other with subtle differences in how they operate, these differences are enough to cause incompatibility problems..I'm not 100% on this so I'm sure someone can better explain.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 21:58   #11
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofchaos View Post
@Chaos. AFAIK the only real difference is the processor. The A1200 houses the "68020" and the A4000 it's the "68040". One is faster than the other with subtle differences in how they operate, these differences are enough to cause incompatibility problems..I'm not 100% on this so I'm sure someone can better explain.
You are right, and also the fact that one usually has fastmem and the other hasn't, has caused problems in the past...
budgie, buster and gary/gayle differences rarely cause issues for games/demos..
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 22:08   #12
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,860
Why the Amiga diskdrives periodically click? There are tools that reduce that clicking and the drives recognise floppy insertion and load it, so why the drives from A1000 thru the whole range up to A4000T do click?
Predseda is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 22:47   #13
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 348
I understand Parallax-scrolling now, thanks.

[ Show youtube player ]
Zak is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 22:47   #14
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Why the Amiga diskdrives periodically click? There are tools that reduce that clicking and the drives recognise floppy insertion and load it, so why the drives from A1000 thru the whole range up to A4000T do click?
The drive moves the head one track up or down. This is the click you hear. AFAIK if the head moves over the magnetic surface of a disk, even if the disk is not rotating, a small electric pulse is generated and the drive knows that a disk is in. If no such pulse appears, then there is no disk in the drive. This is how the drive checks for disk changes.

The programs which switch off the clicking make the head move from track 0 towards track -1 (which does not exist and thus the head is not really moved). Some drives however try to really move the head this way and will damage the head.

That said, the big question is: why does the drive not need to click when a disk is in the drive?
thomas is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 23:05   #15
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
pretty sure it will also detect if a plastic dummy disk is inserted. or those drive head cleaners. there is a physical switch in there somewhere that detects the disk but for some reason the drive doesn't sent the status until it receives a command.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 23:38   #16
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 42
Posts: 5,218
I've always wondered what made the weight of the power unit on A500 and on A1200 so different, with the former being a brick and the other being so light: since I burned a couple of the A500 ones, in very little time, with them being so expensive, I was kind of let down when I got the A1200, because its power unit seemed so cheap.

But I don't remember if the A1200's one never broke down: if it has not, then it is the same I bought in 1994, still working now.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 23:46   #17
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 348
My A1200 has the same power brick as the A500. Hmm. They really look the same and have the same connectors.

As far as the disk drive is concerned, there is a small black pin or switch in the drive to notice if there is a disk in it, so I always wondered about the clicking, too.
Zak is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 00:04   #18
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 293
Amiga questions you've always been too embarrassed to ask

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak View Post
My A1200 has the same power brick as the A500. Hmm. They really look the same and have the same connectors.

As far as the disk drive is concerned, there is a small black pin or switch in the drive to notice if there is a disk in it, so I always wondered about the clicking, too.
A500 and a1200 puss are interchangeable. The 500 ones are better
moijk is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 00:17   #19
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 43
Posts: 2,115
Amiga questions you've always been too embarrassed to ask

What's an "Amiga"?

There, I've said it.
Dastardly is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 00:19   #20
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 42
Posts: 5,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak View Post
My A1200 has the same power brick as the A500. Hmm. They really look the same and have the same connectors.
Really I'm sure about it: A500 one weighed a ton. Maybe different models then.
Marcuz is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 12:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 16:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 22:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 10:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13166 seconds with 14 queries