English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2016, 18:52   #701
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Was the sarcasm sign not lit or what? ;-)
TCD is offline  
Old 17 January 2016, 01:13   #702
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 314
Here's video of testing AmigaOS 3.9:
ShK is online now  
Old 17 January 2016, 01:48   #703
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,954
Marvellous. Now what about AKReal and clicking in the left of the top bar that displays the menu and running some of the radio streams like Energy98? (two of the streams need to be updated), or also running IBrowse having the MUI key?

Last edited by Retrofan; 17 January 2016 at 01:54.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 19 January 2016, 21:41   #704
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,291
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600

Will these be easily obtainable once they are done or will they be like the mythical 64 reloaded where you have to win the lotto to get one? . (I got one lol)
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 19 January 2016, 22:01   #705
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
BDROMs are like DVDROMs but with blue laser for smaller, denser pits. The high definition video standard, Blue-Ray, is a BDROM with Java based menus and a proprietary file codec.
The format is named Blu-ray, not Blue-ray.

And it can barely play an MPEG-1 file to begin with as there is no hardware acceleration, so no point in talking about Blu-ray, unless you want them to integrate an AVC/VC-1 decoder into the FPGA now that they have so much extra space available..
demolition is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 10:26   #706
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 1,088
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Will these be easily obtainable once they are done or will they be like the mythical 64 reloaded where you have to win the lotto to get one? . (I got one lol)
They are already being produced. Kipper2k has them listed on his website for 150 Euros. See http://www.kipper2k.com/accel600.html for details.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 22:48   #707
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,291
I sent him an email and haven't gotten a response back
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 22:54   #708
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 106
@TjLaZer he seems really really busy right now, it took him a little while to get back to me when I ordered one.
In another thread he says that he is working through them, the boards and the emails, as quickly as he can right now.
AJCopland is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 23:10   #709
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,681
Hi All,

I am very busy, if you have set me a email requesting one then you are on the list. and i am working through it in chronological order. I have 10 boards done that will be mailed tomorrow and then i am waiting for the bigger order to arrive. As i work through the list i will send emails out to those at the top. Even with the preorder handled by Majsta there has been a huge demand so we will work through it.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 23:32   #710
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 965
I am very glad that so many people are interested in the new FPGA way. And I can see why. After all, I've supported the idea from the very beginning.

But I am surprised to hear that the demand is so big. Not because the V2 card has any downsides, but because it is limited to the A600 model. Probably the rarest of wedge Amigas. So this means there are a lot of sleeper Amigans.

What would the total numbers for Vampire 500/1200 cards be then ? Four digits ?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 23:34   #711
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
[ Show youtube player ]
How is this even possible??
wouldn't the IDE bus be limiting the speed this performs at?
Very impressive,
Akira is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 00:12   #712
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
IDE bus is PIO so the speed is limited by CPU to some extent
alexh is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 00:48   #713
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,291
Ok thanks for the update. Totally understand that he is busy
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 20:38   #714
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 314
IRC works nice with the Vampire board:

ShK is online now  
Old 01 February 2016, 10:28   #715
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
But I am surprised to hear that the demand is so big. Not because the V2 card has any downsides, but because it is limited to the A600 model. Probably the rarest of wedge Amigas. So this means there are a lot of sleeper Amigans.

What would the total numbers for Vampire 500/1200 cards be then ? Four digits ?
I thought the same. If a version for the 500/1200 appears then the guys are going to need a factory to keep up with demand
Fingers & toes crossed it will appear at some point


182
Higgy is offline  
Old 01 February 2016, 11:04   #716
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
But I am surprised to hear that the demand is so big. Not because the V2 card has any downsides, but because it is limited to the A600 model. Probably the rarest of wedge Amigas. So this means there are a lot of sleeper Amigans.
Is it though? According to these stats
put the A600 at 200,000 sales in 1992 alone, no 1993 figures, though in Germany alone upto end 1993 was 193,000 (i imagine the UK is roughly the same) would put it at a guess of 400,000, the A1200 with these stats put it worldwide at 144,000, though Germanys figures of 95,000 could be more than doubled with the UK and other eu sales, so 200-250,000, so to me looking at his data put the A1200 as the lowest selling.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 01 February 2016, 11:09   #717
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,706
Back in the 90's I knew only one person with a 1200, but several who owned 600s as they were much cheaper. The plain 500 was the most common though, but when the 600 came out, you couldn't get the 500 any longer so people got the 600 instead.
I got the 500+ as I got it just before the 600 came out but I never knew anyone else with one of those.

But this is just a personal anecdote ofc, so can't be used for any kind of statistic conclusion.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 February 2016, 16:05   #718
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 965
Well color me surprised I thought A600 was the rarest by far.
Still, I think that A1200 got a lot of "unofficial" sales, or at least uncounted, once things started going downhill. Heck, we could still buy some NOS units from Petro few years ago

But the point that A600 was not that rare stands. I am pleasantly surprised.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 01 February 2016, 16:31   #719
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 947
600 was my first machine, i couldnt afford anything else. switched to sec hand 1200 later. i miss the first one to tell the truth, especially now.
wawa is offline  
Old 01 February 2016, 23:42   #720
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 69
Insofar as when I dabble with the Amiga for matters of speed it's via WinUAE at full throttle, watching this thing develop pleases me to no end. Although I doubt the possibility it would be wonderful to see an A3000 version come out. That might motivate me to get Amiga hardware again. Sigh.
b0lt-thrower is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire 600 and floppy issues Firestone support.Hardware 15 22 March 2017 18:11
Vampire 600 more cores.. Turran support.Hardware 48 14 January 2015 17:39
Vampire 600 wierd issues Retro support.Other 4 05 September 2014 22:36
Vampire 600 troubles Viserion support.Hardware 21 10 December 2013 20:28
WTB: Amiga 600 Accelerator Gordon MarketPlace 4 21 February 2009 16:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18332 seconds with 16 queries