English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2012, 00:03   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,196
Commodities installed in your computer...

I love the commodities system of AmigaOS, and these little utilities and patches built with it... Lets make a list of different and hard-to-find commodities that we have in our Amiga and UAE machines, what do you think?

Me first: There are four very old commodities in my computer that I found in coverdisk magazines (search its names on Amiga Magazine Rack):

* SuperDark, a very good modular screen blanker for ECS machines.

* Yak, a multi-function commodity that has no-click, titlebar clock, hotkeys, sun mouse, click-to-front, key beeps, etc...

* DropBox, that execute actions based on files dropped on its icon, very smart tool, extremely easy to associate actions to files.

* And IconTrash, a small commodity that put a simple trashcan icon on the Workbench screen to drop files for erasing them.

There is also Wibby on aminet, a simple taskbar that can display commodities, opened windows, leaved-out icons, and have configurable colors.

Every commodity on this list uses only gadtools, so they works on every 3.0+ machine.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 March 2012, 00:43   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
MultiCX and MagicMenu, is all I need. Fantastic little tools.
I am pretty sure these work on KS2.0 too!
Akira is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 12:09   #3
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
A commodity to rule all other commodities is WBStartup+. Very handy for enabling/disabling & setting priorities for launching commodities put in WBStartup.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 12:11   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
@Leandro Jardim
That DropBox sounds like the way of old Mac OS. Where to get Yak? Sounds a good little cdity

@Akira
I'd like to use MagicMenu but it's buggy, causing sometimes mouse pointer to freeze.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 12:45   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
@Akira
I'd like to use MagicMenu but it's buggy, causing sometimes mouse pointer to freeze.
I never had such problems!

I will try your commodity, sounds cool.

As for Yak, MultiCX does all that too. Give it a try.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 12:51   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,196
Aminet have the Yak newest version: http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/Yak212

On Amiga Magazine Rack you will find some old versions of Magic Menu which may work on your computer. They are simpler and smaller but has fewer features. I use one from there: http://amr.abime.net/amr_search.php?...=0&action=Find

Dropbox is a very smart utility that not patches any OS function: http://amr.abime.net/amr_search.php?...=0&action=Find. But if you use DefIcons you will not need it.

MultiCX is a real killer, much better than Yak. The only problem of MultiCX is that, er, its shareware and keeps popping a requester from time to time. At least for me, that did use a pirate key...

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 08 March 2012 at 12:57.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 13:41   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
@Akira
Try using MagicMenu with DOPUS 4, it'll lock up eventually!
Also MultiCX was giving me some niche problem, can't remember what it was. That's why I wanna try YAK.

@Leandro Jardim
Thanks, I didn't search Aminet even if that's what I normally do first
I have stored MultiCX registered, want it? I think it's just a keyfile.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 14:01   #8
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Try using MagicMenu with DOPUS 4, it'll lock up eventually!
With the ClickForMenu commodity you doesnt need to hold the right mouse button to the intuition menus stay open.

Its a simpler alternative to MagicMenu, maybe it doesnt lock up your Amiga: http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/ClickForMenu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Thanks, I didn't search Aminet even if that's what I normally do first
No problem. I dont get angry with this, sometimes to ask is safer than grab anything that we find on the web.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
I have stored MultiCX registered, want it? I think it's just a keyfile.
Wow, yes I would like to have it!

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 08 March 2012 at 14:54.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 14:56   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
MultiCX is a real killer, much better than Yak. The only problem of MultiCX is that, er, its shareware and keeps popping a requester from time to time. At least for me, that did use a pirate key...

That's really weird, I never seen a MultiCX requester and I downloaded it from the Aminet. I have no key. Did you download that version?
http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/mcx256
It mentions no key required...

MultiCX is from 2004 and Yak from 2996, this is why I want to use MultiCX better.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 15:01   #10
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
That's really weird, I never seen a MultiCX requester and I downloaded it from the Aminet. I have no key. Did you download that version?
http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/mcx256
It mentions no key required...

MultiCX is from 2004 and Yak from 2996, this is why I want to use MultiCX better.
Thats cool, see what the Aminet readme says:

"Present on Amiga Format CD #6 (Nov 1996) this particular version has WBGauge enabled amongst other things. The latter versions required registration for WBGauge, however the earlier version was released into the public domain with this feature enabled."

So it was bundled on Amiga Format CD #6, and should be freeware!

Great news for me, thanks Akira, I will see it!

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 08 March 2012 at 15:11.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 15:28   #11
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Thanks for ClickForMenu hint, I'll try that instead.

Akira, the MultiCX link you gave is an older version (24.7.96) than this http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/MCX280 (MultiCX 2.80 (1.1.98))

I remember it requiring a keyfile, must check that.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 15:35   #12
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
DepthMenu is nice when you have multiple windows/screens open, you can easily select the one you want to access with right mouse-click on the right-gadget of window/screen.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 16:29   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Akira, the MultiCX link you gave is an older version (24.7.96) than this http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/MCX280 (MultiCX 2.80 (1.1.98))
Yes, but as I said, it does not require any keyfile and works well.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 21:05   #14
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,928
Mcp 1.48 (06.01.10)
daxb is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 00:18   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I used to have MCP but it is a well known source of dirty hacks and problems, this is why I switched t MultiCX. I don't even notice it's there, and this is always a good thing
Akira is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 07:11   #16
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
The latest MultiCX 2.80 doesn't require any keyfile, so it's "registered" by default . As Akira said, MCX over MCP is recommended.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 08:33   #17
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,731
Here's my list of what's running on my OS3.9+BB4 machine.

Firstly, components installed by the OS:

AmiDock
ASyncWB
BenchTrash
DefIcons
RAWBInfo
THE

Other programs:

AlPatch
ClickToFront
CycleToMenu
GhostBuster
ReqAttack
StormScreenManager

Things I don't normally run in WBStartup, but will occasionally:

AmiLogo
CyberLemmings
FKey
MagicMenu
MagicPointer
MultiCX
StarBlank
TSIcon
Virus_CheckerII
WBVerlauf

I'm happy to explain the purpose of any of these to those who are curious.
Minuous is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 11:18   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
A bunch of those are not Commodities.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 16:13   #19
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
OK, I did some testing and found out that to have MultiCX (MCX) registered you need to add a tooltype "I_AM_REGISTERED=42" to the proggy's icon info.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 09 March 2012, 18:02   #20
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I've now installed MCX 2.80 again and configured it thoroughly and it works great! I also tested MagicMenu 2.30 and no locks up yet as hard as I tried . I was using MagicMenu 2.35 before that I remember had these lockups.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed Deneb and now nothing. RMK support.Hardware 8 03 February 2011 02:12
What Enviroment is installed here? D4Ni3L3 support.Apps 7 03 November 2008 19:38
Various HD-installed Games Echo support.WinUAE 2 20 July 2003 14:15
Installed OS 3.9 but.....!!! dmrvf support.Hardware 8 11 June 2003 16:04
Installed games. Fred the Fop request.Old Rare Games 8 05 November 2001 22:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08913 seconds with 13 queries