English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2019, 20:10   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,854
USSLoad real hardware *.uss state save file loader v2.0

Another not-totally-UAE project from me:

UAE state save file (*.uss) loader designed for real hardware.

Available from aminet. http://aminet.net/util/misc/ussload.lha

It can load following state files:

- Common OCS/ECS 68000 A500 configurations. Chip RAM, "Slow" RAM and Fast RAM supported.
- Basic A1200 68020 configuration. "Slow" RAM and Fast RAM is also supported.

More information in included readme.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 May 2019, 14:10   #2
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
This is super interesting - so the idea is that one save a state in WinUAE, and then revive the session not just in UAE, but also on real equivalent hardware? Is it also possible to make state dump on real hardware? Is "suspend" now possible?
kolla is offline  
Old 14 May 2019, 18:53   #3
juen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kraków / Poland
Posts: 120
wow! just wow!
juen is offline  
Old 14 May 2019, 19:37   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
This is super interesting - so the idea is that one save a state in WinUAE, and then revive the session not just in UAE, but also on real equivalent hardware? Is it also possible to make state dump on real hardware? Is "suspend" now possible?
Possible but it isn't that simple: many important custom registers are write-only.

Contents are impossible to read without extra hardware that at least snoops CPU writes to custom registers (Action Replay does this). This still leaves copper writes undetected (which was used to confuse Action Replay by some tricky programs), it can be also snooped but required signals are only available inside the machine, edge connector does not have them. CIAs also have some write-only registers.

Even with extra hardware it isn't that useful because you can't access hard disks (unless you implement HD driver, filesystem handler and everything in your freezer code..). Floppy disks are slow and have limited space. Compression is also relatively slow.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 May 2019, 20:43   #5
juen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kraków / Poland
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Possible but it isn't that simple: many important custom registers are write-only.

Contents are impossible to read without extra hardware that at least snoops CPU writes to custom registers (Action Replay does this). This still leaves copper writes undetected (which was used to confuse Action Replay by some tricky programs), it can be also snooped but required signals are only available inside the machine, edge connector does not have them. CIAs also have some write-only registers.

Even with extra hardware it isn't that useful because you can't access hard disks (unless you implement HD driver, filesystem handler and everything in your freezer code..). Floppy disks are slow and have limited space. Compression is also relatively slow.

but maybe it is possible to make save file on real Amiga and load it with UAE?
juen is offline  
Old 14 May 2019, 20:49   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,854
It makes no difference. If you can't read important registers, you can't restore it, UAE or not.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 08:48   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,854
v2.0 released.

New features:

- MMU based memory and Map ROM support (68030, 68040 and 68060)
- GVP MapROM support added. GVP A530 and most A2000 and A3000 GVP boards.
- Blizzard 1230 MKI/II/III/IV, 1240, 1260 MapROM support added.
- ACA1233n MapROM support added, in both 68030 and 68EC020 modes.
- ACA123x 128M model MapROM support fixed.
- Switch off all floppy drive motors before memory decompression.
- Fixed crash if 68020 or 68030 state file was loaded and CPU was
68040 or 68060.
- Fixed uncompressed state file support.
- Attempt to load rom image files from current directory if rom
image file is not found from DEVS:Kickstarts.
- 68040 and 68060 state files supported (MMU registers are not restored)
- FPU state file support added.
- Pause mode. Restores state, enables display, waits for mouse button.
- Nofloppy option, do not initialize or seek floppy drives.
- HRTMon support. If HRTMon is installed, NMI vector is automatically
set to HRTMon entry point.
- Compatibility improved.

EDIT: MMU based memory mapping means if statefile requires RAM type that your system does not have (or is smaller), for example "slow ram", MMU is automatically used to create missing memory space virtually. Obviously this does not work very well if reason is lack of chip ram.


Moderators: please update title

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 06 June 2019 at 08:58.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 09:26   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Moderators: please update title
Done Toni
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 19:18   #9
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 193
Hi Toni and thanks for this nice program, i wanted to test it and it gave me an issue, i know it's a beta version but if you have a advice i will be glad , i have tested on reeshoot-r game, saving on winuae with basic configuration 68020 and after i have tried with 68030 winuae configuration cause my CD32 have TF330 extension but i have this error message :

i saw on youtube someone tested with pinball Fantasies AGA working, may be some games have memory restriction.......
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 19:24   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,854
Your config has UAE boot ROM enabled. Your UAE config wasn't basic enough (for example UAE harddrive was enabled or some other UAE expansion)

btw, I am not sure if restore works in CD32 hardware because Akiko interrupts can stay active. Should be relative easy fix.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 20:02   #11
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Your config has UAE boot ROM enabled. Your UAE config wasn't basic enough (for example UAE harddrive was enabled or some other UAE expansion)

btw, I am not sure if restore works in CD32 hardware because Akiko interrupts can stay active. Should be relative easy fix.
thanks for reply, i will do other settings, without hdf file....
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 14 July 2019, 20:08   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,854
Harddrives are not supported and it is practically impossible to support them without stability problems and major danger of random data loss.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 22:12   #13
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 193
i have done another test with banshee adf files on winuae and tried on CD32 classic "scalos" workbench and same error, do you think i could tried with my other classic workbench who have less residents programs (here i have AsimCDFS 3 on boot).
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 22:23   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,298
I'll quote what Toni has already told you thairacerjp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Harddrives are not supported and it is practically impossible to support them without stability problems and major danger of random data loss.
Even with WinUAE; you can use save states for floppy disk games but if running from hard drive there are too many things that may change making the save state corrupt...
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 22:28   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,854
Yeah, currently it is only meant to be used with non-expanded configs. Only RAM expansions are supported.

In theory it could "support" harddrives by ignoring UAE HD but it would only mean it would hang or crash when loaded program next attempts to access HD.

Or in worst case corrupt the HD if both original UAE config and config which runs ussload has same hardware HD controller. Obviously I won't allow this to happen, even accidentally.

Only UAE HD would be "safe" because it can't exist in real world
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real hardware UAE state file loader Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 37 04 June 2019 20:08
Game loader stuck on certain track after save state restore andreas support.WinUAE 2 26 March 2011 19:59
Hardware File Loader h0ffman Coders. General 9 02 December 2010 16:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11336 seconds with 16 queries