English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2017, 22:46   #1
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
Pushing the A3660 to the next step

OK. I am currently working on moving the 3660 to eagle.
(and in 2 weeks.. I will be on a businesstrip for a week. soo...... you know what happened once..)

I will do a complete retrace of the board, this to first of all is a good way for me to learn how to use this software..

and maybe do stuff different. BUT! I have a plan.. lets do this as a more like "prototype" so I plan to trace alot of signals (clocks, adresslines, datalines etc) to a connector at the end of the board.. so by doing that prototyping for memory etc is more easy. as you only need to do some 2layer boards and push it there.. this would ofcourse not be recomended for daily use. but testing.
but it would still work as a normal 3660 with nothing connected there..

I was thinking of something simple.. like the 2.5" ide connector on the 1200 etc (but more pins..) that doesn't even needs to be soldered in there.


ideas?
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:13   #2
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Maybe an edge connector compatible with the A1200 (maybe in PCI form?)
plasmab is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:22   #3
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
well.. that would be an idea.. but I was thinking of taking datapins directly from the cpu etc. before any "gal magic" is done.. wouldn't a edge connector compatible with the 1200 mean that this wouldbe done after the "gal magic"?
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:26   #4
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
well.. that would be an idea.. but I was thinking of taking datapins directly from the cpu etc. before any "gal magic" is done.. wouldn't a edge connector compatible with the 1200 mean that this wouldbe done after the "gal magic"?
Hmmm.. I prefer to tap from the CPU socket and design a breakout for whatever CPU being used.
plasmab is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:27   #5
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
so basically doing such a thing is just waste of time? better to do a small cpusocket breakoutboard with the memory.. and then implement it on the board?
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:37   #6
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
The cpu socket adapter can be removed after and is reusable. I’ll make one up for you if you like.
plasmab is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:40   #7
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
yeah but basically not adding that stuff on the PCB as you can steal it from the "cpu" instead...

But I found out that there are alot of signals to the cpu-slot on the amiga that the 3640 doesn't use.. like "RAMSLOT" etc.. so maybe a small header for those signals so IF you need one, there is a easy place to steal that signal while doing prototypestuff.
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:42   #8
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Anything that isn’t used should be prioritised and wired up to any spare pins on the CPLD .. and remaining spare cpld pins wire to a header. Gives you lots of options
plasmab is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 23:51   #9
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
well this first "attempt" will not have any CLPDs changed etc. just to a pinheader..
then I will do a small prototype test so it runs so I know I have made a sucessful move to eagle.
then remove all 74x with some CLPD etc.. guess it is time for me to learn how to do that stuff aswell.. but first move this crap to eagle so we have some more decent way of editing it (as moving to 060 was a BIG pain to do in sprint)
Chucky is offline  
Old 19 November 2017, 19:14   #10
Codetsu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: next to Mordor
Posts: 137
i love you Chucky & plasmab !
Codetsu is offline  
Old 19 November 2017, 19:52   #11
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
Well. so it all begins I guess?

https://github.com/ChuckyGang/A3660


Remember this is the absolutley first encounter for me with Eagle..

(YUP! so far a library with stuff and more or less a empty PCB with right dimensions)

Last edited by Chucky; 19 November 2017 at 19:57.
Chucky is offline  
Old 20 November 2017, 10:45   #12
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Well. so it all begins I guess?

https://github.com/ChuckyGang/A3660


Remember this is the absolutley first encounter for me with Eagle..

(YUP! so far a library with stuff and more or less a empty PCB with right dimensions)
Repository starred

If you want some sort of connector on the main pcb, you could create a pci-card edge connector which doesn't cost anything (except for pcb routing effort).
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 20 November 2017, 14:45   #13
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
Well I think I have more or less decided of going that way that you can do a breakoutboard for the cpusocket. and just add a pinheader for signals on the edge.. as it is only for dev anyway. maybe rev 2 can have some kind of expansionport. but that is for later..

well I am soon finished with cpu part of schematics in eagle. (with 74f1803 etc) will do a complete retrace.. so I wil put all addresssignal resistors at the bottomside of the card but in one spot close to the cpu. same with databits. and not scattered around the board as the 3640 have.
Chucky is offline  
Old 20 November 2017, 23:09   #14
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Well I think I have more or less decided of going that way that you can do a breakoutboard for the cpusocket. and just add a pinheader for signals on the edge.. as it is only for dev anyway. maybe rev 2 can have some kind of expansionport. but that is for later..

well I am soon finished with cpu part of schematics in eagle. (with 74f1803 etc) will do a complete retrace.. so I wil put all addresssignal resistors at the bottomside of the card but in one spot close to the cpu. same with databits. and not scattered around the board as the 3640 have.
Awesome.
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 November 2017, 11:48   #15
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
now the complete A3640 is implemented in the schemartics.. Will do the 060 stuff tonight I guess. and then one week of businesstrip.. lets do stuff..
Chucky is offline  
Old 27 November 2017, 22:44   #16
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 525
First day at hotel. finished the 3660 schematics and aprox located all components on theboard.. guess tomorrow I will start routing this..
Chucky is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Step-by-step CD32 lens replacement (with pics) Akira support.Hardware 64 26 October 2018 20:52
AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition A1200 / Blizzard PPC Installation Step-by-Step Guide headkase support.WinUAE 22 15 November 2017 06:03
Looking for a step-by-step guide to install BPPC on A1200 in WinUAE headkase support.WinUAE 1 29 June 2016 00:59
LCD Monitor mod (hardware pr0n, step by step) Shoonay Hardware pics 11 16 November 2015 21:13
Step by Step guide for installing WHDLoad and games for complete newbies? daro2096 support.Games 9 11 March 2013 21:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08177 seconds with 13 queries