English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2019, 11:02   #1201
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Love the System Monitor display! Now how to hook it up for 12V...

You can move the voltage divider on the 12V line. No change required on the resistors values.

Now if you want to monitor the +5V and +12V in the same time, this is for sure technically possible, but you will be to be good with a solder iron since there is no more free ADC inputs easily accessible. You can get some from ADC pins on the port A, but there are not connected/used on the Gotek pcb.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 21 June 2019, 10:34   #1202
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
20 June 2019 : Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.3.1.1a ( -> In the "WIP_Firmware" Folder and https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/)

New major feature ! : On screen display support (OSD overlay)

The HxC firmware for Gotek now support the On Screen Display !
You can now select images and see the drive status on the machine's screen without any additional software or LCD/OLED !
No need to make holes in the machine case anymore .



You only need 2 wires and a resistor to connect the Gotek to the machine's video signals :
One wire is used for the CSYNC video signal (Composite Sync), the other wire for the red, green (prefered) or blue signal.

One resistor must be put in serie on the color signal between the Gotek and the machine.
You can use a value between 220 and 470 ohms for this resistor. A potentiometer can be also used to tune the OSD brightness/contrast.

This was currently tested on Amiga 500, Atari STE and Amstrad CPC 6128 machines, but should work with any machines having a composite sync signal.

HxC Firmware for Gotek OSD wiring

:arrow: Gotek wiring :



(High resolution : https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...ek_OSD_Mod.jpg)

:arrow: Amiga 500 :

OSD Video out : Gotek U8 Pin 5 (PB15) -> 220 / 470 ohms resistor (or a 1k ohms potentiometer) -> Amiga 500 Ferrite bead E432 (see picture).
OSD Video CSYNC in : Amiga 500 U41 Pin 8 -> Gotek "JTCK-SWCLK" pin (PA14) (near the serial tx programming pin, please see picture).



(High resolution : https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...00_OSD_Mod.jpg)

:arrow: Amstrad CPC6128 :

OSD Video out : Gotek U8 Pin 5 (PB15) -> 220 / 470 ohms resistor (or a 1k ohms potentiometer) -> CPC6128 R128 (see picture).
OSD Video CSYNC in : CPC6128 IC116 Pin 5 -> Gotek "JTCK-SWCLK" pin (PA14) (near the serial tx programming pin, please see picture).



(High resolution : https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...28_OSD_Mod.jpg)

:arrow: Atari STE :

OSD Video out : Gotek U8 Pin 5 (PB15) -> 220 / 470 ohms resistor (or a 1k ohms potentiometer) -> Atari STE R420 (see picture).
OSD Video CSYNC in : Atari STE R475 -> Gotek "JTCK-SWCLK" pin (PA14) (near the serial tx programming pin, please see picture).



(High resolution : https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...TE_OSD_Mod.jpg)
HXCFEUSB_HFE_beta_firmware.zip

USB_HFE_hxc_floppy_emulator_firmware_release_notes.txt
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 21 June 2019, 14:31   #1203
oissery77
Registered User
oissery77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: france
Posts: 122
Great improvement and new feature Jeff !
Is the overlay displayed when the gotek is busy or is it always displayed on screen?
oissery77 is offline  
Old 21 June 2019, 16:21   #1204
RascalUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Salford
Posts: 23
This is really cool. Will crack open the Amstrad and ST when I get back from work.
RascalUK is offline  
Old 21 June 2019, 16:28   #1205
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,856
If today was April 1st, I would have thought this was a joke.

But today is June 21st and this is a brilliantly simple solution for a much needed feature when using Goteks internally.

Thank you Jeff for your continuous updates.
demolition is offline  
Old 21 June 2019, 20:04   #1206
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 864
Guide for a Amiga 1200 to get this working with it.
utri007 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 16:57   #1207
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by oissery77 View Post
Great improvement and new feature Jeff !
Is the overlay displayed when the gotek is busy or is it always displayed on screen?

Since i got this question quite often, i have just added this in the documentation :

<<Note : If the standby/hide delay is too long or too short for you, you can change the screen standby timeout value in the embedded menu "screen standby" setting.>>

Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 16:59   #1208
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Guide for a Amiga 1200 to get this working with it.

I have no A1200 but i will try it on my A600 and check the A1200 schematic to tell where to connect the probes/wires.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 22 June 2019, 17:00   #1209
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
22 June 2019 : Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.3.1.2a ( -> In the "WIP_Firmware" Folder and https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/)

- Fix multi-screens support (OSD + 7 segments screens).
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...a_firmware.zip

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...ease_notes.txt
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 23 June 2019, 01:17   #1210
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
And the OSD feature video demo :


[ Show youtube player ]

Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 14:42   #1211
RascalUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Salford
Posts: 23
Watch soldering to the U8 pad. It virtually fell off mine when I applied hardly any heat. The traces on mine are ridiculously delicate. Still trying to fix the mess it made, and I know (mainly) what I'm doing.
RascalUK is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 11:41   #1212
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by RascalUK View Post
Watch soldering to the U8 pad. It virtually fell off mine when I applied hardly any heat. The traces on mine are ridiculously delicate. Still trying to fix the mess it made, and I know (mainly) what I'm doing.

Yes these pads are somewhat fragile. don't use a solder iron too hot.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 11:45   #1213
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
28 June 2019 : Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.3.2.1a ( -> In the "WIP_Firmware" Folder and https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/)

- "Normal mode" / Direct disk browsing : Files entries are now alphabetically ordered.
Folders appears first then the files images.

- "Load Last selected image" : Fix reload issue with some long file names.
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...a_firmware.zip

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...ease_notes.txt
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 12:40   #1214
RascalUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Salford
Posts: 23
I'm still trying to get it working. It's weird. First time I booted it I got output to my Amstrad monitor. Once, the first time. I saw text, it disappeared and never returned!Then nothing. I've rewired it several times and now, if I turn it on i get some line at the top where I'd expect the text to be then it vanishes.

Then turning it on/off again and nothing. If I leave it 15 mins or so and turn it on I get the lines again. It's weird, and I've obviously buggered it up somewhere.
RascalUK is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 14:02   #1215
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
The OSD is turned off automatically after ~10 seconds. To turn it on again, just press one gotek button (or insert/remove the usb stick).

Where have you connected the wires on the cpc ? Have you add the serial resistor on the video wire ? Which value ?

(If possible please post a picture of the screen showing the "lines").
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 15:16   #1216
RascalUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Salford
Posts: 23
Cheers Jeff, will take a pic when I get home from work. The resistor was a 330 from memory but I swapped it out to try a different one.

One wire is to pin 5 on the IC and other to the resistor on the PCB (from memory 238?) Will double check. Liek I say it def worked once which means my wiring/gotek is the prob. Like I say, I lifted that 'pad' in the first instance so my jumper wire to the cpc is soldered onto a scratched trace which won't have helped!
RascalUK is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 15:24   #1217
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,767
I have made up some little boards for the a500/a600 (i will do the a1200 tomorrow) to make it easier for people to connect this to their motherboards, will take a couple of weeks to receive them and will pass them on to AOTL to resell them. It will help those that have problems soldering or having to use the spring clips.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 June 2019, 15:46   #1218
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by RascalUK View Post
Cheers Jeff, will take a pic when I get home from work. The resistor was a 330 from memory but I swapped it out to try a different one.

One wire is to pin 5 on the IC and other to the resistor on the PCB (from memory 238?) Will double check. Liek I say it def worked once which means my wiring/gotek is the prob. Like I say, I lifted that 'pad' in the first instance so my jumper wire to the cpc is soldered onto a scratched trace which won't have helped!

Ok ! Another important point : I am not sure how you are testing the OSD support but take care about the ground : A bad ground between the machine and the emulator may cause OSD issues -> I recommend you to connect the floppy ribbon to the emulator and use the machine psu.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 29 June 2019, 01:49   #1219
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 565
Very smart feature!
patrik is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 18:09   #1220
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,767
Hi All,

I'm not trying to hijack the thread but i believe this is relevant to this thread...

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=360
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Floppy emulators and Amiga computers now working together! :) H.M News 684 07 October 2018 22:53
Show us your drive emulator mods (Gotek/HxC/etc) ADz Hardware mods 103 03 May 2018 17:11
Gotek Extension Board - Prototype ready and working perfectly, pics & video Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 November 2014 11:05
Gotek floppy emulator not working Cooljerk support.Hardware 10 16 October 2014 08:27
HxC Floppy Emulator for CDTV, cannot get DF0 and DF1 working CDTV1991 support.Hardware 0 05 October 2011 14:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12065 seconds with 16 queries