English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2019, 19:03   #341
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
I haven't any secret weapon

Set DisSigBounce=1 in envarc:sonne

Yes, this parameter from sonnet library version 17.11 (ppc.library) give about 1-2 FPS in BlitzQuake, in Q3 is just little, or nothing.

SetCMemDiv=2

But i don't seen different in Quake3.

Other parameters in Sonnet:
DisL2Flush=1
EnEDOMem=1
EnStackPatch=1

About Warp3D, I have simple version from Elbox, I have parameters Dither=1, and DitherAlgo= 4x4, but this is for bether look, not for speed up.

I have little different configuration Picasso96. In 68k system it give me better performance, but in PPC I'm not sure.

About config Q3. I made many tests, If you want I will send config file to you.

And I made mistake, because I have 26.7 FPS in demo four from Q3

And 55.7 FPS in Quake 1 (BlitzQuake - glquakeWOS_vbcc5_6 from Cowcat) in demo1 (trick with change resolutions in clear system + DisSigBounce=1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jack-3d View Post
Vertex makes it 34 fps, but its more ugly then Quake1. No marks on walls of course, they are anyway bad looking.

I think Buli knows how to make Warp3D faster. I think its about Voodoo and Warp3D settings. Am I right? Will you share with us your tricks?

My settings are pretty much default, just added sound and removed marks on walls, demo four = 20 fps on Ragnarok 800. As I mentioned overclocking to 950 MHz made no speed increase. Only overclocking that caused Q3 speed increase was when I gave 180 MHz to my Voodoo3, then it went from 20 to 22. But still, no 24, nor 29 like you guys.
BULI is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 20:48   #342
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,254
Are you sure DitherAlgo= is supported by Voodoo 3 (Avenger)? I thought Dither was the only variable for Voodoo 3?
trixster is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 21:22   #343
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
I'm sure, that demoscene production SULACO use this parameter (look to space behind SULACO ship).


Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Are you sure DitherAlgo= is supported by Voodoo 3 (Avenger)? I thought Dither was the only variable for Voodoo 3?
BULI is offline  
Old 13 February 2019, 23:36   #344
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,254
Interesting! I will try it

You have tried picmip 0 in Quake3? I cannot get it to stop plummeting to 1 fps in big areas. So far have tried increasing vertexbuffer and hunkmegs.
trixster is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 04:11   #345
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 116
r_picmip downsizes the textures in use. Make sure your 3D accelerator has enough memory when setting it to 0 (i.e. max. Texture size)
pipper is offline  
Old 14 February 2019, 17:58   #346
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Interesting! I will try it

You have tried picmip 0 in Quake3? I cannot get it to stop plummeting to 1 fps in big areas. So far have tried increasing vertexbuffer and hunkmegs.

I have picmip set to 1, and I didn't try set 0.
This is my Q3 config (more setting about memory is set to low for Sonnet):


// generated by quake, do not modify
unbindall
bind 0x00 "weapprev"
bind TAB "+scores"
bind ENTER "+zoom"
bind ESCAPE "togglemenu"
bind SPACE "+moveup"
bind + "sizeup"
bind - "sizedown"
bind 0 "weapon 10"
bind 1 "weapon 1"
bind 2 "weapon 2"
bind 3 "weapon 3"
bind 4 "weapon 4"
bind 5 "weapon 5"
bind 6 "weapon 6"
bind 7 "weapon 7"
bind 8 "weapon 8"
bind 9 "weapon 9"
bind = "sizeup"
bind \ "+mlook"
bind _ "sizedown"
bind ` "toggleconsole"
bind a "+moveleft"
bind c "+movedown"
bind d "+moveright"
bind s "+back"
bind t "messagemode"
bind w "+forward"
bind ~ "toggleconsole"
bind PAUSE "pause"
bind UPARROW "+forward"
bind DOWNARROW "+back"
bind LEFTARROW "+left"
bind RIGHTARROW "+right"
bind ALT "+strafe"
bind CTRL "+attack"
bind SHIFT "+speed"
bind DEL "+lookdown"
bind PGDN "+lookup"
bind END "centerview"
bind F1 "vote yes"
bind F2 "vote no"
bind F3 "ui_teamorders"
bind F11 "screenshot"
bind MOUSE1 "+attack"
bind MOUSE2 "weapnext"
bind MOUSE3 "+button2"
seta r_flaresDlight "0"
seta sys_nostdout "1"
seta cg_trueLightning "0.0"
seta cg_oldPlasma "1"
seta cg_oldRocket "1"
seta cg_oldRail "1"
seta ui_bigFont "0.4"
seta ui_smallFont "0.25"
seta cg_noProjectileTrail "0"
seta cg_noTaunt "0"
seta cg_smoothClients "0"
seta cg_scorePlums "1"
seta cg_cameraOrbitDelay "50"
seta cg_noVoiceText "0"
seta cg_noVoiceChats "0"
seta cg_teamChatsOnly "0"
seta cg_drawFriend "1"
seta cg_drawTeamOverlay "0"
seta cg_deferPlayers "1"
seta cg_forceModel "0"
seta cg_teamChatHeight "0"
seta cg_teamChatTime "3000"
seta cg_bobroll "0.002"
seta cg_bobpitch "0.002"
seta cg_runroll "0.005"
seta cg_runpitch "0.002"
seta cg_railTrailTime "400"
seta cg_lagometer "0"
seta cg_simpleItems "0"
seta cg_crosshairY "0"
seta cg_crosshairX "0"
seta cg_crosshairHealth "1"
seta cg_crosshairSize "24"
seta cg_drawRewards "1"
seta cg_drawAttacker "1"
seta cg_drawAmmoWarning "1"
seta cg_drawIcons "1"
seta cg_draw3dIcons "1"
seta cg_drawSnapshot "0"
seta cg_drawFPS "0"
seta cg_drawTimer "0"
seta cg_drawStatus "1"
seta cg_draw2D "1"
seta cg_gibs "1"
seta cg_fov "90"
seta cg_zoomfov "22.5"
seta cg_drawGun "1"
seta g_allowVote "1"
seta g_filterBan "1"
seta g_banIPs ""
seta g_logSync "0"
seta g_log "ram:games.log"
seta g_warmup "20"
seta g_teamForceBalance "0"
seta g_teamAutoJoin "0"
seta g_friendlyFire "0"
seta capturelimit "0"
seta g_maxGameClients "0"
seta cm_playerCurveClip "1"
seta cg_shadows "0"
seta cg_stereoSeparation "0"
seta sv_maxclients "8"
seta timelimit "0"
seta fraglimit "20"
seta dmflags "0"
seta com_hunkMegs "54"
seta com_altivec "0"
seta com_maxfps "100"
seta com_blood "1"
seta logfile "0"
seta com_ansiColor "0"
seta com_maxfpsUnfocused "0"
seta com_maxfpsMinimized "0"
seta com_introplayed "1"
seta in_mouse "1"
seta in_joystick "0"
seta joy_threshold "0.150000"
seta vm_cgame "2"
seta vm_game "2"
seta vm_ui "2"
seta vm_all "2"
seta sv_hostname "noname"
seta sv_minRate "0"
seta sv_maxRate "0"
seta sv_minPing "0"
seta sv_maxPing "0"
seta sv_floodProtect "1"
seta sv_dlURL ""
seta sv_master2 ""
seta sv_master3 ""
seta sv_master4 ""
seta sv_master5 ""
seta sv_lanForceRate "1"
seta sv_strictAuth "1"
seta cl_timedemoLog ""
seta cl_autoRecordDemo "0"
seta cl_aviFrameRate "25"
seta cl_aviMotionJpeg "1"
seta cl_yawspeed "140"
seta cl_pitchspeed "140"
seta cl_maxpackets "30"
seta cl_packetdup "1"
seta cl_run "1"
seta sensitivity "10.400001"
seta cl_mouseAccel "0"
seta cl_freelook "1"
seta cl_allowDownload "0"
seta r_inGameVideo "0"
seta cg_autoswitch "1"
seta m_pitch "0.022000"
seta m_yaw "0.022"
seta m_forward "0.25"
seta m_side "0.25"
seta m_filter "1"
seta cl_maxPing "800"
seta cl_lanForcePackets "1"
seta cl_guidServerUniq "1"
seta cl_consoleKeys "~ ` 0x7e 0x60"
seta name "BULI"
seta rate "3000"
seta snaps "20"
seta model "doom/default"
seta headmodel "doom/default"
seta team_model "doom/default"
seta team_headmodel "doom/default"
seta g_redTeam ""
seta g_blueTeam ""
seta color1 "4"
seta color2 "5"
seta handicap "95"
seta sex "male"
seta cl_anonymous "0"
seta cg_predictItems "1"
seta cg_viewsize "100"
seta r_allowExtensions "1"
seta r_ext_compressed_textures "0"
seta r_ext_multitexture "1"
seta r_ext_compiled_vertex_array "0"
seta r_ext_texture_env_add "0"
seta r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "1"
seta r_ext_max_anisotropy "2"
seta r_picmip "1"
seta r_roundImagesDown "1"
seta r_detailtextures "0"
seta r_texturebits "0"
seta r_colorbits "0"
seta r_stencilbits "0"
seta r_depthbits "0"
seta r_overBrightBits "1"
seta r_ignorehwgamma "0"
seta r_mode "3"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_customwidth "640"
seta r_customheight "480"
seta r_customPixelAspect "1"
seta r_simpleMipMaps "1"
seta r_vertexLight "0"
seta r_subdivisions "20"
seta r_smp "0"
seta r_stereoEnabled "0"
seta r_ignoreFastPath "1"
seta r_greyscale "0"
seta r_lodCurveError "250"
seta r_lodbias "1"
seta r_flares "0"
seta r_zproj "64"
seta r_stereoSeparation "64"
seta r_ignoreGLErrors "1"
seta r_fastsky "0"
seta r_drawSun "0"
seta r_dynamiclight "1"
seta r_dlightBacks "1"
seta r_finish "0"
seta r_textureMode "GL_LINEAR"
seta r_swapInterval "0"
seta r_gamma "1"
seta r_facePlaneCull "1"
seta r_railWidth "16"
seta r_railCoreWidth "6"
seta r_railSegmentLength "32"
seta r_primitives "0"
seta r_anaglyphMode "0"
seta r_vertexbuffersize "2048"
seta r_glbuffers "3"
seta r_guardband "1"
seta r_closeworkbench "1"
seta s_volume "0.850000"
seta s_musicvolume "0"
seta s_doppler "0"
seta s_muteWhenMinimized "0"
seta ui_ffa_fraglimit "20"
seta ui_ffa_timelimit "0"
seta ui_tourney_fraglimit "0"
seta ui_tourney_timelimit "15"
seta ui_team_fraglimit "0"
seta ui_team_timelimit "20"
seta ui_team_friendly "1"
seta ui_ctf_capturelimit "8"
seta ui_ctf_timelimit "30"
seta ui_ctf_friendly "0"
seta g_spScores1 ""
seta g_spScores2 "\l1\2\l24\1"
seta g_spScores3 ""
seta g_spScores4 ""
seta g_spScores5 ""
seta g_spAwards "\a4\15"
seta g_spVideos "\tier1\1"
seta g_spSkill "2"
seta ui_browserMaster "0"
seta ui_browserGameType "0"
seta ui_browserSortKey "4"
seta ui_browserShowFull "1"
seta ui_browserShowEmpty "1"
seta cg_brassTime "0"
seta cg_drawCrosshair "9"
seta cg_drawCrosshairNames "1"
seta cg_marks "0"
seta server1 ""
seta server2 ""
seta server3 ""
seta server4 ""
seta server5 ""
seta server6 ""
seta server7 ""
seta server8 ""
seta server9 ""
seta server10 ""
seta server11 ""
seta server12 ""
seta server13 ""
seta server14 ""
seta server15 ""
seta server16 ""
seta net_enabled "0"
seta net_socksEnabled "0"
seta net_socksServer ""
seta net_socksPort "1080"
seta net_socksUsername ""
seta net_socksPassword ""
seta s_khz "11"
seta s_mixahead "0.2"
seta s_mixPreStep "0.05"
seta sndspeed "11025"
seta sndchannels "1"
seta s_loadas8bit "1"
seta com_soundMegs "2"
seta s_initsound "1"
seta sndbits "8"
seta r_perpective_fast "0"
seta r_w_one_fast "0"
seta com_busyWait "0"
seta sv_dlRate "100"
seta r_perspective_fast "1"
seta developer "0"
seta com_zoneMegs "1"
BULI is offline  
Old 15 February 2019, 04:23   #347
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 116
You disabled Mipmapped texture mapping.
Try
r_textureMode GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST
pipper is offline  
Old 15 February 2019, 10:50   #348
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 195
@cowcat

You can also use WaZp3D to profile your quake port as it can shows what Warp3D functions are called
Wazp3D-Prefs:
Enable Debugger [x]
Debug Function [x]
Debug Var [x]
Debug Value [x]


Often games or apps redo all the time the same (not needed) calls to set the same parameters

It can be
setting the array pointers several time to the same value
setting the states several time to the same value
setting the multi textures blend stages several time to the same value (Warp3D for os4)
etc...
thellier is offline  
Old 15 February 2019, 13:08   #349
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 519
@thellier

Regardless of an hypothetical Wazp3D warpos, maybe you know/seen this scenario:

When game is re-started ( by whatever means without closing the game ), rendering half-stops: Cursor gives a trail, background disappears, Quake3 animated letters looks like they are rendered over and over again (not cleared) etc, etc.

Switching to simple glColor, glTexCoord2f, glVertex3 all is good: Going back to vertex arrays, the bug stills there.

Re-starting the renderer when playing is almost the same: Half stuff is wrecked.

If I switch off textures for the vertex array functions on minigl, of course game acts like nothing is working (blitting grey-black) or like a null primitive call, but when calling "the slow primitives" game works again (of course) but the scenario is similar of what I described earlier.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 18 February 2019, 12:52   #350
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
I haven't any secret weapon

Set DisSigBounce=1 in envarc:sonne

Yes, this parameter from sonnet library version 17.11 (ppc.library) give about 1-2 FPS in BlitzQuake, in Q3 is just little, or nothing.

When DisSigBounce is On, WarpDatatypesWOS don't work property.
I must use WarpDatatypes68k.
And with DisSigBounce=1 don't work the best PPC plugin for AmigaAMP- SUBSPACE
BULI is offline  
Old 18 February 2019, 15:27   #351
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
When DisSigBounce is On, WarpDatatypesWOS don't work property.
I must use WarpDatatypes68k.
And with DisSigBounce=1 don't work the best PPC plugin for AmigaAMP- SUBSPACE
It is labeled experimental. It is the only item that really should get an overhaul. And I mean the cross CPU signalling.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 18 February 2019, 18:30   #352
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipper View Post
You disabled Mipmapped texture mapping.
Try
r_textureMode GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST
In Amiga version this not work correct.
r_textureMode GL_LINEAR give me filtering textures.
BULI is offline  
Old 18 February 2019, 19:14   #353
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
Yes, i tried r_picmip 0, and I have less fps.
In demo four i have now only 22.5 FPS, and bigger probblem with memory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Interesting! I will try it

You have tried picmip 0 in Quake3? I cannot get it to stop plummeting to 1 fps in big areas. So far have tried increasing vertexbuffer and hunkmegs.
BULI is offline  
Old 18 February 2019, 21:19   #354
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,254
Does it slow to 1fps in big areas?
trixster is offline  
Old 18 February 2019, 23:32   #355
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Does it slow to 1fps in big areas?
Is slower, but not that bad (1FPS).
In which areas is that problem?
BULI is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 11:18   #356
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 195
@Cowcat
Yes I noted that too
Looks like a Zbuffer problem (only an hypothesis the only way to really know would be to use the Wazp3D debugger to find how all is (really) drawn and how all is (really) cleared on screen & zbuffer)

May happen if a zbuffer function like W3D_Z_EQUAL is used and the value in the zbuffer is not the same as the z value of polygon (due to rounding to a zbuffer with less precision than double or float).
So you should seek how the zbuffer is cleared (or overwritten if never fully cleared) and what ZCompareMode is used
thellier is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 17:19   #357
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 519
@thellier

In a developer's forum for OS4 they describe similar (but not so heavy) zbuffer problems with Q3 and SDL 2.0 : They fixed it by clearing buffers right after the context is created.

Tried to do that but nah....

for zbuffer minigl does this when started:

Code:
result = W3D_AllocZBuffer(context->w3dContext);

switch(result)
{
	case W3D_NOGFXMEM:	printf("No ZBuffer: Memory shortage\n");	    break;
	case W3D_NOZBUFFER:	printf("No ZBuffer: Operation not supported\n");    break;
	case W3D_NOTVISIBLE:	printf("No ZBuffer: Screen is not visible\n");	    break;
}

W3D_SetState(context->w3dContext, W3D_ZBUFFER, W3D_DISABLE);
W3D_SetState(context->w3dContext, W3D_ZBUFFERUPDATE, W3D_ENABLE);
W3D_SetZCompareMode(context->w3dContext, W3D_Z_LESS);
and close zb with:

Code:
if (context->w3dContext)
{
	W3D_FreeZBuffer(context->w3dContext);
	tex_FreeTextures(context);
	W3D_DestroyContext(context->w3dContext);
	context->w3dContext = 0;
}
No other functions related to zbuffer are used there and basically looks the same like 2019 minigl OS4.

No idea of how to check zcompare values before/after creation of context

Other than that, 68k WinUAE users could test debugging with Wazp3D and give some feedback.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 16:35   #358
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 519
Beta8.

Looks like new wos beta has reduced loading times. Also added an experimental event handler for warpos and included a 603 compiled version.

68k beta has a workaround for blending like old vbcc wos for a chance: Also fixed the path for dll's (maybe that didn't work for real 68k machines). Like latest version, dll's are included for better performance with single mode: Just put "0" to all vm_ vars.

Both versions have now window mode with mouse-"left button"-handler.


2 principal rendering modes: r_primitives 1 or 0. Also added a 3rd one (3) that goes to old slow render mode (just for debugging) but restarting the game, rendering happens to work with that one-> time for debugging.
Attached Files
File Type: lha Q3_beta8_wos.lha (1.42 MB, 6 views)
File Type: lha Q3_beta8_68k.lha (966.2 KB, 6 views)
Cowcat is offline  
Old Yesterday, 09:27   #359
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 139
Great- thanx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Beta8.

Looks like new wos beta has reduced loading times. Also added an experimental event handler for warpos and included a 603 compiled version.

68k beta has a workaround for blending like old vbcc wos for a chance: Also fixed the path for dll's (maybe that didn't work for real 68k machines). Like latest version, dll's are included for better performance with single mode: Just put "0" to all vm_ vars.

Both versions have now window mode with mouse-"left button"-handler.


2 principal rendering modes: r_primitives 1 or 0. Also added a 3rd one (3) that goes to old slow render mode (just for debugging) but restarting the game, rendering happens to work with that one-> time for debugging.
BULI is offline  
Old Yesterday, 10:22   #360
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,254
Maps load twice as quickly with this new version. Well done cowcat and the team, it makes a big difference!
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake 2 WorkShop Cowcat Coders. General 165 22 September 2018 01:57
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 22:11
Quake Cosmos support.WinUAE 8 11 February 2007 16:54
Quake 2 DDNI request.Apps 2 06 December 2006 01:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11807 seconds with 16 queries