English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 December 2016, 14:12   #1
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 406
SWOS 96-97 and Kickstart 1.3 problem

SWOS 96-97 should run on KS1.3 with 1MB RAM IIRC, I'm almost 100% certain I ran it on my Amiga 500 with 512KB slow ram.. But when I try the ADFs in FS-UAE with an A500 config I get a weird "type failed returncode 20" error while loading. 95-96 seems to work fine. Any pointers? Have I gone mad, or was this game KS2.0+?
appiah4 is offline  
Old 19 December 2016, 15:14   #2
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 711
I am sure I've used this game on real A500 with Kick 1.3 and 1MB of ram. I can (re)test it later this evening.

However I am able to create working floppies just with my kryoflux using the ipf files while every adf versions I've tested didn't work.
liviux76 is offline  
Old 19 December 2016, 17:16   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,508
The game might have worked fine on A500 (didn't check), but specific cracked/trained/hacked versions could still require KS2.0+ or something else, either due to cracktro requirements or running stuff in Startup-Sequence which is only present with KS2.0+ (such as the type command).

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 19 December 2016 at 17:21.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 December 2016, 17:56   #4
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 379
Just uploaded a zip with adfs that I use with my A500 (kick1.3).
twiggy is offline  
Old 19 December 2016, 19:04   #5
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
Just uploaded a zip with adfs that I use with my A500 (kick1.3).
Excellent!
I'll try it out!
liviux76 is offline  
Old 20 December 2016, 09:45   #6
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
Just uploaded a zip with adfs that I use with my A500 (kick1.3).
You are a hero!
appiah4 is offline  
Old 21 December 2016, 10:38   #7
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by appiah4 View Post
You are a hero!
If only I were a goal scoring super star hero!
twiggy is offline  
Old 21 December 2016, 13:27   #8
el_pasi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 217
I recall having same issue as appiah4. SWOS was cracked version which at start displayed text using type-command.
Problem was that type-command didn't work with KS1.3.
But if you just edit startup-sequence to load game straightaway (first line: ssboot swos), it is ok with KS1.3.
el_pasi is offline  
Old 21 December 2016, 13:30   #9
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by el_pasi View Post
I recall having same issue as appiah4. SWOS was cracked version which at start displayed text using type-command.
Problem was that type-command didn't work with KS1.3.
But if you just edit startup-sequence to load game straightaway (first line: ssboot swos), it is ok with KS1.3.
Ohh, that makes sense! which file do I need to edit on Disk 1? I can do the edit with WB1.3 Notepad right?
appiah4 is offline  
Old 21 December 2016, 14:00   #10
el_pasi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 217
You need to edit startup-sequence which is located in directory S.
I don't know about Notepad, as I haven't used KS1.3 for several years and have always used CygnusEditor for all editing stuff But Notepad might still work or Memacs or something similar?
el_pasi is offline  
Old 30 January 2017, 09:14   #11
darefail
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ελλάς
Age: 39
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
Just uploaded a zip with adfs that I use with my A500 (kick1.3).
Hello, i am new here. Can you tell me please where can i find your uploaded zip? thank you
darefail is offline  
Old 30 January 2017, 09:53   #12
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by darefail View Post
Hello, i am new here. Can you tell me please where can i find your uploaded zip? thank you
The file swos9697.zip is still in "The Zone!"
Read here to access "The Zone!"
liviux76 is offline  
Old 30 January 2017, 22:27   #13
markpjd
Games-Coffer

markpjd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: London / England
Posts: 127
Kind of OT but I think the game had extra features/touches when it was ran on an A1200? If my memory serves me right.
markpjd is offline  
Old 30 January 2017, 22:46   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,531
At least no A1200 enhanced stuff is mentioned in the game manual. Never played it on an A500 always on my A1200.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 31 January 2017, 09:41   #15
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by markpjd View Post
Kind of OT but I think the game had extra features/touches when it was ran on an A1200? If my memory serves me right.
I think that the extra features are just some graphical improvements, maybe on the A1200 the advertisements around the soccer field change during the play while on the A500 they are static and something like this but I'm not really sure about that.

That's a thing that a friend told me in the days but, even if I've played SWOS for thousand of hours, I've never noticed if that's true or not...
liviux76 is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 11:08   #16
darefail
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ελλάς
Age: 39
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
Just uploaded a zip with adfs that I use with my A500 (kick1.3).
"Type failed returncode 20" on my A500.. Any help please?
darefail is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 11:46   #17
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by darefail View Post
"Type failed returncode 20" on my A500.. Any help please?
The particular disk you are trying requires Kickstart 2.0.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 08 February 2017, 10:05   #18
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 379
I don't remember messing around with the s:startup-sequence or anything, but it works on my plain ol' A500.
twiggy is offline  
Old 05 April 2019, 22:00   #19
xubidoo
Scoobydoo

xubidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Blackburn,UK
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
At least no A1200 enhanced stuff is mentioned in the game manual. Never played it on an A500 always on my A1200.

think it had little extras ,like the silver spinning "S" sign , where iirc it didn't do that on the A500,not sure what else if anything, but probably wasn't much.

oops thought this was 2018,not 17 lol

Last edited by xubidoo; 05 April 2019 at 22:01. Reason: numpty edit n01
xubidoo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SWOS PC problem CRAZYPETE2011 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 05 January 2014 18:34
Problem with SWOS hil files under WinUAE olesio support.Games 3 14 March 2009 12:15
SWOS Whdload Problem Hiro Kunimi support.Games 3 31 January 2006 12:32
SWOS 96/97 WHDLoad Problem Peanutuk support.Games 13 16 November 2004 20:01
Problem with WHDLoad SWOS Steve Games images which need to be WHDified 6 11 October 2003 16:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09249 seconds with 13 queries