English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 December 2012, 19:28   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series

2.5.1 beta series.

This is usual quick 2.5.0 bug fix version. Estimated release date: before Christmas.
I try not to do any GUI changes this time, 2.5.0 translation DLLs should still work with 2.5.1.

Rules:

Allowed posts in this thread:

- bug reports but make sure bug is NOT in previous offical version. (Old bug -> separate thread)
- comments and suggestion about new features in betas or changed feature in beta. (missing feature or old feature which has not been changed in latest beta series -> separate thread)

Everything else will be deleted, no questions asked. (includes offtopic posts, discussion about pros and cons of public beta testing etc..)

Misc notes:

- "not working" is not a bug report -> instadelete
- always include name of the program. "Everything" or "most games" fail is not a bug report!
- always use quickstart settings. Non-QS setting reports will be ignored unless there is reason why quickstart isn't good idea but still test using quickstart just to confirm! (unless it needs some HD highend config)
- always check logs (both winuaebootlog.txt and winuaelog.txt, don't forget to enable logging in misc-panel) for possible error or warning messages.
- remember to include PC specs + Windows version (if asked)
- graphics error -> include screenshot.
- disk based program -> include CRC32 (mouse over disk history arrow down button will show CRC32) of the image(s) (or SPS ID or full tosec name if from latest set). Plain name of the game is NOT generally enough! (usually there are different cracks, trainers etc..)

As usual, betas may destroy your PC and your sanity

This thread is for general discussion (bad/good/stupid idea/whatever, no trolling or flaming) about public beta testing.

Beta test related PMs or emails will be generally ignored.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 December 2012, 19:29   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2510b1.zip

Beta 1:

- Internal mouse counter under/overflow fixed, while moving mouse far enough, mouse jumped in opposite direction. (old bug)
- Directory filesystem file modification date resolution support is now 1 microsecond (was 1 second). AmigaDOS file time 1/50s "tick" resolution is now fully supported (if NTFS, FAT only has 2 second resolution)
- 1G RTG RAM was detected as "too large". (early 250 beta)
- ClipCursor() was not always called, it was possible for hidden Windows mouse to move outside of WinUAE window in some situations. (250b24)
- RTG aspect ratio still affected filter panel aspect ratio setting. (b26 update was not complete)
- _UAEFSDB.___ meta data files (stores illegal names, protection flags and comments if non-stream capable filesystem like FAT) haven't worked correctly for a long time.
- _UAEFSDB.___ wasn't always deleted when it become empty.
- Unminimizing unpaused emulation when "pause when mouse is uncaptured" was enabled.
- If win32.guikey config entry is set, normal GUI key (F12) events won't open the GUI anymore.
- Always reset special monitor active flag (A2024/Graffiti) when display mode changes, fixes A2024 mode position when window needs to reopen but resolution didn't change.
- Improved windowed mode bottom statusbar height calculation, fixes two pixel gap in Windows Vista classic mode.
- Fixed Amiga-side illegal memory access when booting directory harddrive(s) under KS 1.3.
- Reset GUI/emulation display when Windows desktop state changes (Theme change etc..)
- Removed remains of unused AROS CDFS support code.
- Compiled using MSVC 2012 with update 1 installed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 December 2012, 20:20   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,966
After briefly testing 2.5.1b1 on Vista SP2...

WinUAE un-pauses, un-minimises and/or hijacks focus when the theme is changed. Doesn't happen with 2.5.0 since WinUAE didn't know about theme changes then. To reproduce: Run WinUAE and start emulation. With or without pause when minimised enabled, minimise WinUAE. Change desktop theme. WinUAE window opens and captures mouse by itself.

Alternately run WinUAE and start emulation. Don't pause or minimise. Uncapture mouse and click in another program's window to focus it. (Calculator, Notepad or whatever). Change theme. WinUAE captures the mouse by itself.

Sound output stops after pausing and un-pausing. Boot a demo which plays music. Press Pause to pause, and press again to resume emulation. There is no sound. You can get sound to play again by disabling/enabling sound emulation or changing the default audio device. Happens with DirectSound and WASAPI. Doesn't happen with WinUAE 2.5.0.
mark_k is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 20:57   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
WinUAE un-pauses, un-minimises and/or hijacks focus when the theme is changed.
Unfortunate side-effect because everything assumes that user is in control when mode changes.. I can improve it but I can't make it perfect without too big changes.

btw, funnily enough Vista's theme selector GUI don't handle theme changes, it gets slightly smaller each time theme is changed

Quote:
Sound output stops after pausing and un-pausing.
Fixed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 December 2012, 21:25   #5
Computer_Whizzz
 
Posts: n/a
Small little bugs


CPU and FPU page
-----------------

FPU

68881
68882

don't shade out (when not available) when CPU is 68000 + 68010 + More Compatible CPU is enabled



advanced Jit Settings cache size arrow jumps to 8 MB and freezes when I
slide arrow to 0 MB



Thanks, Excellent Emulator !

Regards,

Tony
 
Old 10 December 2012, 21:28   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Computer_Whizzz View Post
don't shade out (when not available) when CPU is 68000 + 68010 + More Compatible CPU is enabled
It is supported config. Nothing prevents emulation to support something that real hardware can't.

EDIT: Ah, only when more compatible is set. I guess it was supported in some old version but not anymore...

Quote:
advanced Jit Settings cache size arrow jumps to 8 MB and freezes when I
slide arrow to 0 MB
I think I already answered in another thread. May or may not be fixed, not important problem.

EDIT: Both will be fixed in next beta.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 10 December 2012 at 22:06.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 December 2012, 22:54   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should fix all above bugs. (Except if theme changes and emulation is paused, it is "feature" if window stays black)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2012, 07:30   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should fix all above bugs. (Except if theme changes and emulation is paused, it is "feature" if window stays black)
Something strange happens here with this beta under Windows 7. The GUI opens delayed and each time i type a letter into the shell the screen turns black for 1-2 seconds.

Edit: It happens with any keystroke you do, e.g any keys in a game.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 11 December 2012 at 07:59.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 08:31   #9
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 560
Quote:
Compiled using MSVC 2012 with update 1 installed.
Can it be your compiled version is no more WinXP 32-bit compatible?
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 09:31   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
Can it be your compiled version is no more WinXP 32-bit compatible?
Update 1 put XP compatibility back. Tested and confirmed working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Something strange happens here with this beta under Windows 7. The GUI opens delayed and each time i type a letter into the shell the screen turns black for 1-2 seconds.

Edit: It happens with any keystroke you do, e.g any keys in a game.
Fixed, theme change debugging code removed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2012, 09:36   #11
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Update 1 put XP compatibility back. Tested and confirmed working.



Fixed, theme change debugging code removed.

I´m not able to start the executable on my WinXP SP3 32-bit OS.
No any problems with all previous versions.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 09:38   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
I´m not able to start the executable on my WinXP SP3 32-bit OS.
No any problems with all previous versions.
Hmm.. Maybe I forgot to set XP compatibility to both full optimization and normal test build projects..

Does both official beta 1 and winuae.zip not work?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2012, 09:40   #13
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Hmm.. Maybe I forgot to set XP compatibility to both full optimization and normal test build projects..

Does both official beta 1 and winuae.zip not work?
Both doesn´t work for me.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 09:47   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,225
Quote:
Fixed, theme change debugging code removed.
Confirmed, works fine again.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 09:59   #15
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Not sure if this is a 2.5.0-specific bug, but on playing Deluxe Galaga (AGA) on Amiga Forever 2012 since updating, I do get some random crashes in cycle-exact plus 24-bit addressing A1200 mode (Cloanto's defaults). Disabling cycle-exact (and/or 24-bit) seems to make things more stable, I'm yet to experience a crash from that.

This might be tricky to test though as it is intermittent.
Mequa is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 10:03   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Not sure if this is a 2.5.0-specific bug, but on playing Deluxe Galaga (AGA) on Amiga Forever 2012 since updating, I do get some random crashes in cycle-exact plus 24-bit addressing A1200 mode (Cloanto's defaults). Disabling cycle-exact (and/or 24-bit) seems to make things more stable, I'm yet to experience a crash from that.

This might be tricky to test though as it is intermittent.
Wrong thread (see first post) and I don't support AF.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2012, 10:52   #17
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 560
Quote:
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip


Did you replaced the file (11.12.2012 08:20)? Because now I can start the executable.

The official beta I still can´t start.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 16:24   #18
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,966
Testing the 2012-12-11 winuae.zip. If WinUAE is minimised (and automatically paused) when you change theme, it restores itself but does not un-pause. But the status bar doesn't say PAUSED. If WinUAE is going to restore its window in that case, it would be a good idea to update the status bar. Otherwise the user might think WinUAE has crashed/hung, especially since the window is black then.
mark_k is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 17:59   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Testing the 2012-12-11 winuae.zip. If WinUAE is minimised (and automatically paused) when you change theme, it restores itself but does not un-pause. But the status bar doesn't say PAUSED. If WinUAE is going to restore its window in that case, it would be a good idea to update the status bar. Otherwise the user might think WinUAE has crashed/hung, especially since the window is black then.
Unfortunately, thats the best it can do (again) without major restructuring and it won't happen until later. Maybe some tweaks are possible but imho (again) no one is changing themes all the time and many other programs also have similar problems in this situation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2012, 18:13   #20
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,966
Yes, you mentioned that the restoring on theme change wouldn't be changed. But would it not be possible to just refresh the status bar whenever the window is restored? That should avoid the "paused but status bar doesn't say so" issue.
mark_k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 16:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 20:39
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 20:20
WinUAE 1.5.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 58 09 November 2008 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10506 seconds with 14 queries