English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 17 July 2019, 21:14   #1
KLund1

Amiga 2000 Green Screen, nube help please

Hi
I got a 2000 that boots to only a green screen. The power red LED blinks 10 times then a quick blink then repeats. I have stripped the machine down to just the motherboard and PSU. As I pulled parts off, one at a time and retested, I got the same results. The battery was pulled off long ago, and there looks to be just minor corrosion that dose not appear to have moved to the CPU. The CPU pins and socket are clean. no visible corrosion near the socket or near by long resistors and 62402.

I have pulled all the socketed IC's and reseated them. No change in output.

I am still pretty new to Amiga and am asking for a bit of guidance on trouble shooting this. MB pic attached.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2965[1].jpg
Views:	62
Size:	1.06 MB
ID:	63794  
Old 17 July 2019, 21:48   #2
DofD

Hi there.

The green boot screen generally means there is a chip RAM issue. The power light blinking is telling that some error was found during the self tests. The repeating pattern is the A2000 rebooting and trying to start again.

I would suggest cleaning and neutralizing the green battery corrosion asap. The corrosion can get into the copper traces and can destroy them over time. The resistor right by the battery may need replacing.

Another thing is that the Agnus chip may be bad or not seated correctly. Try pulling it, cleaning the chip and socket, then reseat.

Something else to try is to get a Diag ROM to help diagnose the problem to a lower level.
Old 17 July 2019, 22:56   #3
KLund1

Many thanks, I'll do that.
Which is the Agnus chip? the smaller ic near the cpu?
I can burn and eprom. Where is the file for that? What size eprom? I do not see a socket that would fit most eproms, where would a diag rom go?
Again thanks for the reply!
Old 18 July 2019, 00:08   #4
R4M