English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2019, 19:03   #61
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 577
Puyo Puyo 2 is more dynamic and have better graphics than Minskies Furballs.

About Moon Patrol i must confirm that ST version is better than arcade one.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 20:27   #62
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
Puyo Puyo 2 is more dynamic and have better graphics than Minskies Furballs.

About Moon Patrol i must confirm that ST version is better than arcade one.
Really? Minskies was available as ECS and AGA graphics
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 20:42   #63
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
Time Pilot
Tima Pilot... man...
I remember Time Pilot on my C64.
It was very hard, and very awesome game. I got to the aliens level, and could not beat it!
Didn't know Amiga had no port.

I see here people also mention Rolling Thunder.
I haven't played it on Amiga (I saw it on youtube... yikes! ), and also, if I recall it correctly, C64 had great version of Rolling Thunder.
I remember, as a kid, it was also very hard, but it was one of the rare games that gives that "arcade feel" on the C64 (like Express Rider, and similar games).
I have to check now C64 Rolling Thunder on Youtube.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 20:50   #64
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
Some of the games that I allocated for you (In Alphabetical order):
Battlezone
Choplifter
Crystal Castles
Joust
Millipede
Pole Position II
Robotron 2084
Star Raiders
Super Breakout
Tempest

Of course there are many other, which I am not able (too lazy) to list now, but I think the above list is pretty good for a start.
There are some arcade games that were officially ported to 8-bit Atari computers (with dubious quality), but not to the Amiga.
Thanks a lot, but I have problem with Choplifter and PolePosition II - are you sure that theese games exists on Atari ST ?
Asman is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 20:52   #65
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 3,190
Joust has some decent attempt: "Jouster 3", freeware.
jotd is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 20:59   #66
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,328
I still play Moon Patrol on Mame. The 3 games I mentioned are among the games I most play on Mame when I am playing on my own (Add New Rally-X too)

With friends around fighting games are more popular.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 22:06   #67
seko
Registered User

seko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: istanbul * turkey
Posts: 31
My suggestion Super pang , easily adaptable to Amiga.Amiga have first version pang.I wrote S.pang game for amiga with amiga c language.I have tested .its not bad .But it is better to be assembly language.


i call name " RUN RUN PANGI PONGI " below video


[ Show youtube player ]




I'm dealed Sega game Super Fantasy Zone.But I took a break.i used assembly language.



[ Show youtube player ]




Generally the arcade ports are adapted hard to amiga.but mcgeezer doing it successfully.
seko is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 22:15   #68
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,147
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yeah, NBA Jam is sooooo good

I purchasing this on the SNES and had loads of fun playing this with friends using the 4 joystick adapter



Regarding these Capcom CPS1 games; doubt an Amiga could really do them TBH. There would have to be massive compromises; and even still...
CPS1 & CPS1 QSOUND or CPS2 are possible, but with a programmer able to process the arcade code with a tool in order to dismantle each parts.

And A1200-4000 with tons of fast ram + Hard drive mandatory !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 22:46   #69
Rotareneg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 92
Why would we need a Robotron port on the Amiga when we have Llamatron?
Rotareneg is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 22:49   #70
drHirudo
Amiga user
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asman View Post
Thanks a lot, but I have problem with Choplifter and PolePosition II - are you sure that theese games exists on Atari ST ?
[ Show youtube player ]

https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com/2017...-position.html

Pole Position would be nice on the Amiga, but based on the original arcade game, not on the STe code.
drHirudo is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 22:54   #71
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,147
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
I have worked out quite an amount of data tilemaps inside Blood Bros Code.

Very interesting
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 23:22   #72
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
Reminds me Pitstop II on C64.
malko is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 23:25   #73
drHirudo
Amiga user
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Reminds me Pitstop II on C64.
Yes, but I am not sure if raw A500 1MB can reproduce the full awesomeness of this port:

Quote:
Runs at a 60fps to bring the speed and difficulty in line with the arcade game.
You can thank the Blitter chip for whizzing the graphics so furiously!
Sprite scaling utilisied for that arcade feel for ultra-smooth results.
Even good 'ol Mount Fuji is displayed in all its glory!
The sky gradient is back along with numerous fixed graphical and audio glitches.
Sound effects are taken from the arcade machine and played using DMA coprocessor.
Code compiled with GCC 7.1 for a significant performance increase.
Many optimisations are made, mainly around text rendering for authenticity.
drHirudo is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 23:34   #74
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 3,190
Anyway is the source code even available?
jotd is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 01:00   #75
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by demoniac View Post
Get 2 Atari 2600 joysticks and glue them to a table.

Thinking about Robotron controls some more, most modern gamepads have 2 analog controllers in the PS2 manner. Thus, it might work as an option for emulation.


As for Amiga hardware users, they can use this setup.
demoniac is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 09:10   #76
SvladJelly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portland / USA
Posts: 79
How about ASSAULT, with dual joystick support? :-D
SvladJelly is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 14:55   #77
chicane
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
Pole Position would be nice on the Amiga, but based on the original arcade game, not on the STe code.
Hi everyone, I'm the author of the STE Pole Position conversion.

Just to clear up any possible misconceptions, this conversion is based upon a reverse engineering of the arcade game logic, so the gameplay should be a close replica of that featured in the arcade game.

I've had to write the graphics and sound engine from the ground up to take advantage of the strengths/quirks/weaknesses of the STE. This is something that would also need to be done for the Amiga.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd
Anyway is the source code even available?
I assume you were referring to Pole Position STE in this comment - apologies if this is not the case.

To answer your question, the ST-specific parts of the codebase are not available to the public, although I would be more than happy to hand over the code to somebody with the time and inclination to port it over to the Amiga.

The non-ST parts of the code (i.e. the reverse engineering of the Pole Position game logic) are available to the public, as part of the "ppengine" project to create a modern 3D accelerated port of Pole Position.

You can find this at https://github.com/jonathanopalise/ppengine
chicane is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 16:35   #78
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 3,190
Yes, I meant Pole Position. Great! since we don't need the ST parts.
jotd is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 17:21   #79
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
Well, I feel, if some games would never been released on Amiga (Mortal Kombat 2, Setllers, Ruff'n'Tumble...) many people would claim today that it wouldn't be possible to make a port (or with huge compromises).
Actually I wouldn't say that about any of those three games you mentioned. They all look pretty doable.


Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
Who needs parallax for the proper gameplay?
I'd say, remove parallax, make sprites smaller, and it's possible to make awesome beat em up for OCS.
Well, with these lessened requirements off course you could port almost any game from that era....

Here comes the formula:
Give up the parallax, reduce colours to 32 and then reduce the frame count to whatever works with the amount of blits you need to do.

Every now and then load stuff from disk if you can't keep everything in RAM.

Bam, this will surely be an amazing arcade port.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 23:17   #80
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 605
Since my 4000 probably wont be a happy camper for a long time yet, I'll suggest something I was thinking of trying myself: 1942.

It just so happens to use 32 colours...
NorthWay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
if msx games was ported to amiga ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 57 18 August 2018 20:35
Has anyone ever ported Atari Jaguar games to Amiga? eXeler0 Retrogaming General Discussion 39 26 April 2017 15:18
Why not so many Amiga games ported/remaked for Android? sweup New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 12 August 2016 23:31
Popular Amiga games that were ported over to consoles? isamu Retrogaming General Discussion 10 05 August 2014 15:48
C64 games which got ported or cloned for the Amiga?. Whitesnake Retrogaming General Discussion 29 05 August 2006 10:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09821 seconds with 14 queries