English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 June 2018, 05:26   #3301
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 10
Yes, That's what I did right click/save as, I did not know it would do that. download the correct way and was able to program the chips. anyone know what version kickstart I need to boot the board? I got a feeling I will be upgrading as my A500 has kickstart 1.2

Thanks everyone for the help!
TimT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 June 2018, 10:00   #3302
LADmachining
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southampton
Posts: 7
My TF530 has been completed, and during testing with DiagROM, all I see on the serial terminal are the symbols '<>' when powered-up, then no other output.

The serial link has been tested, and works fine with a 68000 installed in the socket, so it seems there are issues with my '530.

I have spent the last couple of hours re-checking the CPLD pins, and carrying-out point-to-point continuity checks, which don't reveal any issues. Resistance checks between address bus and data bus lines are also good (no shorts). No FPU has been installed thus far.

Waiting for another '030 to arrive so I can try that. Any other advice in the mean-time would be appreciated.

Last edited by LADmachining; 07 June 2018 at 10:00. Reason: typos
LADmachining is offline  
Old 07 June 2018, 18:10   #3303
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by LADmachining View Post
My TF530 has been completed, and during testing with DiagROM, all I see on the serial terminal are the symbols '<>' when powered-up, then no other output.

The serial link has been tested, and works fine with a 68000 installed in the socket, so it seems there are issues with my '530.

I have spent the last couple of hours re-checking the CPLD pins, and carrying-out point-to-point continuity checks, which don't reveal any issues. Resistance checks between address bus and data bus lines are also good (no shorts). No FPU has been installed thus far.

Waiting for another '030 to arrive so I can try that. Any other advice in the mean-time would be appreciated.


Check AS20 goes low (FPU is best place to check), then check AS goes low, then DTACK and DS20 in that order. I’d bet on a data bus short or address bus short.
plasmab is offline  
Old 08 June 2018, 12:27   #3304
LADmachining
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southampton
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Check AS20 goes low (FPU is best place to check), then check AS goes low, then DTACK and DS20 in that order. I’d bet on a data bus short or address bus short.
Will dig the logic analyser out and check that first.
LADmachining is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 00:07   #3305
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
I now have a second terminally ill close family member, a new job and a bunch of friends have either died or also have terminal illnesses.

All my Amiga stuff is packed away and my thoughts are elsewhere
plasmab is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 00:37   #3306
EzdineG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I now have a second terminally ill close family member, a new job and a bunch of friends have either died or also have terminal illnesses.

All my Amiga stuff is packed away and my thoughts are elsewhere


Sorry to hear this. If you need to talk or just blow off steam don’t hesitate to holler.
EzdineG is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 03:24   #3307
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I now have a second terminally ill close family member, a new job and a bunch of friends have either died or also have terminal illnesses.

All my Amiga stuff is packed away and my thoughts are elsewhere
Very sorry to hear that. Of course family is a much higher priority than any of this stuff. My prayers for you and your family.
pgovotsos is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 14:11   #3308
keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 86
I am really sorry to hear that.
keith is offline  
Old 11 June 2018, 15:57   #3309
shaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto / Canada
Posts: 98
I can sympathize as i've been through the same thing myself. My thoughts are with you.
shaf is offline  
Old 17 June 2018, 21:03   #3310
the_master
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Is Impact supposed to identify the XC9572XL's? I get the circuit showing up with two unidentified chips but can't program them. I'm using a chinese programmer which is detected in 14.7/windows 10.
the_master is offline  
Old 17 June 2018, 23:09   #3311
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 474
@Plasmab sorry to hear about further dreadful news.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_master View Post
Is Impact supposed to identify the XC9572XL's? I get the circuit showing up with two unidentified chips but can't program them. I'm using a chinese programmer which is detected in 14.7/windows 10.
Open your .jed files and make sure they're not the .html download common problem when downloading files from Github as Stephen has suggested previously. If they are the jeds, it's unusual for them not to program unless fake chinese chips, bad programmer, or bad connection/bridges/ or lack of solder on a pin, microscope/jewelers lens time and double check your jtag header.
solidcore is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:35   #3312
the_master
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidcore View Post
@Plasmab sorry to hear about further dreadful news.



Open your .jed files and make sure they're not the .html download common problem when downloading files from Github as Stephen has suggested previously. If they are the jeds, it's unusual for them not to program unless fake chinese chips, bad programmer, or bad connection/bridges/ or lack of solder on a pin, microscope/jewelers lens time and double check your jtag header.
Yeah I had a bit of a read through this thread and did check the files before posting, they are fine. I have 4 A500s and have built 3 of the TF530s, I planed to build 4 but had trouble finding some parts (mostly the 1k resistor arrays). So should the Xilinxs be detected and named in Impact when you do the boundary scan? because that's the part I'm not sure of what it should look like. I really should have saved the relevant build videos before they were all deleted, I had a feeling he was going to do that, was stupid of me not to save them. I've had these boards boards built for a while but was waiting on the programmer and being able to download the software (I had to fake out an address to get that). I used a jewelers lens to build them, I'm 100% sure there's no soldering errors, the Xilinxs could be fake if there's such a thing but I had two lots from two different sellers.
the_master is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:55   #3313
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Yes, Impact should ID the chips. You should see two chips with "xc9572xl bypass".
chue is offline  
Old Yesterday, 16:14   #3314
the_master
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
Yes, Impact should ID the chips. You should see two chips with "xc9572xl bypass".
Thanks, ok I'm not seeing that. Rather than get down and out about my defeat to program them. I'm building 3 new boards. This time I'll get the xilinxs from a known good source and program them before I complete the boards. I will return when I either fail again or succeed to let you know .
the_master is offline  
Old Yesterday, 17:22   #3315
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_master View Post
Thanks, ok I'm not seeing that. Rather than get down and out about my defeat to program them. I'm building 3 new boards. This time I'll get the xilinxs from a known good source and program them before I complete the boards. I will return when I either fail again or succeed to let you know .
Genuine parts from : RS-Online, Digikey, Mouser, and possibly quite a few others.

Fake parts from : Ebay (Depends on Seller/source), UTSource and other chinese sources. I think most of us can generally say utsource has proven time again to reward us with fake items and is no longer worth it. Perhaps for the obsolete items when you have no choice China may be worth taking the risk, but otherwise if you are a hardware dev then just change the design to accommodate. Unfortunately for DIY enthusiasts BGA is replacing QFN and so on, and as chips become more complex in design and offer more I/O we'll all need to adapt to BGA packages, some will buy re-flow ovens, others will pay China do all the hard work for them but that doesn't come without risks.

Last edited by solidcore; Yesterday at 17:29.
solidcore is offline  
Old Yesterday, 17:29   #3316
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 35
The way I made sure my cheap programmer worked was that I bought a Xilinx prototyping board.

With the board, I could go through the whole programming cycle and not worry about whether I had bad parts/ soldering.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xilinx-proto.JPG
Views:	23
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	58598  

Last edited by chue; Yesterday at 17:34. Reason: removed link since I'm unsure of quality of part
chue is offline  
Old Yesterday, 19:51   #3317
the_master
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
The way I made sure my cheap programmer worked was that I bought a Xilinx prototyping board.

With the board, I could go through the whole programming cycle and not worry about whether I had bad parts/ soldering.
Thanks I might get one of those, I just put some spare (possibly fake but I will say I've never had a fake anything from China before:0) xilinxs on one of the new boards just to see if it would work this time. But it seems my programmer is now cooked. It would light up the LED red then go green once the TF530 was powered yesterday. Now it's dead, maybe it was half dead when I got it.. who knows. I could really do with a video right about now, anyone saved them?. I was in the market for a raspberry Pi so I'll probably get one and try that way, pretty expensive way to do this but at least I can use it for other things afterwards. I can't really justify buying a second china programmer at this point, I'm far too deep in to continue on with random spending much longer .
the_master is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 06:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 09:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 01:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 20:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 08:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17068 seconds with 15 queries