English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

Old 07 May 2006, 17:48   #1
c-thru

Captive 2: Liberation in WinUAE

I'm trying to run Liberation off a virtual hdd in WinUAE (1.2). I've installed it successfully onto the hdd and also copied across the 75 wall maps. However, I can't seem to get past the intro, it simply goes black.

Current settings:

A1200, WB3.1 / KS v3.1 rev. 40.68 (512k)
CPU: 68020+FPU (+JIT and 5mb cache)
Display: couldn't see anything that might be a problem.
Sound: ditto

According to WB, there's enough space still on the hdd.

I'm relatively new to WinUAE, so there's probably something I've overlooked.

(On a related note, are there any major differences between CD32 and vanilla Amiga versions, besides speech? I recall one Mindscape employee told me that banking only worked in the CD32 version.)

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by c-thru; 07 May 2006 at 18:20.

Old 11 May 2006, 21:19   #2
c-thru

I had another go at this, with a fresh install and a larger hdd. It didn't work so I tried extracting files that might be missing from the *.adf files to the location of the Liberation installation. That didn't work either.

The install size is 3.28mb, with 85 files and 9 folders (on the PC hdd itself).

Please could anyone tell me if they have actually tried this, and whether it's best to try emulating the A1200, or if a A500+ (or if I'm doing the wrong thing entirely).

Thanks.

Old 12 May 2006, 11:29   #3
Marcuz

if i remember right, i couldn't play it a single time in 9 years with the various UAE, so i cannot help you. but i would like to know me too if it's possible.
Old 17 May 2006, 19:37   #4
c-thru

The CD32 version works fine with WinUAE. It took a while to get hold of, but now it's sorted.

Old 15 September 2006, 05:40   #5
telanduril

Help!