English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2012, 01:04   #1
starwindz
 
Posts: n/a
[FS-UAE] Extract strings from FS-UAE memory

I would like to make something like a game-commentary-tool under FS-UAE on Windows. Is it possible to extract some game strings from FS-UAE memory? Any ideas?
(Sorry for a typo in this topic title. FA-UAE -> FS-UAE)

Last edited by starwindz; 05 August 2012 at 01:07. Reason: Typo
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 August 2012, 01:47   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
Hi, there is no functionality for accessing the Amiga memory (I assume you meant the Amiga memory) outside of FS-UAE, but I might be persuaded to create an interface for reading/accessing the memory if there is a good and/or fun use case for it.

Do you know (exactly) what you would look for if you had some kind of access to the memory, either through shared memory or an IPC mechanism for requesting a memory byte range?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 06 August 2012, 19:49   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by starwindz View Post
I would like to make something like a game-commentary-tool under FS-UAE on Windows. Is it possible to extract some game strings from FS-UAE memory? Any ideas?
One idea is to have FS-UAE run a server interface you can talk to (Named pipes on Windows, Unix sockets on other OSes). For instance, you could send a command over this interface to snapshot the memory, and then either read all of it over the pipe, or just read parts of it. By making a memory snapshot inside FS-UAE and just transfer bits of it (or all) independently of the actually used Amiga memory, emulation performance should not be affected and you would be able to get a consistent view of the memory. If you want to read updated memory values, you just send a new snapshot command.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UAE. Not enough memory or rom paths not found bigbernie support.WinUAE 11 12 August 2013 09:08
G-FS-UAE (GUI/Frontend for Linux FS-UAE) Speedvicio support.FS-UAE 12 05 November 2012 20:14
[FS-UAE] Amiga Game Database for FS-UAE Launcher nexusle support.FS-UAE 31 24 August 2012 20:24
[FS-UAE] Control FS-UAE with iOS devices nexusle support.FS-UAE 0 18 July 2012 22:57
E-UAE (MorphOS) - problems with memory Solo Kazuki support.OtherUAE 3 12 April 2007 02:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.41220 seconds with 15 queries