English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 October 2014, 08:08   #1
KKnD
 
Posts: n/a
Angry Amiga 4000/40 boot-up issues

My A4000/40 (recently acquired) was working fine, but as of today seems to be booting to workbench (HD) then the cursor stays on the stopwatch permanently. You can move the mouse, but you can't click on anything because the cursor is stuck 'thinking'.



Someone suggested to comment out the user-startup from the startup sequence.



I gave that a shot (I'm assuming with semi-colon) but the same thing still occurs. There are no errors, etc, it just arrives at Workbench and sits there at the stop-watch. Any ideas people? It's a A4000/30 with an Opalvision graphics card.
 
Old 05 October 2014, 09:01   #2
hese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 205
This kind of behavior is seen when there is no floppy drive attached to the computer.
Check that the power and ribbon cables are well connected to the floppy drive.

You'll get pass that hangup also by temporarily disabling the floppy drive on the Early Startup Menu before booting to Workbench.
hese is offline  
Old 05 October 2014, 12:14   #3
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Put set echo on as the first line of startup-sequence -perhaps you then can
see something. Or go straight to WB from Early Startup via assign Env: Ram: LoadWB Endcli and then try to run startup-sequence.
zipper is offline  
Old 06 October 2014, 11:03   #4
KKnD
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks guys, I'll look into both of these possibilities and let you know
 
Old 06 October 2014, 12:43   #5
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,250
When you say "permanently" how long have you left it sitting there?

It could be validating the HD which will take a loooongggg time.
davideo is offline  
Old 31 July 2016, 02:31   #6
AncientAmiga
 
Posts: n/a
I just removed a leaking battery from my A3000 and was getting the stuck stopwatch. I forgot to plug the cable into the floppy drive when I reassembled the computer. Thanks to Hese, It's working again.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 4000 will not boot after boing bag 2 update sovietconscript support.Apps 12 10 August 2016 11:34
sound issues on Amiga 4000 sovietconscript support.Hardware 10 13 November 2012 16:07
Amiga 4000 boot problems with capacitors Spirantho support.Hardware 3 12 July 2012 19:07
N00b with a toaster 4000 (it's got issues) bluegreengold New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 16 March 2012 04:06
amiga 4000/40 video issues sovietconscript support.Hardware 4 02 March 2012 22:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.24651 seconds with 15 queries