English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2018, 17:01   #1
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 791
Getting data from NDOS disks

In my Classic WB when a disk is a standard Amiga DOS i can read the files and get the data i want

But sometimes i get an icon with written the text NDOS

I guess this means that the disk is not standard Amiga DOS and so i'm not able to read nothing of it

There's a way to get data from this kind of disks ?
chip is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 17:11   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
You need to disassemble the bootblock, then you can see how data is loaded (either using DoIO or a hardware loader).

Last edited by StingRay; 24 January 2018 at 17:38. Reason: how how doesn't make sense :)
StingRay is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 17:32   #3
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 791
I don't have assembly knowledge, so the content of these disks remain for me hidden, it seems
chip is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 17:37   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
You can try tools such as Wrip or Track2File to rip graphics/crunched binaries etc. from the disks.
StingRay is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 17:45   #5
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 791
I will try those, thanks for the info StingRay
chip is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 20:04   #6
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 910
It's not directly answering you question but by following this link you will find interesting lectures for beginners (two Amiga specific books for beginning assembly language). Enjoy
malko is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 20:18   #7
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
I don't have assembly knowledge, so the content of these disks remain for me hidden, it seems
I would suggest starting with Track2File tools. You may read an NDOS disks and scan its content. Using XFD package you may unpack some data and find out that some of them might be pictures, sounds, music modules and others.
mailman is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 20:24   #8
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 791
Yeah, mailman, it's exactly sound modules what i'm looking for

I tried both tools and i must admit i like much more WRip

Do you know if there are differences in the kinds of data they rip ?
chip is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 21:17   #9
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 4,778
http://aminet.net/util/misc/XoXo.zip
description/readme:
http://aminet.net/util/misc/XoXo.readme
mai is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 21:26   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,841
Code:
OS3.5 or higher and emulator with big screen recommended.
Booooo!!!
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 January 2018, 21:31   #11
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 791
Another interesting ripping tool, thanks for the link mai
chip is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 21:33   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Yeah, mailman, it's exactly sound modules what i'm looking for
In that case you can also load the disk image into ProWizard and/or Exotic Ripper. You may find some more modules then.
StingRay is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 21:37   #13
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 791
I know ExoticRipper, is the ripper i use

But ProWizard is inside WinUAE, how to load the disk image ?
chip is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 22:57   #14
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 910
I don't remember which tool I used in the past for ripping, but after giving a recent try to "Amiga Mod Guru" (on my mobile phone) I found, among others :
Amiga Music Preservation,
Amiga Music Collection
I'm sure other (better?) sites exists, but by chance they may have the mod you are trying to rip .
malko is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 23:05   #15
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,070
Might be worth your while seeing if the game/demo youre trying to scan has a WHDload install. Where appropriate and useful, ive done installs that rip the custom disk format to real files, I know Stingray does the same, some others might also
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 23:06   #16
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,841
Very good point Sir Galahad
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 January 2018, 23:06   #17
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 791
I see malko, thanks for the links, there are a lot of rippers it seems

I only need some time to understand which ones are the better
chip is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 23:28   #18
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
But ProWizard is inside WinUAE, how to load the disk image ?
I was referring to the Amiga native version of ProWizard which lets you easily load disk images. Same should work using "load to memory" commands in WinUAE as well but using the native version is probably easier.
StingRay is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 23:32   #19
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Might be worth your while seeing if the game/demo youre trying to scan has a WHDload install. Where appropriate and useful, ive done installs that rip the custom disk format to real files, I know Stingray does the same, some others might also
Oh oh... Thanks for pointing out that .
I noticed it with some WHDLoad installers but... never though about digging this way. Thanks for the tip. Will add this to my list of things to try .

Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
I see malko, thanks for the links, [...]
You are welcome.
malko is offline  
Old 25 January 2018, 05:17   #20
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
Doesn't the Action Replay cart have some sort of MOD/tracker dump from a frozen state?

Been a LONG time ... Is there even support for it in an emulator? Simulated?

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/actionreplay
darkuni is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to identify ndos disks rare_j support.Other 3 17 June 2015 22:08
Ndos disk convert to dos disks Kyon support.Other 38 12 June 2009 14:11
NDOS Disks AliasXZ New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 28 March 2008 13:43
NDOS disks to dms/adf? superquake New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 02 November 2005 23:15
Suggestion about data disks Mr Creosote HOL suggestions and feedback 0 15 December 2002 00:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11543 seconds with 13 queries