English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 June 2017, 14:58   #1
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
Zool WHDLoad Fix please

Hi Folks.

The Whdload versions Of Zool are so buggy. ( sorry, but its true )

The AGA Zool, is glitchy and stuttering on my AGA Amiga.Tried Tooltypes.
Zool OCS works smooth on AGA.

Same with the 16bit version.
The 16 Bit version stuttering on 16 Bit Amigas
( i guess the slave was done on A1200 )

So, there is no way to play Zool whdload OCS on an OCS/ECS Amiga with full speed or without glitches . ( cache tooltype )

Somebody ?
Nibbler is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 18:40   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Zool and Zool 2 have massive slowdown issues. Nobody seems to be interested in looking at it because it's a shit ton of work from what I read (I don't understand fully the technical reasons so I don't want to talk shit).

OCS/ECS versions will have blitterwaits included to make them work on faster hardware, wasn't there a tooltype to disable them? That should make it a bit better on OCS/ECS machines.


Do you have a CD drive? Play the CD32 versions.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 21:37   #3
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
I always kind of liked Zool Sad to see he gets no propper Whdload treatment.

Tried all the CHK (Check for ..... ) Tooltypes, besides the usual Tooltypes . No Luck .
Zool CD 32 wont work on the CD32 Pro-Module. Besides, Zool 1 on the A600 would be sweet to.

I think, Zool is one of the better jump&run Games on the Amiga (No the best but sill, it deserves a propper Whdload Slave)

Even the JST Install have the same problem .
Does a HD Rip version exist, that works ?

Still, would be awesome if somebody could make a propper Whdload for Zool (I would if i could)
Zooooooooool
Nibbler is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 21:43   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
I always kind of liked Zool Sad to see he gets no propper Whdload treatment.
You are a bit confused. This slave isn't "improper", it's just meant to be used on accelerated machines.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 22:01   #5
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,070
Doing a separate HD version outside of WHDLoad is doable and might fix the slowdown issues.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 22:03   #6
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,116
I tried/played (only first stage) some Zool WHDLoad versions on my A1200 040. Last play was maybe 10 years ago but I remembered the slowdowns. My short results: Zool ECS seems to be the fastest. Zool CD32 has the slowdowns I remembered. Zool AGA and Zool 2 AGA do not have such slowdowns.
daxb is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 22:17   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Zool AGA and Zool 2 AGA do not have such slowdowns.
On your 040 maybe.
On my 030 it slows down, and on an A600 with ACA620 or CD32 it's terrible.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 23:18   #8
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
No Zool WHD/JST works like it should on the A600 Furia, and the only Zool version that works on the Amiga CD32 Pro-Module is the OCS version

Galahad is right .
Nibbler is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 23:33   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
Never had slowdowns on my ACA 1230 or MTEC 1230. Seems indeed hardware dependent.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 23:39   #10
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
On your 040 maybe.
On my 030 it slows down, and on an A600 with ACA620 or CD32 it's terrible.
OK, how much chip and fast ram do you have?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 23:45   #11
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734

2MB Chip 10 MB Fast A600Furia
8MB Fast Amiga CD32 ProModule

Pseudo-Ops made a Cracktro for the HD version back then.

[ Show youtube player ]
Hmmmm...

If we could find the Full HD version of the Pseudo-Ops Team, that would be interesting for testing purposes.

Last edited by Nibbler; 08 June 2017 at 23:54.
Nibbler is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 23:48   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
OK, how much chip and fast ram do you have?
A1200 has 2MB of Chip (obv ) and 64MB Fast, 030@50
A600 has ACA620 so that's a 020 @ 16 with 10MB of Fast RAM, and it has 2MB of Chip RAM.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 June 2017, 23:54   #13
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
The CD32 rip of Zool wont have slow down but also no Music and needs a CD32 Pad
For Zool 2 AGA this is the best version http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=41598
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 09 June 2017, 00:22   #14
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,070
So, Zool OCS is fine, but Zool AGA is terrible?

Or is Zool OCS terrible on faster OCS/ECS machines?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 09 June 2017, 02:46   #15
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
The OCS version works fine on my Amiga CD32 Pro-Module ( But AGA version is glitchy on same config )

The OCS version stutters on the A600 Furia or has glitches with the CACHE opton, sadly
Nibbler is offline  
Old 09 June 2017, 10:44   #16
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 29
Posts: 359
On a semi-related note, is it possible to have an unlimited lives cheat on the Zool slave?
twiggy is offline  
Old 09 June 2017, 14:23   #17
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Doing a separate HD version outside of WHDLoad is doable and might fix the slowdown issues.
Hi Galahad, I need to understand...

In my scene days I quit before owning a 040/060/ppc.. (my last Amiga was with a 030/50).
So I don't really understand all this "slow chip RAM access" thing.. (and an emulated Amiga do not help).

The problem here is that accelerator hammer the internal chip/custum bus with blitwait and lock-out blitter for too much time?
A simple BLITHOG do not solve the problem?

And.. why 'outside of WHDLoad is doable'? Too much vector trap delay?

Thanks,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 09 June 2017, 14:32   #18
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Hi Galahad, I need to understand...

In my scene days I quit before owning a 040/060/ppc.. (my last Amiga was with a 030/50).
So I don't really understand all this "slow chip RAM access" thing.. (and an emulated Amiga do not help).

The problem here is that accelerator hammer the internal chip/custum bus with blitwait and lock-out blitter for too much time?
A simple BLITHOG do not solve the problem?

And.. why 'outside of WHDLoad is doable'? Too much vector trap delay?

Thanks,
ross
I have a suspicion that WHDLoad sitting in the background utilising the interrupts/vectors is enough to slow down some of these games that are time critical.

I could be wrong, but I have a feeling that a couple of games that work without WHDLoad don't have these slow down issues, but do when WHDLoad is active and being used.

So I will knock up a quick experimental Zool HD version for these guys to try and see if that fixes the slow downs.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 09 June 2017, 14:37   #19
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
Even the JST Install have the same problem .
Not too surprising since both patches were made by JOTD so he probably just adapted his JST version for WHDLoad.

Quote:
The OCS version stutters on the A600 Furia or has glitches with the CACHE opton, sadly
Probably some missing blitter waits and/or self-modifying code is responsible for that.


Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
On a semi-related note, is it possible to have an unlimited lives cheat on the Zool slave?
Sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
And.. why 'outside of WHDLoad is doable'? Too much vector trap delay?
I pretty much doubt that WHDLoad is the reason for the slow-downs so a "custom" HD-fix will most probably have the same issues.
StingRay is offline  
Old 09 June 2017, 14:52   #20
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,363
@Galahad, @StingRay, thanks.

I follow this thread

Bye,
ross
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who can fix Cannon Fodder WHDLoad installer? apex project.WHDLoad 3 19 November 2016 00:39
FS-UAE - Unregistered WHDLOAD : WHDLOAD.KEY - FIX Neil79 support.FS-UAE 14 29 January 2013 23:34
Annoyed Zool ad/ Zool PSP Survey Scuba-cheese Nostalgia & memories 9 30 May 2011 17:57
Zool 2 Slowdown on WHDLoad Graham Humphrey support.Games 14 22 April 2007 16:59
Zool vs Zool 2 (2nd time) NytroX86 Nostalgia & memories 6 05 December 2002 15:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15464 seconds with 16 queries