English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 September 2018, 12:26   #1
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 463
Know machine details from startup-sequence

Hello, is there a way to know machine details from startup-sequence so that for example one can run some commands only if this is an 020 machine?


I am trying to make an environment which I can use on both an A500 and an A1200 so I can move CF card from one machine to another. However there are some things like QBoot which states that it needs an 020 and therefore I was wondering if somehow I could check this from startup-sequence so that it would only run when CF card is in an A1200.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 12:33   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,884
The ideal would be a BootMenu where to choose which "Startup", I used this many years ago:

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 14:19   #3
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,316
I don't think the shell can check the cpu type directly.
But writing a cpu checking command whose return code can be tested, is technically peanuts.
It depends on what exactly is needed.
meynaf is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 14:53   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,110
You can use/try the cpu command. For example with "cpu check 68020" it should return 5 (warn) on 68010 or lower and 0 on 68020 and above. Here with 68040 not all keywords are working (68851 and MMU). So you need to try if it works for you.
daxb is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 18:42   #5
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,745
You can use findresident and query for specific machine rom modules.
It is in the Install floppy of AmigaOS 3.x

BTW, the upcoming AmigaOS 3.1.4 offers both an AmigaModel command which does the model detection thingy, and the cpu command which can now detect all sorts of cpu, mmu and fpu combinations, including the 68060.
gulliver is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 00:37   #6
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,678
I think you can also check the exact Kickstart version. It will differ slightly between A1200 and A500.
idrougge is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 16:32   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,486
Yep, both the CPU command and Version command can be used to check the CPU and Kickstart currently running, so you can use either or both to tailor your startup sequence to your needs.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 20:34   #8
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 463
Thanks for all the replies. I believe checking the CPU will be enough in my case as my A500+ is unexpanded.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 11:15   #9
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
and the cpu command which can now detect all sorts of cpu, mmu and fpu combinations, including the 68060.
Including AC68080?
kolla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.9 Startup Sequence dannyp1 Amiga scene 2 04 January 2016 21:56
ed s:startup-sequence Astrofra Member Introductions 2 24 February 2013 23:09
startup-sequence mai support.Other 10 01 June 2010 22:39
Startup-Sequence blade002 support.Apps 8 04 April 2008 20:06
Need help with startup-sequence lopos2000 support.Apps 5 01 August 2005 12:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.34585 seconds with 13 queries