English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2012, 21:03   #21
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 40
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
There's two kinds of cables..

In one sort, the wires correspond to the pin numbers, and in the other the wires correspond to the actual pin positions..

So if you have a D9:

Code:
1 2 3 4 5
 6 7 8 9
The wires in the flat cable can correspond to the D9's pins in the following ways:

123456789
or
162738495

I don't know which one is supported by the A1200, perhaps someone can take a look at theirs.
Old thread but its what came up when I searched so I'll just add my 2c here. I just made up a couple of these based on the rev2 schematic found here-

http://www.devili.iki.fi/mirrors/4x4.hopto.org/

These should be wired the second way you describe. ie-

Code:
IDC pin     DB9 pin
   1           1
   2           6
   3           2
   4           7
   5           3
   6           8
   7           4
   8           9
   9           5
   10        no connection
This works for at least the mouse and I assume therefore anything else on the rev1D4 I have here.
jimbob is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 21:18   #22
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
I have an A1200 Rev 1-D-4 motherboard out of the case on the bench ATM.

I will check the wiring of the motherboard header to the DB9 connector tomorrow.
prowler is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 21:47   #23
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 887
i have 2 cable, one original and one self-made, if you need more info or schematics
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 03:07   #24
bbond007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MIAMI/USA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by _ThEcRoW View Post
Well i recently purchased a spare mobo for my 1200, but i noticed that one of the joy/mouse ports is missing. There are no signs of broken parts or so, and i suspect that the second port was simply detached, as it seems to be one connection that has n othing.
It's a rev 1D4.
So anyone know what is happening with this board?.
Glad you got it figured out.

I would have just gotten one of these...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-USB-Mo...item1c1ee2d4da

the USB is not real USB though, still need a mouse that does ps/2
bbond007 is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 20:44   #25
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
There's two kinds of cables..

In one sort, the wires correspond to the pin numbers, and in the other the wires correspond to the actual pin positions..

So if you have a D9:

Code:
1 2 3 4 5
 6 7 8 9
The wires in the flat cable can correspond to the D9's pins in the following ways:

123456789
or
162738495

I don't know which one is supported by the A1200, perhaps someone can take a look at theirs.
The correct wiring is as follows:
Code:
IDC pin     DB9 pin
   1           1
   2           6
   3           2
   4           7
   5           3
   6           8
   7           4
   8           9
   9           5
   10        no connection
I have attached a shot of the cable, motherboard header and mouse port.

Pin 1 of the motherboard header is at the lower right. The 1 is obscured by a label, but if you look carefully, you can just still see it.

I have attached a gender-changer to the mouse port, the better to connect my testmeter probe.

THe IDC header pins are arranged as follows:
Code:
    10   9
     8   7
     6   5
     4   3
     2   1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A1200Port.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	205.6 KB
ID:	32730  

Last edited by prowler; 27 September 2012 at 20:51.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 21:03   #26
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi guys

or just get this from amigkit

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=667
johnim is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 21:45   #27
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Ok, here's my two eurocents:

Don't get it from Amigakit, don't get it from Vesalia, don't get it from GGS-Data, don't get it from Gentle Eye, don't get it from Software Hut, etc.

Build it yourself with the info that was provided here instead. Enjoy the feeling you get after you made something with your own hands.

The point of this subforum is to provide information and instructions and to help people out with their problems. If someone wants to buy their way out of whatever problem they're experiencing, I'm willing to bet they already know who to call.

Once the remaining Amiga sellers quit the scene one by one, the information to build the mouse port cable will still be available here in this thread. Hopefully various search engines / the internet archive will cache it too in case this forum disappears one day.
Jope is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 21:57   #28
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Don't get it from Amigakit, don't get it from Vesalia, don't get it from GGS-Data, don't get it from Gentle Eye, don't get it from Software Hut, etc.

Build it yourself with the info that was provided here instead. Enjoy the feeling you get after you made something with your own hands.
Yep, it is even possible to convert an old PC serial header cable with the alternate wiring to work in your Amiga using the aforementioned information by carefully prising open the IDC connector and rerouting the wires to the appropriate pins before squeezing it closed again (Bippy's intended hack?)
prowler is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 22:05   #29
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Yep, it is even possible to convert an old PC serial header cable with the alternate wiring to work in your Amiga using the aforementioned information by carefully prising open the IDC connector and rerouting the wires to the appropriate pins before squeezing it closed again (Bippy's intended hack?)
If you have a little desktop vise, it's very easy to crimp IDC connectors with that.

And if your cable was already crimped and you're just rearranging it, you can just press the wires into the new positions with your fingernail and then close the connector back again. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 22:20   #30
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
If you have a little desktop vise, it's very easy to crimp IDC connectors with that.
Yep, that's exactly what I use for the job - one with nice, smooth, polished jaws (no knurling!).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
And if your cable was already crimped and you're just rearranging it, you can just press the wires into the new positions with your fingernail and then close the connector back again. :-)
You must have read my mind.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 22:41   #31
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
sorry i was only trying to help

i have rewired my own on 2 1d4s
johnim is offline  
Old 28 September 2012, 09:25   #32
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
sorry i was only trying to help
Don't worry, I know you had the best interests in mind. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 28 September 2012, 16:58   #33
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,550
For anyone who doesn't own a vice, I find that a rubber mallet or a hammer works quite well. The connectors don't need a lot of force to be applied.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 28 September 2012, 19:47   #34
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
For the 10 pin ones, yes.. Don't hammer floppy, ide or scsi connectors - you'll end up snapping the back more often than not.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 September 2012, 20:12   #35
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,696
I was usin vise grips with welded plates until i got fed up of it and then broke down and bought one of these beasties, work with all sizes...

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/IDC-IDS-Ribbo...item46076525e8
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 September 2012, 21:51   #36
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Yep, the right tool makes it very easy. The same goes for just about any crimpable connector. :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 01 October 2012, 10:57   #37
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
cost reduced, large pcbs are expensive to make
Really? I thought paying some one to manually connect a cable and DB9 plug would cost more, I mean how many can one person do per hour? especially if they have to screw it to the case afterwards.
redblade is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 Expansion port not working john1979 support.Hardware 13 03 March 2013 05:01
A1200 mouse port musojon74 support.Hardware 4 01 December 2011 23:27
A1200 Game Port Malfunctions? Please help investor support.Hardware 5 09 March 2007 14:25
A1200 mouse port pinball_dreads support.Hardware 3 17 February 2005 18:31
A1200 hanging when using parallell port mrpijey support.Hardware 4 27 November 2002 19:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08546 seconds with 14 queries