English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 October 2014, 22:43   #1
Ox.
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sunderland UK
Age: 49
Posts: 21
RGB scart from A1200 to lcd problem

I recently purchased an rgb scart cable from amigakit (modified for use with lcd tv's) and after much deliberation my lcd tv won't work with the A1200, nothing wrong with the cable or tv per se they just aren't compatible, the a1200 boot screen loses the purple background colour and the screen blacks out on and off.

Anyone know specifically what the issue is here (the tv is a Bush 19134HD) and what the possible fix is before I go off and buy another cable to mod?

Last edited by Ox.; 08 October 2014 at 00:49.
Ox. is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 00:52   #2
Ox.
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sunderland UK
Age: 49
Posts: 21
There are some resistors on some lines of the scart connector, I'm wondering if these need to be removed to work with my tv or whether it needs different value resistors?
Ox. is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 02:09   #3
voxel
Amiga Nuts!
voxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Le Mayet d'Ecole, 03800, FRANCE
Posts: 165
pictures please, before removing anything ^^)
voxel is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 02:29   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Sounds to me that either the Fast Blanking voltage is either too high or too low.

I suspect you have one of "Those" display panels that is some what very temperamental on the input voltage that selects RGB.

Pin 16 is of the SCART is the decider here, you need to know the following

1. What voltage is being supplied (I suspect 5vcc but CHECK with AmigaKit)
2. What resistor is being applies (I suspect something like 330Ohms - check)
3. What load resistor is in the LCD panel (and this is the bit that will require a bit of effort)

From what I had read here, I suspect that this LCD TV Panel has a higher than 75ohm pull down (on pin 16) - if this is so, then its possible the input voltage is too low < 1volt pp.

While unlikely it is possible that there is NO pull down on the input of pin 16 which would mean the voltage could be to high > 3v pp.

I seriously suspect the former and you will have to investigate more.

Firstly I only encourage you to contact AmigaKit where you purchased the cable to seek their advice, for me to attempt a work-around, I would drop the input resistor 100 Ohms and see what happened.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 08:47   #5
Coltch
Registered User
Coltch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 108
Get this on one of my LCD TV'S on A500, A600 and A1200 - the cables are fine (from Amigakit) as I don't have issues on any other screen.

If I manually select an AV channel it seems fine but my other TV'S don't require that...in fairness the TV is only a cheap one and I have others to use....reminds me I must get my spare 1084s back up and running.
Coltch is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 13:14   #6
Ox.
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sunderland UK
Age: 49
Posts: 21
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Sounds to me that either the Fast Blanking voltage is either too high or too low.

I suspect you have one of "Those" display panels that is some what very temperamental on the input voltage that selects RGB.

Pin 16 is of the SCART is the decider here, you need to know the following

1. What voltage is being supplied (I suspect 5vcc but CHECK with AmigaKit)
2. What resistor is being applies (I suspect something like 330Ohms - check)
3. What load resistor is in the LCD panel (and this is the bit that will require a bit of effort)

From what I had read here, I suspect that this LCD TV Panel has a higher than 75ohm pull down (on pin 16) - if this is so, then its possible the input voltage is too low < 1volt pp.

While unlikely it is possible that there is NO pull down on the input of pin 16 which would mean the voltage could be to high > 3v pp.

I seriously suspect the former and you will have to investigate more.

Firstly I only encourage you to contact AmigaKit where you purchased the cable to seek their advice, for me to attempt a work-around, I would drop the input resistor 100 Ohms and see what happened.
That narrow it down thanks Zetro
Tbh with Amigakit I think they would be very hard pushed finding the correct value resistor without having the tv to hand and searching the internet I could'nt find anything on the tv myself so it looks like it has to be trial and error. Would it be advisable to place a variable resistor on line 16 until I find the correct value?
I just wish Amigakit had'nt hot glued the connectors as now it will have to be a hack job.
Ox. is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 14:05   #7
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ox. View Post
Would it be advisable to place a variable resistor on line 16 until I find the correct value?
Yes it would be, but it might be easier to try putting resistors of different values in parallel with the existing resistor until you find one which works.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 15:18   #8
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,163
Isopropanol (isopropyl alcohol) removes hot glue pretty easily. Of course if the whole connector is totally filled it's still going to take some doing

The variable resistor trick is a good idea. Remember though that if it's in parallel with the existing resistor, you can't get a higher resistance value than what is already there (and in series you can't go lower).
ajk is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 16:40   #9
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
Remember - modern LCD are at best 3.3V devices - weird brand can be less robust (poorer design) than good brands. Placing to high voltage (higher than Vcc) on some SCART input pins can damage permanently TV (TV should have protection on all inputs but... cost reduction, worse design, lack of testing and...).
All measurements on SCART pins should be performed on load - nominal load for pin 8 is 10kOhm, for pin 16 is 75 Ohm.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 18:10   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
Ian Steadman thought the most likely cable faults to affect LCDTv's were :

1) FAST BLANKING : Some users have said a 220 ohm (instead of the 75 ohm he originally recommend) should be used on SCART pin 16.

2) COMPOSITE_SYNC : voltages, the Amiga voltage range for that pin is TTL which is not the same range as the SCART voltage for that pin. Adding a 330 ohm resistor on SCART pin 20 will fix this.

3) No AC coupling. Adding 220uF capacitors in series on the RGB lines (SCART pins 7, 11 and 15) may help

http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...iga_scart.html
alexh is offline  
Old 09 October 2014, 01:09   #11
Ox.
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sunderland UK
Age: 49
Posts: 21
Thanks for the replys everyone, I'm now forearmed to make a stab at getting this cable working with my display.
Ox. is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 12:22   #12
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
I had exactly the same problem, in the end I just got a different LCD TV. They're so cheap now it's not worth the effort of troubleshooting, and if the TV doesn't like the Amiga's output there's not much you can do about it.
edd_jedi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GBS 8200 vs SCART rgb lcd tv ? demether support.Hardware 1 13 May 2014 20:12
Australia LCD TV with RGB-SCART at Dick Smith superpete support.Hardware 14 11 October 2011 04:36
A1200 Scart -> Lcd N-Ed support.Hardware 3 19 March 2011 13:42
A1200 Scart to LCD TV MrGimper support.Hardware 14 21 September 2010 20:06
RGB to Scart Cable Doesn't work in my Grundig LCD TV paulo_becas support.Other 12 04 April 2010 14:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.79196 seconds with 15 queries