English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 June 2010, 15:00   #1
ghost_of_war
Registered User
ghost_of_war's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 57
Amiga Explorer

Anyone use this software? Is it as easy as they make it sound? Curious...
ghost_of_war is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 June 2010, 15:10   #2
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 785
Yeh its fairly straight forward though ive only ever used it via a serial cable which makes it extremely slow, so i usually just opt for taking the CF card out and hooking it up via winuae. When i get chance I need to get one of my network adaptors working on the a1200
deicidal is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 15:12   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,048
It is very easy to use.

It has a self-install mechanism. All you need is a workbench on a floppy disk (or hard drive).

It is very slow over serial but reasonable over ethernet.

If you have an A1200 / A600 then it is much easier to use a PCMCIA->CF adapter + card. The PCMCIA->CF card driver is free on aminet as is the FAT95 file system which allows you to use Windows file system.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 15:25   #4
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,028
Its free now by the way. No longer crippleware. You can choose to register it so try it out, nothing to lose.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 15:47   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,048
Oooh. I would still recommend registering it, if you use it. That way there is a chance it will remain maintained.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloanto
Trial Version

Amiga Explorer is shareware, i.e. it is free to try with no functional limitations. In this way, you can make sure that your hardware and cabling work fine and that the software satisfies your needs before purchasing it.

To install the evaluation software just download it from the link on this page and follow the setup instructions. If you like the software you can purchase a license key at any time.

Thank you to all customers who register the software and contribute to the project.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 16:10   #6
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,175
cereal connection mode gives it more of an authentic feel imo. This is probably why I still use floppies
Paul_s is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 16:14   #7
ghost_of_war
Registered User
ghost_of_war's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 57
Yeah, I will be using an A500 with a null modem cable (serial) connected to a laptop with a serial (USB) adapter. It appears as though it writes the .adf file (game) write to the Amiga drive and not to a PC floppy drive first, correct? Or, is that what it does. It's been a while since I used an Amiga so I am also trying to remember if I need to put in my Workbench 1.2 floppy into the Amiga after I turn it on.... sorry of this all sounds confusing.
ghost_of_war is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 18:00   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost_of_war View Post
Yeah, I will be using an A500 with a null modem cable (serial) connected to a laptop with a serial (USB) adapter. It appears as though it writes the .adf file (game) write to the Amiga drive and not to a PC floppy drive first, correct?
Indeed. PC floppy drives are not used at all with Amiga Explorer.

Quote:
Or, is that what it does. It's been a while since I used an Amiga so I am also trying to remember if I need to put in my Workbench 1.2 floppy into the Amiga after I turn it on.... sorry of this all sounds confusing.
Make a work copy of your WB1.2 disk, then use that to perform the initial setup for Amiga Explorer. The manual and software dialog boxes show you the way, just read them carefully and do exactly as they say.

If you don't have enough room on the wb copy for AExplore and AExplore.info, you can delete the contents of devs:printers to free up some space.
Jope is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 18:12   #9
ghost_of_war
Registered User
ghost_of_war's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 57
I am waiting on an external floppy drive, so I will make a copy of my WB1.2 floppy then. I just have to remember how to copy from one drive to another on an Amiga LOL
ghost_of_war is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 18:19   #10
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 785
I always liked dcopy for duplicating disks
deicidal is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 20:29   #11
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I use AmigaExplorer quite often, as my pc desk is near the Amiga desk.

At 56000bps the transfer is not much slow (Amiga 68000 with baud bandit, accelerated ones with no LAN cards using new8n1.device, with LAN I mount Samba).
rkauer is offline  
Old 07 June 2010, 20:30   #12
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 781
I use Amiga Explorer via ethernet and it works like a charme and it´s very quick nothing more to say
AlfaRomeo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Explorer and Genesis protek support.Hardware 5 18 August 2011 16:36
Amiga Explorer Help ghost_of_war support.Hardware 11 02 August 2010 21:04
Amiga Explorer simono71 support.Other 11 19 June 2009 03:02
Help with Amiga Explorer adgloride support.Apps 2 10 May 2006 13:55
Help using Amiga Explorer Framerate New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 18 May 2003 15:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07294 seconds with 13 queries