English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 September 2019, 09:30   #21
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
If Doom ran bad on Your 386DX it means You have slow graphics card.
Yet another time, time and work where wasted on pathetic fight with dumb cost reduction at Commodore.
At 1992 Amiga should have chunky pixels in standard.
Time and work wasted on this crap may be better spend on making cheap graphics card for a500.
Which graphics card would you have recommended to play Doom on a 386 back in around 1993/94?

I dont recall seeing any advertised back then, not to say they didn't exist.

I did of course jump into GPU's later in the 90's but I was running a Pentium 200MMX by then, which handled Doom just fine without the 3DFX Banshee I later threw inside it.

I note 3dfx and the whole 3D GPU market emerged around 95?

Before that I thought the way to make things run faster, was all around CPU and RAM, and Maths co-processors.

It was a long time ago though. I could be wrong.
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 09:43   #22
skan
emul-hat0r

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carnorum Regio
Age: 43
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
Let's be honest here, doing anything on the Amiga nowadays is a waste of time. But it's a _FUN_ waste of time
Dude, life itself is a waste of time, that's why we fill it with varying degrees of _FUN_! ;D
skan is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 09:56   #23
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by 005AGIMA View Post
It's impressive as fk.
[...]
I actually can't believe it's running on a stock 1MB A500. Blows my mind.
(and I am not a fan of Doom)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
Only 12 FPS at 160x100.
No textures on ceiling and floor, so it is still Wolf not real DOOM.
Waste of time, and yet another proof that for 3D Amiga need graphics with chunky pixels.
Calling an hobby or a pation a "waste of time" means that you should be an boring person. Have you never practiced extra activities like music, sport, reading, cooking, movie watching, (retro-)computing, etc. as hobby ?
No, for sure, it's a waste of time... .
malko is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 09:58   #24
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
(and I am not a fan of Doom)


Calling an hobby or a pation a "waste of time" means that you should be an boring person. Have you never practiced extra activities like music, sport, reading, cooking, movie watching, (retro-)computing, etc. as hobby ?
No, for sure, it's a waste of time... .
Sitting at a desk in an office is a waste of time and life.

But they pay me well for it
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 09:59   #25
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
Only 12 FPS at 160x100.
No textures on ceiling and floor, so it is still Wolf not real DOOM.
Waste of time, and yet another proof that for 3D Amiga need graphics with chunky pixels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
Time and work wasted on this crap may be better spend on making cheap graphics card for a500.
Once again you spew bollox out of your mouth, give some respect to the developer for what he is doing, the calculations and maths needed to even work shit like this out to run on a 7mhz is mind boggling something your braincell obviously can’t comprehend.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 02 September 2019, 11:46   #26
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 513
Not sure why some of you are wasting a time with a troll that sounds like a broken record.

Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
Let's be honest here, doing anything on the Amiga nowadays is a waste of time. But it's a _FUN_ waste of time
So, what's your overall impression about this?
Can parts (tricks) from your engine further enhance this, or/and can you use some of these tricks to enhance your engine?
I am a (more then a) noob in all this coding, but some other members can find your feedback useful (and author too, if he looks at this thread).
---------------

@Anyone
Maybe somebody should call this guy to join a forum, and open a development thread, so he can share and learn with other coders (and we have great coders here).
d4rk3lf is online now  
Old 02 September 2019, 11:58   #27
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
Can parts (tricks) from your engine further enhance this, or/and can you use some of these tricks to enhance your engine?
As far as I can see both engines are using vastly different approaches, so I don't think they could benefit that much from each other.
britelite is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 12:26   #28
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 287
This was very impressive. The main things are: organizing the pixels in a blitter-friendly interleaved format (2-pass blitter C2P), very tight pre-compiled CPU scalers using the stack register, running the blitter completely in parallel with the CPU-based rendering.
There were also a game specific tricks (how the visibility is pre-computed, only 3 ceiling heights and pre-computing each case, etc.).
I also liked his Wolf3D style demo with the blitter scaler. It looked kind of janky in motion, but using the blitter to do scaling was an interesting idea.
BSzili is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 13:25   #29
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by 005AGIMA View Post
Sitting at a desk in an office is a waste of time and life.
But they pay me well for it

Any open position in your company ? Depending on the salary, I may also reconsider my "waste of time" .
malko is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 15:31   #30
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
[...] @Anyone
Maybe somebody should call this guy to join a forum, and open a development thread, so he can share and learn with other coders (and we have great coders here).
Mail sent. Let's see if he has time to come wandering around here .
malko is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 20:18   #31
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
If Doom ran bad on Your 386DX it means You have slow graphics card.
Yet another time, time and work where wasted on pathetic fight with dumb cost reduction at Commodore.
At 1992 Amiga should have chunky pixels in standard.
Time and work wasted on this crap may be better spend on making cheap graphics card for a500.
Graphics card for a 68000@7 MHz?
duga is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 20:21   #32
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,307
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
Graphics card for a 68000@7 MHz?
It would need an integrated accelerator like a Vampire. Oh wait...
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 20:55   #33
swinkamor12
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 75
DOOM on 386DX run good if you do not buy cheapest graphics card.
The only way to have good 3D graphics on amiga is add something with chunky pixels.
Rest of world change to chunky pixels many years ago but some amiga fanatics as usually has problem with it.
160x100 without textures on ceiling and floors it is pathetic.
I do not want to see this crap on my Amiga.
swinkamor12 is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 21:03   #34
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 543
We are speaking of a 68000 at 7mhz and a chipset from 1985.
Cant you see the difference?
tolkien is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 21:03   #35
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,461
Are you always so damn negative swinkamor12?

...so you don't want to see this "crap on your Amiga"; no one is forcing you to and stop trolling the thread.

I think it's time to review all your posts; if you are constantly like this then...
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 21:04   #36
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,366
Pathetic! I don't want to read this on EAB
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 21:07   #37
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 513
@swinkamor12
If it's pathetic to you, what you are doing on this thread?
Leave us, poor blind souls, to enjoy our ignorance.
You already said your opinion, so what's the point of saying it again?

If you continue like this, it's obviously then that your goal is to make a flame on this thread. If your intentions are honorable, then you can just create your own thread with name like: Amiga is crap for 3D, and there we can discuss your points, and comment every game, including this one.
d4rk3lf is online now  
Old 02 September 2019, 21:14   #38
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,056
@swinkamor12

troll
vulture is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 21:21   #39
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro1234 View Post
pathetic! I don't want to read this on eab
+1
Amigajay is online now  
Old 02 September 2019, 22:14   #40
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinkamor12 View Post
DOOM on 386DX run good if you do not buy cheapest graphics card.
The only way to have good 3D graphics on amiga is add something with chunky pixels.
Rest of world change to chunky pixels many years ago but some amiga fanatics as usually has problem with it.
160x100 without textures on ceiling and floors it is pathetic.
I do not want to see this crap on my Amiga.
I don't know If you're trolling or being serious, but Doom does not run well on a 386DX. A DX 40mhz, with a massive 256kb cache, 16mb ram and the blazingly fast Diamond SpeedStar will still only manage to get passable framerates with a reduced window size and low detail graphics. I have two different 386 configs, this being among the fastest you could possibly put together, and it runs doom significantly slower then even a 25mhz 486sx with the same graphics card.

But more importantly, you really shouldn't be this negative about someone contributing to our hobby. It's quite stunning how rude you are being. Please remember that while you are not in the same room as the people reading your comments, actual humans are in a conversation with you and among them might be the person who made this. I hope you are not the kind of person who would behave like this in a sosial situation. Try not to do it online as well!
Overmann is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga DRAM chip tester for HYB-514256B with Arduino UNO - Amiga 500/500+ andy2018 support.Hardware 0 31 October 2018 22:27
Amiga 500 Rev.6A VS Amiga 500 Plus with 2MB chip and ACA 500 turrican9 support.Hardware 0 24 December 2016 03:16
Final Fight on AMIGA 500+ (500 Plus), not 500! padremayi support.Games 55 09 March 2016 21:39
Possible to port Alien Breed 3D maps to Doom? (I know AB3D has features Doom can't) dex Coders. General 2 21 January 2012 23:06
GL Doom for Amiga fitzsteve support.Games 1 09 November 2010 13:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15939 seconds with 16 queries