English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 October 2010, 02:15   #1
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 43
Posts: 849
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
WinUAE 2.3.0 (32bit & 64bit): HDF not working...

I have a 512mb hardfile I ever used with any WinUAE version. It worked on new WinUAE 2.3.0 only once, then it does not work. I also restored a backup (I have many ) but it seems WinUAE does not like my HDF.

The HDF is recognized as HD0 but after the Workbench is loaded I can't access DH0 anymore...
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 02 October 2010, 02:22   #2
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 43
Posts: 849
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Stop the press, maybe I solved it. I used the HDF with and older version of WinUAE (it worked perfectly) , the I tried it again on the x64 2.3.0 version... it worked again. I really don't know what is happened...
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 02 October 2010, 09:29   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,108
"not working" is meaningless..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 October 2010, 12:24   #4
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 43
Posts: 849
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"not working" is meaningless..
You're right but... it's difficult to explain and found a correct word as it's really weird!!!!!

Uhm... simply it is not recognized, the emulator starts and freeze or start until the workbench screen and then you can use any icon, you ever get an error message "can't access device DH0:" ... but you use this HDF with an older version of WinUAE and the use it again the 2.3.0, it works again...
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 02 October 2010, 12:27   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,108
logfiles... from both working and non-working condition..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 October 2010, 14:27   #6
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 43
Posts: 849
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Now it's all woking... if it will fail again I will post logfiles. Thank you.
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 02 October 2010, 18:41   #7
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 38
Posts: 278
Sounds almost like the drive bitmap had been invalidated at some point (although that normally still allows read-only access while validating). Might be worth running DiskSalv on your HDF and see if there are any other issues lurking in there?
LocalH is offline  
Old 02 October 2010, 20:20   #8
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 43
Posts: 849
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
I restored a backup. it's all ok now...

EDIT: I thanked too it could be validating but the disk activity "led" was still...

Last edited by MazinKaesar; 03 October 2010 at 02:18.
MazinKaesar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Success: CW3 + Win7 64bit + WinUAE 2.0.1 arnljot support.WinUAE 0 29 December 2009 20:29
Gamebase 1.6 under Vista 64bit latest Winuae beta Mclane project.MAGE 12 23 July 2009 10:49
Help With getting Quake I & II working on WinUAE please? HonoredShadow New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 22 October 2005 22:39
WinUAE in 32bit mode Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 20 August 2004 16:17
Working ADF's in WinUAE 08.21r1&2 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 1 07 April 2002 16:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09224 seconds with 13 queries