English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2006, 19:29   #1
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
Bloodwych Ripping

Sorry to be a pain in the butt but anyone able to explain to a complete newbie how to rip stuff, I've got winuae and steem setup but want to rip gfx from bloodwych.

I also downloaded Gfxrip 1.05

Any advice welcome, cheers!

Last edited by MadMunkey; 01 March 2006 at 19:43.
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 26 February 2006, 20:00   #2
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 94
I posted a brief thread covering the basics which has been stickied ("Ripping Sprites - Technique") which may be of some help.

I'll try to make it a bit more comprehensive when I get time.

(Also available from here)
method is offline  
Old 26 February 2006, 22:03   #3
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
Yeah i read that thanks, but still not getting anythink I can get kind of a picture in black and white and they are still distorted is gfxripper the best program to use? anyone tried to got anything from bloodwych before?
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 26 February 2006, 22:10   #4
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 94
Bloodwych probably isn't the best one to practice with (I still can't rip that one!!.. whereas others have been much easier.)
method is offline  
Old 26 February 2006, 22:30   #5
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
haha dame it, always the way. Bloodwych is the only one im interested in Is there any way to adjusted the X Size by 1 rather than 8?
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 13:34   #6
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 94
I've found a way to rip all the graphics out of Bloodwych but it involves a load of manual work in Paint Shop Pro!!! ... or at least... it did...

to get around having to do this manual work over and over again.. I've written a lame little VB application that helps extrapolate every other line and rebuild the images as they should be viewed.

Really though.. it's only going to be useful for a small number of games.
Attached Files
File Type: zip splitting_lines.zip (68.4 KB, 169 views)
method is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 13:38   #7
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,720
@method maybe you could team up with Tomcat so this function can be added to gfxripper directly?

Sounds cool
BippyM is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 14:52   #8
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 94
Tomcat codes in C... I code in everything but C !!!

I've got a couple of ideas for Tomcat to play with, but it just depends if he think he'll have time to add anything to gfxrip!?!

The function my app does is simple... it just splits every other line up so you end up with two images.. and all it does to do that is call the BitBlt windows API. (He could code this in 2 minutes too.. i'm sure.)

Anyway, whatever I do here, everyone is welcome to the source code.
Attached Files
File Type: zip HLS_Source.zip (6.1 KB, 134 views)
method is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 15:52   #9
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
Well u manage to get colour in your gfxrip any tip on how you got the pallet as all i could get was black and white stuff

Cheers for the files I'll play around, (Im sure i did this before though without too much hassle but cant remember if it was on ST or Amiga and also what program i used... Dame it!!)
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 16:36   #10
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 94
----------

To get the gfx I got from Bloodwych..

Set Height to whatever you're comfortable with ("W" and "S" control height)
Set Width to 16 ("Q" and "A" control width)
Set Sprite Mode to 'ST' ("M" toggles through sprite modes)
Set Bitplanes to 4 ("E" and "D" control number of bitplanes)

Then find the images you want to view (this is where you are I guess???)

Now to find the correct colors...

Press "L" to cycle through the available palettes. (Just use the default "PalE" palette-search-mode for Bloodwych)

If it doesn't appear to use the correct colours... use the left and right arrow keys... this will effectively rotate the 4 bitplanes.

-----------

Palette Searching In General

There are different types of "palette-search" modes.
You can toggle through these with the 'Z' key.

Then, to jump between the different palettes, you press "L".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gfxrip_bloodwych_example.gif
Views:	293
Size:	14.5 KB
ID:	10407  

Last edited by method; 27 February 2006 at 18:57.
method is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 18:09   #11
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by method
if it doesn't appear to use the correct colours... use the left and right arrow keys... this will effectively rotate the 4 bitplanes.
the blue / red / white / grey one (as seen in the pic) is definately right if theres any confusion on this.

this is because the game remaps the colours for different characters / monsters / objects etc... i had the beginning of some sprite rips a long time ago, but sadly these were lost in an HD crash.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 19:22   #12
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 94
Also.. as a quick reference... the main keys I use for 90% of ripping are highlighted in the attached image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	keys.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	10408  
method is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 19:27   #13
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
sorry have to ask, what do you use for files, saved memory state? etc...
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 27 February 2006, 19:46   #14
method
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 94
I use WinUAE and "Save State" to ".USS" files. (Found under the "Misc" tab)
method is offline  
Old 28 February 2006, 01:50   #15
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
with bloodwych tho might you not be better using the main bloodwych executable? what with it being an uncompressed dos file and everything? less data than a savestate.

dunno - just guessing - good luck madmunkey!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 28 February 2006, 16:01   #16
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
Does anyone else get the feeling it might be easyer doing screenshots for this game, Ive had a quick play and found the following parts...

Man this game it put together nicely, too bad that means its a pain to rip!

If anyone want to have fun with a gfx program and start putting stuff together feel free
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bloodwych Rip1.jpg
Views:	461
Size:	184.1 KB
ID:	10415   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bloodwych Rip2.jpg
Views:	407
Size:	198.6 KB
ID:	10416  
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 28 February 2006, 19:54   #17
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
I remember how i did it before, which seems alot easyer

I know it not Amiga but i used to use Ultimate Ripper for Steem and it works grate, can only seem to find these shots for bloodwych, amazing how they seemed to much ingame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bloodst1.jpg
Views:	273
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	10417   Click image for larger version

Name:	bloodst2.jpg
Views:	315
Size:	134.4 KB
ID:	10418   Click image for larger version

Name:	bloodst3.jpg
Views:	287
Size:	136.4 KB
ID:	10419  
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 28 February 2006, 19:56   #18
MadMunkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 26
Wont let me upload any more
MadMunkey is offline  
Old 01 March 2006, 00:23   #19
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by method
Tomcat codes in C... I code in everything but C !!!
You have a friend in me.
Photon is offline  
Old 01 March 2006, 01:50   #20
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
that's more like it MunkeyMate!

the rips even look familiar now...

any chance of 16-colour gifs out of the ripping-proggie tho, rather than the jpgs?

i could cut all the right bits out in dpaint for you then then....
Hungry Horace is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 4 Newbie tainted Member Introductions 2 16 October 2011 05:26
Another Newbie danhans Member Introductions 18 23 April 2009 18:18
GAMES: 1) impossible to complete, 2) almost completed, 3) you will complete adamst85 Retrogaming General Discussion 33 28 November 2004 15:30
newbie deckard109 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 May 2002 19:23
Newbie Avinitlarge New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 18 November 2001 23:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09020 seconds with 14 queries