English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 September 2007, 20:10   #21
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 50
Posts: 54
Yeah, it does look like a valid RNC header.



- RNC1
- Decompressed file is 0x00007d00 bytes
- Compressed file is 0x00002542 bytes
- Output CRC is 0x8206
- Input CRC is 0xBCA0

But I've tried with http://www.yoda.arachsys.com/dk/rnc.html and some RNC ProPack I've found somewhere else (can't locate URL). Both failed.
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 02 September 2007, 20:37   #22
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyverbe View Post
but the only two RNC decompressors I've found say "CRC error".
And they are? Give us their names. I use XFD package for it. I have also some small tool for decrunching but I can recall its name.
mailman is offline  
Old 02 September 2007, 22:44   #23
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 50
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman View Post
And they are? Give us their names. I use XFD package for it. I have also some small tool for decrunching but I can recall its name.
Like I said in the previous post, I've tried with the one linked at http://www.yoda.arachsys.com/dk/rnc.html, and I've managed to locate the other one I've tried: http://www.devrs.com/gb/software.php (under "Compression / RNC 2.14").

I've extracted one of the file and attached it to this mail, if you want to give it a shot.
Attached Files
File Type: zip RNCFile.zip (8.8 KB, 175 views)
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 00:24   #24
zenox98
Komakino

zenox98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Yorkshire
Age: 54
Posts: 174
Propack on PC doesn't recognise it but xfd on miggy depacked it fine.

Attached here: Attachment 14645

Last edited by zenox98; 06 June 2013 at 12:30.
zenox98 is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 14:57   #25
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 50
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenox98 View Post
Propack on PC doesn't recognise it but xfd on miggy depacked it fine.
Cool. I don't know much about the Amiga, but from I've read on the net, I assume "Miggy" is a another way to call an Amiga?

I couldn't find xfd for PC, so I would need set WinUAE, find+download kickstart/workbench, find that xfd decompressor and learn how all this works. Eek.

But thanks guys. You've been helpful!

Last edited by Lyverbe; 04 September 2007 at 19:37.
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 04 September 2007, 23:25   #26
zenox98
Komakino

zenox98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Yorkshire
Age: 54
Posts: 174
Soz for the quaint English colloquialism

Yes a miggy is an Amiga. If you need help setting up winuae with xfd (it isn't hard) then there are loads of people more knowledgeable on here than me, but if you ask, we'll help, I'm sure!
zenox98 is offline  
Old 28 November 2007, 14:22   #27
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 50
Posts: 54
I've disassembled the map generator and created a section on my Captive site that explains how maps are generated (with Antony Crowther's permission, of course).

Letting you know in case you care
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 28 November 2007, 15:14   #28
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,717
wow i am impressed

It might be worth doing some dev work
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 November 2007, 17:45   #29
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
like adding CD32 button mapping for movement Bippy?

(are there other keybaord controls? i forget)


might make me play it instead of Liberation some time :P


oh and i guess that would need a mouse->joystick patch to go with (or youd use both)

Last edited by Hungry Horace; 28 November 2007 at 17:54.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 28 November 2007, 18:36   #30
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,093
jesus, I am truly amazed how complex Captive really is. To make all that work so quickly on an Amiga 500 with only 512kb memory to waste :s I bow to the masters of ye olde days.
gimbal is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 04:36   #31
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,717
I too am impressed. I am also impressed that someone has managed to figure out how it works, now we need to get a map program made that will allow us to accurately create maps
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 04:43   #32
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyverbe View Post
Cool. I don't know much about the Amiga, but from I've read on the net, I assume "Miggy" is a another way to call an Amiga?

I couldn't find xfd for PC, so I would need set WinUAE, find+download kickstart/workbench, find that xfd decompressor and learn how all this works. Eek.

But thanks guys. You've been helpful!
send me all the rnc compressed files and i'll decompress them for you and send back
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 14:24   #33
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 50
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
send me all the rnc compressed files and i'll decompress them for you and send back

Thanks, but the files are the graphic files that you've ripped except for one called "fed_MapView" that has no extension. I assume this is 68000 code not worth of our attention.
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 14:36   #34
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyverbe View Post
I've disassembled the map generator and created a section on my Captive site that explains how maps are generated (with Antony Crowther's permission, of course).
Great work.

So thats how the root finder works. It confused me because it worked "too well" in real-time, I was sure there was not enough cpu power to do that kind of route calculation in real-time. Really nice "automatic" solution
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 16:21   #35
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyverbe View Post
Thanks, but the files are the graphic files that you've ripped except for one called "fed_MapView" that has no extension. I assume this is 68000 code not worth of our attention.
Assuming the rnc files are not damaged I can decompress them all.

I'll check over the weekend as i'd like to play myself.

Looking at your explanations i don't quite understand how all this is generated from a seed value and results in the same maps being generated generally time in, timeo out.. maybe I miss something!
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 16:38   #36
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
Looking at your explanations i don't quite understand how all this is generated from a seed value and results in the same maps being generated generally time in, timeo out.. maybe I miss something!
Total Chaos does the same.
You can write:
Code:
Seed 1234 ; <- Put any number of your choice
GenerateNewDungeon
And it generates the same map on every computer in the universe.

With Total Chaos you can actually see the whole map at once from overhead view to confirm this easily.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 17:04   #37
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,717
I know this, but in the instructions it says it does some mathematical computations to the seed and then uses that.

I think to understand this properly I will need to resource the mapgen prog.. Guess I'm gonna be transferring my hdf's to my girlfriends laptop so I can have a play
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 18:13   #38
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
what i dont understand, is what you do with it once you understand it?

generate Captive maps for other games??? an AGA version perhaps?
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 20:12   #39
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 50
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
I know this, but in the instructions it says it does some mathematical computations to the seed and then uses that.
Lets say a random generator function does the following:

n = OldValue * 1234
n = (n + 29) & 0xffff
n = (n << 8) | (n & 0xff)
OldValue = n

If you initialize "OldValue" with the seed 1, calls to the mathematical operations above will create 61188, 3526, 35172, etc. If you initialize it with the seed 2, the same calls with create 49417, 32127, 12014, etc.

That's how a single seed number creates completely random numbers.
I didn't want to be too technical on the webpage to not confuse anyone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace
what i dont understand, is what you do with it once you understand it?
I implemented the map generator in my Captive utility called SuperCC. It allows you to instantly play any maps using the Atari ST Emulator. I was also tired of asking myself how the maps are generated!
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 29 November 2007, 23:21   #40
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
How do we use your map generator on the Amiga?
Amiga version has better graphics.
StrategyGamer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Captive help Obliterator support.Games 3 25 April 2011 21:04
Captive II frikilokooo support.Games 0 11 February 2011 22:58
Captive BippyM project.SPS (was CAPS) 43 28 March 2009 00:18
Captive 1.1 Lyverbe request.Old Rare Games 31 07 February 2008 16:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15474 seconds with 14 queries