English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 April 2015, 19:30   #1341
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
No thanks

What exactly do you need to be translated (don't say the requester), which word is too difficult to understand it and to check its meaning ?

The thingy is done now, finished
PeterK is offline  
Old 14 April 2015, 22:28   #1342
HanSolo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Gdynia/Poland
Posts: 162
Difficult ? No, but I have entire system translated to my native language, it 's just look like something is not right. Nevermind, thanks for your work.
HanSolo is offline  
Old 15 April 2015, 13:23   #1343
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
I found only one text (see below) that seems to be requester text. Just load the icon lib into a hexeditor and change it to your needs. Then check if it works and nothing is broken.

Code:
PNG Icon Snapshot==>  %s

Snapshot will convert
your PNG icon into the
standard OS 3.5 format!

Do you want to do that?
Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No
daxb is offline  
Old 16 April 2015, 00:26   #1344
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
If you want to change the text (but not the order and the %s placeholders), you can simply take any hex-editor and modify (translate or shorten) the strings starting at offset $584E. The button text starts at $58DE and ends at $591A, all in one string with "|" signs working as separators. Of course, every string has to be terminated with a $00 character finally.

@daxb
Are you still using that old and outdated icon.library ?

Last edited by PeterK; 10 May 2018 at 21:20.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 April 2015, 14:33   #1345
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
The text I found comes from an old (last year) icon.library version. It was the last one I tested (speed measure). And no, I still "use" icon.library 40.1.
daxb is offline  
Old 17 April 2015, 08:08   #1346
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET
 
Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 840
40.1 ? Nostalgia ?

Also the source is provided, it's easier to edit the strings in it and assemble it getting the proper version for your language if you need to, also in normal use you should not see the requester anyway.
Michael is offline  
Old 31 May 2015, 12:37   #1347
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET
 
Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 840
Final 46.4.409 full version on AmiNET!
Michael is offline  
Old 31 May 2015, 14:07   #1348
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 150
Nice Work
zharn is offline  
Old 20 June 2015, 06:16   #1349
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
 
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 45
Posts: 1,461
Hi, I am not sure if this is really a bug in the IconLib version on Aminet, when I use FBlit and enable drawing icons in Fast RAM with Workbench Preferences tool, any DefIcon temporary icon I drag with the mouse disappears while moving the mouse pointer.

I use "C:WBCtrl IMT=FAST" in startup-sequence, and for the icons, I enable only the option in FBlitGUI for "QBSBlitPatch". Everything else, is set to the defaults.

Do you have any clue whats wrong with it? Do not worry to ask.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 20 June 2015 at 06:45.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 22 June 2015, 00:11   #1350
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
So, you are using WB 3.9 without a gfx-card, just AGA, right ??

You don't need "C:WBCtrl IMT=FAST", setting Workbench preferences to "Other Memory" is enough.

If you enable QBSBlitPatch, which is correct for WB 3.5+, then you also have to disable AddBobPatch and RemIBobPatch. And make sure that the task "Workbench" is in your include list.

Or simply try out my FBlit.cfg file for WB 3.5+ from my icon.library archive.

Quote:
Do not worry to ask.
May I ask you for some feedback ?

Last edited by PeterK; 25 June 2015 at 01:53.
PeterK is offline  
Old 25 June 2015, 11:44   #1351
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
Update to icon.library 46.4.410:

This is a fix for FBlit when dragging ghosted DefIcons on WB 3.5+. It inverts the mask for the 50 % transparency to avoid that FBlit's dragging mask makes the icons invisible.
PeterK is offline  
Old 25 June 2015, 16:09   #1352
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
 
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 45
Posts: 1,461
Thanks PeterK, it works flawlessly.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 03:42   #1353
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Hi Peter,

I have a few suggestions and ideas.

1) Is it possible to recognize a "NoGhost" tooltype for default icons which would keep just that icon from ever being ghosted? It could be useful for testing as well as avoiding special handling of the ram disk icon during boot. If it is too difficult then never mind.

2) It should be a little faster to longword align longword data in the icon.library structure. The library structure is not longword aligned so there could be a small benefit to adding a word of padding after it. For example:

Code:
; $00 $22 struct library <- Warning: size is not a longword multiple!
; $22 $2 word padding <- we are longword aligned after this
; $24 $4 segmentlist
; $28 $4 execbase
...
Perhaps this would save a cycle from 68030 DCache longword reads? I believe the 68040/68060 would avoid the DCache read penalty unless a cache line is crossed. Write penalties are larger in all cases but they are less important for the commonly used xxxBase offsets. I doubt any difference in speed would be noticeable but it it a good idea to align data to their natural sizes, even on the forgiving 68k. The "padding" could be used for miscellaneous flags of course. I see now that you are not using symbols for the offsets in the icon.library structure so this might not be too easy.
Edit: The SignalSemaphore structure size is not a longword multiple either.

3) How about changing the English requester text from this:

Code:
PNG Icon Snapshot==>  %s

Snapshot will convert
your PNG icon into the
standard OS 3.5 format!

Do you want to do that?
Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No
to this:

Code:
PNG Icon Snapshot==>  %s

Should snapshot convert
your PNG icon into the
standard OS 3.5 format?

Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No
It looks better to me and saves a few bytes. Both are easy to understand IMO. You could capitalize the "snapshot" if you think it needs emphasis although I think lower case "looks" better.

Last edited by matthey; 26 June 2015 at 07:47.
matthey is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 10:18   #1354
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe
 
Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,195
I just would delete that request saying it will convert the icons. You know it will always do as long as you snapshot them in a drawer, like we all make from time to time.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 19:31   #1355
James
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post

3) How about changing the English requester text from this:

Code:
PNG Icon Snapshot==>  %s

Snapshot will convert
your PNG icon into the
standard OS 3.5 format!

Do you want to do that?
Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No
to this:

Code:
PNG Icon Snapshot==>  %s

Should snapshot convert
your PNG icon into the
standard OS 3.5 format?

Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No
It looks better to me and saves a few bytes. Both are easy to understand IMO. You could capitalize the "snapshot" if you think it needs emphasis although I think lower case "looks" better.
Sorry, but IMHO the first reads:

A snapshot WILL convert your icon, do you want to continue?

The second reads:

Would you like snapshot to also convert you icon?

I would still expect the snapshot to work when replying no in this case.
If the message is changed I would prefer to see something like this:

Snapshot will convert
PNG icons to a lower
quality OS 3.5 format!

Continue?
Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I just would delete that request saying it will convert the icons. You know it will always do as long as you snapshot them in a drawer, like we all make from time to time.
Not warning people they are about to reduce the quality of their icons would be very bad form IMHO...
James is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 19:40   #1356
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe
 
Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,195
But people want to snapshot their icons, and to retain the quality they only could do using AfAOS. That's my thought.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 20:08   #1357
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16
 
Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 66
Posts: 3,968
I just updated the icon.library to 46.4.410 and this happened? Any Ideas what's gone wrong.

Running on WinUAE A1200/030 OS3.1

EDIT: 68000 version works O.K but colours are washed out.

EDIT2: Just remembered I used the one from the ADF first, that one works, it's the 020 versions that cause that effect.

iconlib 020

iconlib2 from adf

Last edited by Arnie; 12 October 2015 at 20:54.
Arnie is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 20:39   #1358
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Sorry, but IMHO the first reads:

A snapshot WILL convert your icon, do you want to continue?

The second reads:

Would you like snapshot to also convert you icon?

I would still expect the snapshot to work when replying no in this case.
I see the difference now. Snapshot does not work (it is cancelled) if "No" is selected in the requester. This also explains why there is not a "Never" option. I did not understand how the requester works but I believe you are correct. Maybe the original was not as clear as I thought.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
If the message is changed I would prefer to see something like this:

Snapshot will convert
PNG icons to a lower
quality OS 3.5 format!

Continue?
Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No
It looks good to me although I would remove the "will" and change the "convert" to "converts". I do prefer the "Continue?" over "Do you want to do that?"

Code:
PNG Icon Snapshot==> %s

Snapshot converts PNG
icons to a lower quality
OS 3.5 format!

Continue?
Yes, this icon|Yes, always|No
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Not warning people they are about to reduce the quality of their icons would be very bad form IMHO...
Perhaps. Many attributes of the icon change, some good and some bad (size, speed, quality). I have been impressed with the lack of quality loss in the few conversions that I have done. I consider "a lower quality" as optional depending on what other people think, especially Peter .
matthey is offline  
Old 26 June 2015, 22:34   #1359
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe
 
Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,195
Well, I am "colorblind" (I've got daltonism), but I only notice a line in the borders and a couple of pixels. But as I say you can't snapshot those icons with the icon.library mantaining the format, so why do you want that annoying message?

This is a screenshot with the same drawers in both formats:

Last edited by Retrofan; 26 June 2015 at 22:49.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 27 June 2015, 01:57   #1360
James
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
It looks good to me although I would remove the "will" and change the "convert" to "converts". I do prefer the "Continue?" over "Do you want to do that?"
Yes, even better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
Perhaps. Many attributes of the icon change, some good and some bad (size, speed, quality). I have been impressed with the lack of quality loss in the few conversions that I have done. I consider "a lower quality" as optional depending on what other people think, especially Peter .
Yes, "a lower quality" probably sounds way too negative, maybe it could be replaced with "8 bit", or as you say, dropped altogether... PeterK's opinion is the only one that really counts in this matter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
But as I say you can't snapshot those icons with the icon.library mantaining the format, so why do you want that annoying message?
On most systems that will only ever use PeterK's icon.library it is usually desirable to convert all icons because of the size and speed improvements Matthey mentioned, and the fact that they will never be displayed at full quality anyway. I have done this on my A1500, and I can understand why you see the message as a nuisance. But once they are converted you should never see the message again, and there are times when the message can be important in preventing unwanted conversions. I use AfA on WinUAE, but I sometimes have to fall back to using icon.library due to a few incompatibilities, and there has been at least one occasion where I forgot about the snapshot conversion and was saved from converting several icons by that message.
James is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Amiga1992 support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:47.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09788 seconds with 14 queries