English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 July 2011, 11:10   #21
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by _mandark_ View Post
Just gave the library a try, but my machine (A1200/ACA1230/OS 3.9) does not finish booting. After kicking the ROM-image I only see a black screen and booting does not continue. If I reboot and boot with "no startup-sequence" in Early Startup Menu I get to the CLI. But first a requester asking about ENV appears and afterwards the CLI-prompt is not shown, though the CLI can be used.
Could you check "DOS31_original" file? If this version don't works then perhaps dos library can't be loaded via current version of LoadModule or older OS like OS 3.0 can be necessary.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 20 July 2011, 16:52   #22
_mandark_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Could you check "DOS31_original" file? If this version don't works then perhaps dos library can't be loaded via current version of LoadModule or older OS like OS 3.0 can be necessary.
"DOS31_original" also does not finish booting. Your new version boots into Workbench but has strange issues afterwards. I had trouble with CygnusEd (v 4.17). Two times it could not start - it tried to open the CED-screen but failed several times. Another time it opened a CED-window instead of a screen, a third time the Amiga crashed with some graphcs corruption before:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date : Wednesday 20-Jul-11 16:23:13
Task : 0824DE08 "CygnusEd ver. 3.5+"
Error : 80000006 (DEADEND)
By : System: no alert occured
Cause : Check instruction error
------------------------------------
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 21 July 2011, 12:06   #23
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by _mandark_ View Post
"DOS31_original" also does not finish booting. Your new version boots into Workbench but has strange issues afterwards. I had trouble with CygnusEd (v 4.17). Two times it could not start - it tried to open the CED-screen but failed several times. Another time it opened a CED-window instead of a screen, a third time the Amiga crashed with some graphcs corruption before:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date : Wednesday 20-Jul-11 16:23:13
Task : 0824DE08 "CygnusEd ver. 3.5+"
Error : 80000006 (DEADEND)
By : System: no alert occured
Cause : Check instruction error
------------------------------------
Thanks for tests. If DOS31_original version don't works on your config that dos library can't be replaced via LoadModule, due this is original (only relocated) version of DOS 40.3 from A600/A1200/A4000 3.1 ROMs, perhaps custom ROM must be created. DOS31_new can be buggy (my buggs), but it has also not removed one more code protection.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 21 July 2011, 12:11   #24
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by wawa View Post
don, with your knowledge from ressourced dos library you could help out with aros(68k), true open source approach to improve on original amiga os. clean room would have to be kept because aros has to maintain legality. one of the members is toni willen here, the rest can be contacted via aros dev ml or aros exec. i think it would be best to bundle forces in this direction, even if aros, meant to be portable, is not written in asm for the most part. still critical optimisations might perhaps be accepted.
Resourcing code and understanding the code are two different things for me. Especialy code written in C, anyway I started to find and optimise dos routines one after one. Here is the one of the shortest, maybe useful for someone:

; SYNOPSIS
; status = IsInteractive( file )
; D0 D1
;
; BOOL IsInteractive(BPTR)

lbC0222DA ; _LVOIsInteractive
; MOVE.L D7,-(SP)
; MOVE.L D1,D7
; MOVE.L D7,D0
; ASL.L #2,D0
; MOVEA.L D0,A0
; MOVE.L (4,A0),D1
; MOVE.L D1,D0
; MOVE.L (SP)+,D7

asl.l #2,D1
move.l D1,A0
move.l 4(A0),D0

RTS
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 21 July 2011, 12:41   #25
_mandark_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Thanks for tests. If DOS31_original version don't works on your config that dos library can't be replaced via LoadModule, due this is original (only relocated) version of DOS 40.3 from A600/A1200/A4000 3.1 ROMs, perhaps custom ROM must be created. DOS31_new can be buggy (my buggs), but it has also not removed one more code protection.
I did not load it via LoadModule, already built custom ROMs for testing. Not much of a hassle with Remus.
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 22 July 2011, 12:44   #26
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by _mandark_ View Post
I did not load it via LoadModule, already built custom ROMs for testing. Not much of a hassle with Remus.
Then perhaps it must be Remus bug or you made something wrong, due both versions are identical (except absolute addres values). Attached is compare table, if someone want to check.
Attached Files
File Type: txt results.txt (6.2 KB, 273 views)
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 22 July 2011, 12:52   #27
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,383
I've tested Dos31_original with LoadResident from the startup-sequence and also with Remus replacing only the dos.library in Kickstart 40.68 and both works on my WinUAE system.

_mandark_ should try a custom ROM with the dos.library 40.3 and the SHORT RELOCs !
PeterK is offline  
Old 22 July 2011, 18:07   #28
_mandark_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
_mandark_ should try a custom ROM with the dos.library 40.3 and the SHORT RELOCs !
I can do that if you tell me how to. I didn't find a Remus setting concerning RELOCs, only found some utilities on Aminet by using it as a search term. Apart from that I got no further clue...

I think the ROM is fine, as it worked for building my custom OS 3.9 BB3 ROM and ROMs including Cosmos Betas. So it should not be complete trash. But I also tend to make mistakes from time to time

This is the .rpf which I used for building the custom ROM. "dos.library_orig" is the resourced version from Don_Adan:
os39_db.txt
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 22 July 2011, 19:38   #29
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,383
The dos.library 40.3 with the SHORT RELOCs is that which belongs to the original Amiga Kickstart ROMs.

Unfortunately, Don_Adan has given his modified version with the RELOC32 tables the suffix "original". That can only cause confusion.

Just take the dos.library 40.3 with the size of 40132 bytes, CRC32 2F69D3EB, MD5 E278804F80DC9A9B3015B680C504A758.
PeterK is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 10:39   #30
Wepl
Moderator
 
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
; SYNOPSIS
; status = IsInteractive( file )
; D0 D1
;
; BOOL IsInteractive(BPTR)

lbC0222DA ; _LVOIsInteractive
; MOVE.L D7,-(SP)
; MOVE.L D1,D7
; MOVE.L D7,D0
; ASL.L #2,D0
; MOVEA.L D0,A0
; MOVE.L (4,A0),D1
; MOVE.L D1,D0
; MOVE.L (SP)+,D7

asl.l #2,D1
move.l D1,A0
move.l 4(A0),D0

RTS
properly resourced I would expect:
...
move.l (fh_Interactive,a0),d1
...

BTW, I do not see that much sense in doing this, but if you do it anyway you could also made a variant for 68020+:

move.l (fh_Interactive,d1.l*4),d0
Wepl is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 10:29   #31
_mandark_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
The dos.library 40.3 with the SHORT RELOCs is that which belongs to the original Amiga Kickstart ROMs.

Unfortunately, Don_Adan has given his modified version with the RELOC32 tables the suffix "original". That can only cause confusion.

Just take the dos.library 40.3 with the size of 40132 bytes, CRC32 2F69D3EB, MD5 E278804F80DC9A9B3015B680C504A758.
Sorry, in the current archive there is no such file:
6a19b19a9f50196019e74aede5192060 DOS31_new
2c08fe413e09b5e6885db593d8a0502b DOS31_original
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 13:42   #32
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by _mandark_ View Post
Sorry, in the current archive there is no such file:...
Quote:
The dos.library 40.3 with the SHORT RELOCs is that which belongs to the original Amiga Kickstart ROMs.
Please use RomSplit to extract the true original dos.library 40.3 from your ROM.
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 14:39   #33
_mandark_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Please use RomSplit to extract the true original dos.library 40.3 from your ROM.
Well, the original library from my 3.1 Kickstart ROM of course works, if I use it in my custom ROM. With the same .prf otherwise.
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 15:04   #34
_mandark_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Thanks for tests. If DOS31_original version don't works on your config that dos library can't be replaced via LoadModule, due this is original (only relocated) version of DOS 40.3 from A600/A1200/A4000 3.1 ROMs, perhaps custom ROM must be created. DOS31_new can be buggy (my buggs), but it has also not removed one more code protection.
Just gave it another try to verify my findings. My custom ROM with DOS_original is booting fine, everything working as expected! So I must have mixed up something the first time..
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 15:15   #35
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,029
Next version is available.
One my bug fixed, some original bugs for SetIoErr fixed, some comments added, some routines converted/reworked to ASM (check for "final version").

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
properly resourced I would expect:
...
move.l (fh_Interactive,a0),d1
...

BTW, I do not see that much sense in doing this, but if you do it anyway you could also made a variant for 68020+:

move.l (fh_Interactive,d1.l*4),d0
I think similar, one ROM can be for all 68K CPU's, external OS libraries/devices can be optimised for every CPU's. Perhaps size of ROM fully converted to ASM can be lower than 256 KB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
The dos.library 40.3 with the SHORT RELOCs is that which belongs to the original Amiga Kickstart ROMs.

Unfortunately, Don_Adan has given his modified version with the RELOC32 tables the suffix "original". That can only cause confusion.

Just take the dos.library 40.3 with the size of 40132 bytes, CRC32 2F69D3EB, MD5 E278804F80DC9A9B3015B680C504A758.
Amiga ROM's has no relocs or short relocs, due are pure binary file loacted at $F80000 (like ROM 3.1) or $FC0000 (like ROM 1.3) address. Only some parts of Blizzard/Cyberstorm ROMs (located at $F00000) has relocs.

Last edited by TCD; 24 July 2011 at 15:51.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 15:33   #36
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by _mandark_ View Post
Just gave it another try to verify my findings. My custom ROM with DOS_original is booting fine, everything working as expected! So I must have mixed up something the first time..
Well, that's good news, of course !!

Edited: SpeedROM comment removed.

@Don_Adan
Yes, you're right, the ROM has no short or long relocs. But your Dos31_original was already the modified version and not the original output from RomSplit.

Last edited by PeterK; 24 July 2011 at 16:13.
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 15:37   #37
_mandark_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Next version is available.
One my bug fixed, some original bugs for SetIoErr fixed, some comments added, some routines converted/reworked to ASM (check for "final version").
If it's from your .lzx I downloaded about 10 minutes ago I tested it already
434ad78e4a12c5f326d452e53a9ffe04 DOS31_new, MD5

It still doesn't finish booting. I discovered that this is somehow connected to MCP. If I uncomment patchcontrol and MCP in the startup-sequence the boot process continues - until it complains about Volume C not being mounted. Then C:AddDataTypes, C:IPrefs, C:ConClip, C:FBlit, C:Systempatch cannot be executed and I get dropped into an empty Workbench screen (no Volume icons shown).

This is my startup-sequence for DOS31_new:
startup-sequence.txt

Last edited by _mandark_; 24 July 2011 at 15:45. Reason: new information
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 16:19   #38
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,383
The latest Dos31_new causes a Guru (exec: checksum error) when I try to load it with LoadResident. Please use build-numbers for your new versions.
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 18:51   #39
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,307
I tested today the new DOS lib (don`t knwo which version). Replaced it with original and made a ROM file with Remus (+romfixes2). The file is loaded with RemAPollo. Result was booting fails with software failure (something witch access to CD).
daxb is offline  
Old 25 July 2011, 11:41   #40
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 56
Posts: 2,029
Next version is available.
Next my bug fixed, more routines reworked to ASM or optimised.
Don_Adan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source CLI commands Mrs Beanbag Coders. System 13 10 December 2016 09:50
Open-source graphics library Don_Adan Coders. System 32 15 January 2013 22:15
dos.library Open() hangs MrD Coders. Asm / Hardware 15 24 July 2012 19:55
NewsRog goes Open Source Paul News 0 04 December 2004 16:37
BlitzBasic - Is now open source Djay Amiga scene 2 08 February 2003 01:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:46.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10538 seconds with 13 queries