English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2012, 12:02   #21
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Smile

>FrodeSolheim: Do you know if the server can work using Windows XP?
I've tried to start a game locally (lan/localhost) and online (with 2 clients), and the server process seems to suddently stop when all clients are connected. It works well if the server process is started under Windows Seven (tested)

Python V3
Windows XP SP3
FS-UAE V0.9.10 (same problem with V0.9.9b4)

More infos (over a lan):



Then, the second client connects...
...
"game loop
stopping game_loop"

And all processes (clients+server) suddenly stop
Any idea?

Info: The same problem occurs with two different computers (with and without firewalls)
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 12:04   #22
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
>FrodeSolheim: Do you know if the server can work using Windows XP?
I've tried to start a game locally (lan/localhost) and online (with 2 clients), and the server process seems to suddently stop when all clients are connected. It works well if the server process is started under Windows Seven (tested)

Python V3
Windows XP SP3
FS-UAE V0.9.10 (same problem with V0.9.9b4)
The server is not python 3-compatible. Use python 2, and it will work!
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 12:52   #23
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
The server is not python 3-compatible. Use python 2, and it will work!
It works, thanks
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 18:49   #24
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
>FrodeSolheim: I. Do you think that it is possible to play online using the keyboard only instead of real joysticks? (Client 1 & Client 2=cursor+right alt/ctrl)
We've tried many combinations and the emulator always shuts down when we hit some keys (or move the mouse pointer)
Settings: auto/keyboard/mouse/amiga_mouse/amiga_joystick/nothing
Game tested: Speedball 2/no mouse required/2 joysticks

## Valid values for devices joystick ports:
## "mouse", "keyboard", "auto", in addition to gamepad / joystick devices,
## which are specified by names.

## The device connected to port 0. If set to auto (the default), a mouse
## will be configured in port 0.
joystick_port_0 = ?

## The device connected to port 0. If set to auto (the default), a the
## first joystick/gamepad connected to the computer will be used, if
## the joystick/gamepad is supported. Otherwise it defaults to keyboard
## emulation (cursor keys + right CTRL). To force keyboard emulation,
## specify "keyboard"
joystick_port_1 = ?

Of course, we always have to invert the settings for Client 1 & Client 2.

II. Is it possible to enable/disable/change a controller (mouse/joystick) within the emulator?

Thanks!
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 18:55   #25
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
>FrodeSolheim: I. Do you think that it is possible to play online using the keyboard only instead of real joysticks? (Client 1 & Client 2=cursor+right alt/ctrl)
We've tried many combinations and the emulator always shuts down when we hit some keys (or move the mouse pointer)
Settings: auto/keyboard/mouse/amiga_mouse/amiga_joystick/nothing
Game tested: Speedball 2/no mouse required/2 joysticks

## Valid values for devices joystick ports:
## "mouse", "keyboard", "auto", in addition to gamepad / joystick devices,
## which are specified by names.

## The device connected to port 0. If set to auto (the default), a mouse
## will be configured in port 0.
joystick_port_0 = ?

## The device connected to port 0. If set to auto (the default), a the
## first joystick/gamepad connected to the computer will be used, if
## the joystick/gamepad is supported. Otherwise it defaults to keyboard
## emulation (cursor keys + right CTRL). To force keyboard emulation,
## specify "keyboard"
joystick_port_1 = ?

Of course, we always have to invert the settings for Client 1 & Client 2.
If both players want to have keyboard joystick emulation, player 1 should have:
Code:
joystick_port_0 = keyboard
joystick_port_1 = amiga_joystick
and player 2 should have:
Code:
joystick_port_0 = amiga_joystick
joystick_port_1 = keyboard
(or opposite, of course). amiga_joystick inserts a "dummy" joystick, so the result of this is that both players have configured joysticks in both joystick port 0 and 1. You could think of amiga_joystick as "remote joystick".

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
II. Is it possible to enable/disable/change a controller (mouse/joystick) within the emulator?
Thanks!
Not yet, but eventually!

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 01 March 2012 at 19:01.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 19:09   #26
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Smile

Thanks a lot!
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 19:41   #27
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
The server is not python 3-compatible. Use python 2, and it will work!
I have fixed the server so it is Python 3-compatible (now requires Python >= 2.6). Available at the usual place:
http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/net-play

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
Thanks a lot!
Does this mean it worked for you? -Let me know in any case
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 20:13   #28
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
I have fixed the server so it is Python 3-compatible (now requires Python >= 2.6). Available at the usual place:
http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/net-play



Does this mean it worked for you? -Let me know in any case
About Python 3: Cool!

About the controllers: Yes it works well!
Is there a way to use the keyboard (cursor keys+right alt/ctrl) & the mouse in the same session? Some games require a joystick & a mouse (pointer and/or buttons) What would be the settings in this case?
It would be nice to add a chat feature within the emulator!
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 20:20   #29
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
Is there a way to use the keyboard (cursor keys+right alt/ctrl) & the mouse in the same session? Some games require a joystick & a mouse (pointer and/or buttons) What would be the settings in this case?
Obviously, FS-UAE supports both mouse and joystick at the same time in separate ports, but I sense this is not what you ask about. Could you be more specific, ideally with an example of a game, and what you would like to be able to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
It would be nice to add a chat feature within the emulator!
All in time -have to wait and see if the basic net play functionality is a success before building more on top of it.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 20:39   #30
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
in fact with these settings it's not possible to use the mouse (pointer):

joystick_port_0 = keyboard
joystick_port_1 = amiga_joystick

joystick_port_0 = amiga_joystick
joystick_port_1 = keyboard

Game: Dogfight
The player has to double-click an icon to start the game (it's difficult to move a mouse pointer with a joystick ). Then, all players use the joysticks to play the game.
There are a lot of other games that require a mouse+a joystick
It's particularly
important that the mouse does not "interact" with one of the joysticks during a game
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 20:52   #31
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
in fact with these settings it's not possible to use the mouse (pointer):

joystick_port_0 = keyboard
joystick_port_1 = amiga_joystick

joystick_port_0 = amiga_joystick
joystick_port_1 = [FONT=monospace]keyboard
Quite right; you need to think in terms of the amiga joystick ports, and here both ports are occupied by joysticks, so no Amiga mouse connected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
Game: Dogfight
The player has to double-click an icon to start the game (it's difficult to move a mouse pointer with a joystick )
Very

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
Then, all players use the joysticks to play the game.
If the game requires mouse + joystick at one point during the game, and joystick + joystick at another, this is not currently possible with FS-UAE. It would need a input configuration menu in FS-UAE (planned anyway), but also distributed joystick port swapping (this is possible to do).

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
There are a lot of other games that require a mouse+a joystick
Yes, -but there are not that many that need a mouse+joystick at one time, and joystick+joystick at another time (?).

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
-It's slow (you already know and it's a beta)
How was the game play speed for you now?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 21:13   #32
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
If the game requires mouse + joystick at one point during the game, and joystick + joystick at another, this is not currently possible with FS-UAE. It would need a input configuration menu in FS-UAE (planned anyway), but also distributed joystick port swapping (this is possible to do).

How was the game play speed for you now?
Ok, that's the answer I wanted

About the speed: It's better now, we have probably had a ping issue two days ago.
We have to try some more games and try the tweaked version too
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 21:15   #33
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
Game: Dogfight
The player has to double-click an icon to start the game (it's difficult to move a mouse pointer with a joystick ). Then, all players use the joysticks to play the game.
By the way, if this a workbench-launched game (the floppy boots into workbench, and you doubleclick the icon to start the game), you can fix the floppy to autostart the game... thus removing the need for the mouse.

(Edit StartupSequence or something -many years since I did this last..)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 21:24   #34
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
By the way, if this a workbench-launched game (the floppy boots into workbench, and you doubleclick the icon to start the game), you can fix the floppy to autostart the game... thus removing the need for the mouse.

(Edit StartupSequence or something -many years since I did this last..)
Yes I know, but the goal is to be able to start a game without having to modifiy these files
A lot of games require the left/right mouse button too (in order to skip intro menus) + a joystick for each player (the game itself)
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 21:53   #35
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
About the speed: It's better now, we have probably had a ping issue two days ago.
We have to try some more games and try the tweaked version too
Just download the latest server here: http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/net-play
-it is "pre-tweaked"
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 22:01   #36
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Happy

Thanks!
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 02 March 2012, 00:08   #37
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
>FrodeSolheim: Are the parallel port joysticks already supported? http://www.vesalia.de/e_4playeradapter.htm
And how many simultaneous players can join a server (max)?
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 02 March 2012, 00:18   #38
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaOnline View Post
>FrodeSolheim: Are the parallel port joysticks already supported? http://www.vesalia.de/e_4playeradapter.htm
And how many simultaneous players can join a server (max)?
Emulated parallel port joysticks are not supported yet, but it is on the todo-list.

There is an artificial limit of 4 right now (but the limit could just as well be 8 or 16 or whatever, if there is a good reason for it). The reason I coded in the limit of 4 players on the server is that the FS-UAE debug HUD shows network status for 4 players currently.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 02 March 2012, 00:31   #39
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Emulated parallel port joysticks are not supported yet, but it is on the todo-list.

There is an artificial limit of 4 right now (but the limit could just as well be 8 or 16 or whatever, if there is a good reason for it). The reason I coded in the limit of 4 players on the server is that the FS-UAE debug HUD shows network status for 4 players currently.

I see Only a few games support 5 players or more. And most of the time, player 3&4 will have to use the parallel port joysticks
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 02 March 2012, 12:46   #40
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
 
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
If the game requires mouse + joystick at one point during the game, and joystick + joystick at another, this is not currently possible with FS-UAE. It would need a input configuration menu in FS-UAE (planned anyway), but also distributed joystick port swapping (this is possible to do).
And if the game requires
-a joystick (cursor keys+right alt/ctrl) for the player 1

and

-normal cursor keys + other keyboard keys for the player 2

All this at one point
==> Same problem?
Game tested: North & South

Thanks
AmigaOnline is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UAE XFD wrapper (beta) Toni Wilen Amiga scene 9 06 July 2022 12:14
fs-uae.net - New home page for FS-UAE FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 4 01 May 2013 11:10
Can FS-UAE be used to play on the same IP? Neil79 support.FS-UAE 9 09 February 2013 21:03
P-UAE on wiki.abime.net ? Mequa support.OtherUAE 4 24 November 2010 23:50
How i can get a game on net and play it on AMIGA Scuppe80 Amiga scene 4 29 September 2004 16:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:45.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11598 seconds with 14 queries