English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 May 2012, 10:08   #21
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
i can assemble these, What would be the cost of the boards plus the parts ?. if people want them assembled i can assemble them. 4mb is good enough for WHDload games and allowing those apps that require fast ram to run.

I could get the boards made pretty cheaply too

GOGOGOGOGO



Kipper you are the man! always cool and useful amiga projects. I think this would be a hit since no more a600 expansions made atm.
magnetic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 May 2012, 11:04   #22
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 2,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If I remember correctly the problem with the 2007 version is the physical fit? Which was why the 2008 version is a dual PCB board.

How bad is it?

I tried to open the .sch and .brd files from the 2007 version and they were created using P-Cad 2001 which i do not have and is also not for sale/supported now, there are also no (free) tools to convert it to Eagle so my only option would be to start from scratch using the picture of the schematic and retrace everything. I have found some compatible 44 pin ram that can be used too that is still stocked so compatible ram looks like it is available Although i little bit of rewiring is required. I suppose the plus side of this would be i could redesign the shape to allow it to co-exist with other addons. if i could find gerber files of the 2007 design i could get the board created

I have someone searching for the original ram chips also so it is possible i get a hit there. What appears to be the best is to try to work with the original design as it is a known working schematic so it obviously reduces the chances of errors creeping in when being reproduced (not to mention saves a whole bunch of time).
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 13:23   #23
spock-79
Registered User
spock-79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremen
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If I remember correctly the problem with the 2007 version is the physical fit? Which was why the 2008 version is a dual PCB board.

How bad is it?

The only problem is the 68pin socket which clips over the MC68000. The pins from the socket have to be bent about 3mm, only then there is enough space between the expansion and the mainboard.

All shown in my little HowTo on Amibay .

Some Pictures of the expansion:
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00092.JPG
Views:	285
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	31565 Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0513.JPG
Views:	315
Size:	204.8 KB
ID:	31566
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0514.JPG
Views:	241
Size:	121.4 KB
ID:	31567 Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI1060.JPG
Views:	307
Size:	119.1 KB
ID:	31568


And if you use a small adapter for a 68010 (this one is switchable between 68000 and 68010), the space problem is also history ..
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0510.JPG
Views:	311
Size:	249.3 KB
ID:	31569
spock-79 is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 16:00   #24
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 2,574
k,

was able to find, download, install and successfully open the files in P-Cad 2006 so at least i should be able to create gerber files (once i figure it all out lol). What i am thinking is to reduce the board size by 50% and make it a 4mb board, i'm open to suggestions, possible pitfalls etc. I may (MAY!) make the cpu socket a different mini board dependent on height clearance. We'll see, got a few things to keep me amused in the short term. Will have my boards for the PSX adapter on Fri/Mon. and a few other goodies arriving soion
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 17:44   #25
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Blairgowrie
Age: 36
Posts: 526
Cool, I'd be interested in at least one 4mb kit.

Is it correct that with a 68000 there is no way to get 8Mb to work with pcmcia? Would there be any advantage to creating a 4+1.5 configuration like the 2008 version has or is this kinda impossible or more trouble than it's worth without starting from an 8mb board?

Would it be simple to add a jumper for an NMI button to such a board?
jimbob is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 20:22   #26
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
k,
What i am thinking is to reduce the board size by 50% and make it a 4mb board
That's exactly what I would prefer.
duga is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 21:48   #27
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 927
I've got a friend who makes PCBs... If there was a big enough market he could create such devices but appreciably it has to be economically viable.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 22:05   #28
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 33
Posts: 332
I don't see any point of recreating something like this. It is too easy to create this board. Shore it can be smaller but those mem chips are hard to find but it can be done. I think that I can manage to produce those boards for less than 10 euros per piece but I don't see any point of doing this...
majsta is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 22:08   #29
spock-79
Registered User
spock-79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bremen
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by majsta View Post
I think that I can manage to produce those boards for less than 10 euros per piece...

Fully populated??
spock-79 is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 22:40   #30
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 33
Posts: 332
Yes, what do you have there expensive instead memory (hard to find). Everything else is cheap. I didn't look at the schematics long time ago but as I recall Altera Max is used, JTAG header, SRAM memory and few resistors, capacitors and PLCC-68 socket surface mounted version. So you can calculate for yourself that is cheap. Even JTAG header is not necessary here after Max is programmed.
PCB can be done with this parameters for really low price :
thickness: 1.0mm
dimension: 100mmX100mm
layer: 2
colour: green
surface finish: Hasl
majsta is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 22:59   #31
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Making it smaller would be awesome!!!
I really love the small footprint that Boboo used on his Furia S628 and the sandwich FuriaRAM. 10MB in total and an 28MHz 68000 was really nice to have on my spare A600



Anything for the A600 is definitely welcome
mfilos is offline  
Old 08 May 2012, 23:08   #32
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 33
Posts: 332
Yes I read your test bench when you received the board. But on this picture I see that he used GAL and FPGA device for memory also does not make any sense. I remember that he left one header for further upgrades and on that header on this picture I see CPLD device. clock buffer and level shifter or something. Like I said why use GAL why don't use CPLD device for memory and for solving timing difference between 7.09Mhz clk and new one. Anyhow perfect look, and maybe best thing for Amiga that single person produced. When I look back in time on single thing worked hundreds of people and he managed alone ! But Lets wait I m coming next in line
majsta is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 02:33   #33
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 2,574
so far i've found 50 chips at a decent price. The boards can be made for roughly $4 (Canadian) a board so its definately a lot better than 10 euros. if you do the conversion you are looking at about 3 euro's. I could actually use compatible 44 pin FP 1m x 16 dram chips which are still being stocked by major electronic distributors in Canada/US. Bottom line is it is not that expensive and it still serves a useful purpose

@majsta

I took a look at your accelerator and I want you to get that done (hence donation) I know there are people out there that have different ideas for their machines. What kind of price are you looking at for your accelerator. ? The 4 mb expansion is a cheap method of getting an A600 to run WHDload games that otherwise some people wouldn't be able to due to cash flow etc. If people are interested in it then let them have it, thats why i will always send feelers out for interest. For this project i will probably create 25 and order more boards for those that want to attempt this themselves. The parts are there... i found one place with 10,000 (yes 10,000) but i had already agreed to a purchase of some from the US. There are a lot of 3rd party distributors which can find the hard to find chips, may cost a bit more but thats what happens once they are not being produced any more. If you want to provide people with these boards then fill your boots, ultimately the end user wins

Last edited by kipper2k; 09 May 2012 at 03:08.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 10:28   #34
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 669
i have a lot of simm 4 mega with tms418160dz -70 are ok, i need desolder or create a pcb with simm slot?
cpiac64 is online now  
Old 09 May 2012, 10:30   #35
Etze
TooDee
Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
I would gladly take one of those 4 MB RAM expansions...
Etze is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 10:39   #36
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 33
Posts: 332
I understand that lot of people have few Amiga's and one just for the games with 4 megabytes should be enough. Regarding to accelerator, I don't know about the price but it will be opensource so built it I can't tell anything except that yesterday had major progress again. Today maybe we will have accelerator working But don't want to say more. Yes I can produce those mem board but like I said I don't see any point of doing that because this accelerator will replace everything, every mem board you have and every accelerator you have because we might get faster accelerator for Amiga ever, because this concept will support anything from basic Mc68000 to natami...
majsta is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 10:54   #37
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 669
20 expansions in Italy i suppose
cpiac64 is online now  
Old 09 May 2012, 12:38   #38
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by majsta View Post
Yes I read your test bench when you received the board. But on this picture I see that he used GAL and FPGA device for memory also does not make any sense. I remember that he left one header for further upgrades and on that header on this picture I see CPLD device. clock buffer and level shifter or something. Like I said why use GAL why don't use CPLD device for memory and for solving timing difference between 7.09Mhz clk and new one. Anyhow perfect look, and maybe best thing for Amiga that single person produced. When I look back in time on single thing worked hundreds of people and he managed alone ! But Lets wait I m coming next in line
FuriaRAM not required - 7 MHz timing. GAL includes flexible logic CPU2Amiga. Xilinx has added only much later.
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 12:49   #39
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
Making it smaller would be awesome!!!
I really love the small footprint that Boboo used on his Furia S628 and the sandwich FuriaRAM. 10MB in total and an 28MHz 68000 was really nice to have on my spare A600



Anything for the A600 is definitely welcome

Why cant someone put this board into production? Like 50 + units? I think they would sell out quickly..
magnetic is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 13:17   #40
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 2,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Why cant someone put this board into production? Like 50 + units? I think they would sell out quickly..
It is a nice board, open sourced too for the board, the cpu is still available ( in any quantity you want at ~$15) This is first time i seen this board, Wow, nice work!. something else to whet my appetite
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 4mb-8mb fast ram expansion kipper2k Hardware mods 125 20 September 2013 01:24
8MB Ram Upgrade Card Question Slyder1980 Hardware mods 7 03 February 2012 00:03
A608 Amiga 600 - 4mb Fast Ram Upgrade fitzsteve MarketPlace 0 17 October 2010 23:23
Wanted: 4MB or 8MB A1200 RAM expansion! 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 0 12 September 2010 20:45
A1200 8mb ram expansion only 4mb Nipedley support.Hardware 13 16 February 2009 01:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22894 seconds with 14 queries