English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2012, 11:54   #1
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
icon.library 46.4 test versions

Always download the last full version from Aminet before you update:

Aminet - util/libs/IconLib_46.4.lha


Update to icon.library 46.4.444:

A lot of optimizations in the zlib decoder for the PNG and OS4 icons:

The useless cyclic 32 kB buffer has been removed together with all his pointer ping-pong management.

The two static Huffman tables are now generated on the first call to inflate() instead of uncompressing them from gzipped data. The 17 bitmasks are also generated.

All together this saves more than 1 kB space in the 68020 version. The 68000 version also uses my zlib code again. It's 1.5 kB larger, but both libraries should be a little faster as before.

The remaining buffers for the dynamic Huffman code tables are now protected by using semaphores for the inflate() function.

Last but not least, I would like to say Thank You to Keir Fraser (Kaffer@EAB) for all his help and explaining the Huffman coding secrets to me. I still have to cleanup the dynamic Huffman decoding subroutine a bit, but that's rarely used for icons.


Update to icon.library 46.4.445:

Removed another 100 bytes from the zlib decoder. And creating new drawers on the workbench will now always display solid icons immediately, no matter if you use AsyncWB or not.


Update to icon.library 46.4.446:

Removed another 150 bytes from the zlib decoder. And also a little change for the deficons for Disk, Drawer, Tool, Project, Trashcan, Device and Kick in ENVARC:Sys. If the type of these deficons is wrong then it will be corrected and they will get a DrawerData structure too, if this is required.


Update to icon.library 46.4.447:

Only a few small changes to the zlib decoder again. Just about 70 bytes less, nothing important. But if you find any new bugs or issues, report them please. The dynamic table generator still needs to be cleaned up and optimized and it should also be able to create the two static tables, but I don't understand yet how it works exactly. That will come next (or never)


Update to icon.library 46.4.448:

The final zlib decoder modifications are done now. At last I've also replaced the semaphore calls again by my own bitlock protection for the buffers, which can be executed much faster under non-racing conditions. Anyway, this protection is only required by DOpus5 when two drawers with lots of icons are opened at the same time.


Update to icon.library 46.4.449:

All internal Semaphore calls have been replaced by my own bitlock protection now. And I've also improved the color reduction routine for the PNG and OS4 icons again, which makes the icon loading about 4-5 % faster.


IconDemoADF.lha

To make it easier to use my icon.library under OS 3.0+, I've built a demo ADF that shows how to get things to work. Just copy this image file onto a disk and then boot from it. It displays all types of icons: old icons, MWB-icons, NewIcons, GlowIcons, OS4-icons and PNG-icons. And it does not even need SetPatch v44 or the workbench.library. It works with LoadResident instead, uses icon.library 46.4.301 (plz update it) and the new faster colormapping. FBlit needs no ChipMem for the icons and the NewIcons patch makes even transparent backgrounds possible. DefIcons and NiPrefs are included. AutoUpdateWB and SwazInfo are also installed. Works with Kick 3.0 already. Please read the NewIcons.guide from the original package. Aminet - util/wb/NewIcons46.lha
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IconDemoADF.png
Views:	4585
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	35819  
Attached Files
File Type: lha IconDemoADF.lha (554.5 KB, 1066 views)
File Type: lha IconLib_46.4.449.lha (174.2 KB, 86 views)

Last edited by PeterK; 15 February 2017 at 15:10.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 April 2012, 12:16   #2
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 40
Posts: 2,824
Cool But how do I use this (3.0)?
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 April 2012, 12:21   #3
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
It works with ClassicWB (tested ADVSP), Scalos 1.2d and OS 3.0.
No need to get any OS 3.5+ files !

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63342

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=810622&postcount=36

Last edited by PeterK; 27 April 2012 at 12:44.
PeterK is offline  
Old 27 April 2012, 12:23   #4
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Will report back from home Peter mate
Cheers once more for these updates \o/
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 04:18   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
Edited:

The SetPatch option DISABLEROMMODULES "" is buggy and does not work as it is explained in the release note of SetPatch.

If you have SetPatch v44 then simply don't use LoadModule or LoadResident to load the icon.library or the workbench.library. SetPatch will do that.

Last edited by PeterK; 15 September 2016 at 17:46.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 21:17   #6
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 53
Posts: 317
I thought you could just copy the latest version of icon.library to libs: and it would automatically be used if it's newer than the ROM based version?

I think I have 40.4.209 in ROM and I really don't want to burn a new ROM for every update. I don't like LoadResident any more than I like OSRomUpdate!
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 22:29   #7
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Tested it tonight and it works just fine (as the previous version did).
Haven't tested thoroughly all the new features but will report once I test them out

I agree SpeedGeek that is annoying burning new ROM for the new updates. I use ACATune's MapROM feature which rox, but it would be really awesome if we could make something like ROMflash at some point to get over with all this stuff
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 22:42   #8
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
I would agree to that it doesn't make much sense to put the icon.library into an eprom and burn a new one for every update. Maybe, if it were a flash rom. Nevertheless, it has a lot of advantages to use custom ROMs with WinUAE or BlizKick or other ROM emulaters. You have shorter boot times and building a new ROM image is quite easy with Remus.

But many people are using LoadResident or LoadModule to make these libraries reset proof. This needs an extra reset only for the cold start which is neccessary for SetPatch in any case, but it speeds up all further reboots later.

Edited:
If you don't use it then SetPatch will always try to replace the resident icon.library and workbench.library with those that can be found in the LIBS: drawer, exactly as you said (but maybe without checking the version). As a result, LoadResident calls will get useless and fail and for LoadModule calls SetPatch will just waste memory by loading these two libraries again.

To avoid this rename these libraries to prevent SetPatch from finding them in LIBS:.

ok, mfilos was a little faster
Thanks for testing, mfilos !

Last edited by PeterK; 15 September 2016 at 17:50.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 May 2012, 18:42   #9
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
icon.library 46.4.230 running fine so far on my system (A1200, ACA1230-56, OS 3.9 on 4 GB CF-card).
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 04 May 2012, 01:52   #10
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 44
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post


Something else: Important for users of DOpus Magellan II:

Make sure that the newicon.library V44 is installed in your LIBS: drawer.
And activate "Alternative Icon Copying" in the DOpus settings.
I'm using dopus 5.82 ( last version)
where is the option "alternative icon copyng" ? I can't found it
clauddio is offline  
Old 04 May 2012, 08:31   #11
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
Sorry clauddio, I was using DOpus Magellan II with German localization and the options name was "Alternatives Piktogramm Kopieren", so I thought that the translation should be "Alternative Icon Copying". But now I've changed the localization to English and that shows me under "Icon Settings" that the option is called "Smart Icon Copying" instead.

@_mandark_
Thank you for your report

Last edited by PeterK; 04 May 2012 at 10:55.
PeterK is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 12:07   #12
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
Updated to icon.library 46.4.231
PeterK is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 07:48   #13
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,363
Cool I will get around to installing this soon, thanks for your work

I'm running an AGA WB OS 3.9 BB2 and RemapApollo (works like BlizKick).

I assume I can just give this icon.library to RemapApollo and it will be all good?

This library will be faster/better than the BB2 version for an AGA user?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 11:47   #14
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,542
You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.
daxb is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 14:26   #15
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,363
I just use NOROMUPDATE for SetPatch and then pass in all the updated modules separately to RemapApollo
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 15:58   #16
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.
Better check with "Avail FLUSH" directly after booting has finished.
And compare it once with SetPatch DISABLEROMMODULES ""
and another time without this option.

I would predict and could bet that NOROMUPDATE will not prevent SetPatch from disabling these two resident libraries and loading them from LIBS: again. They may still appear in the resident list, but they are disabled there. Only Avail FLUSH can show the difference.

Last edited by PeterK; 25 May 2012 at 16:13.
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 May 2012, 17:16   #17
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Was testing the new version on my A1200 and WinUAE (A1200-clone, Picasso96, uaegfx) yesterday. No big problems whatsoever, but I encountered a freeze on WinUAE when saving all drawer icons in a drawer (about 160 blue and green colored drawer icons). But I was not able to reproduce the crash...
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 25 May 2012, 00:11   #18
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
Hmm ? I never encountered such a problem yet.
Please, give me some more details in case it occurs again. (example drawer icons or the name of the icon collection they belong to)

Maybe this could also be an issue of the new dos.library ?
I guess, you are using it, but I didn't try it out yet.

Last edited by PeterK; 25 May 2012 at 16:12.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 18:31   #19
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 56
Posts: 1,498
Updated to icon.library 46.4.235
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 13:58   #20
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Hmm ? I never encountered such a problem yet.
Please, give me some more details in case it occurs again. (example drawer icons or the name of the icon collection they belong to)

Maybe this could also be an issue of the new dos.library ?
I guess, you are using it, but I didn't try it out yet.
Your guess was right, I am using the new dos.library But I also have not encountered this problem again. Your latest icon.library is running fine on my systems.
_mandark_ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 6 03 December 2012 13:47
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 19:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 05:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 16:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30926 seconds with 14 queries