English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2012, 11:54   #1
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
icon.library 46.4 test versions

Aminet - util/libs/IconLib_46.4.lha


Update to icon.library 46.4.398:

Changing the screenmode under DOpus5 from Hi/TrueColor to 256 colors or less will display simple black masks of the icon images instead of nothing. You can remap these icons by choosing icon reset from the DOpus5 icon menu or by reopening the drawers. This fix makes the icon loading a bit slower again.


Update to icon.library 46.4.399:

Changed the default configuration for the drawer flags in that way that PNG disk icons now will always show the DOpus5 lister toolbar, but drawer icons will still use the standard defaults without it. Of course, you can always change the drawer flags and viewmodes as you like them and then snapshot the lister which will automatically convert the PNG icon into the OS 3.5 format and save your settings.


Update to icon.library 46.4.400:

You will always see a requester now when PNG or OS4 TrueColor icons need to be converted into the OS 3.5 format.


Update to icon.library 46.4.401:

A bugfix for a MuForce hit in the direct drawing code of the 68020 version.

And a replacement for the inflate routine of the 68000 version. The new code that has been written and released by Keir Fraser is 2.7 kB shorter and consumes 35 kB less memory. Many thanks to Kaffer !! Well done


Update to icon.library 46.4.402:

It's now possible to disable the delayed colormapping of the 2. icon image with the command NoDelayedImage2. This may be required for a few gfx-cards, like the Voodoo 4 with Mediator, to avoid graphics corruption while dragging icons.


IconDemoADF.lha

To make it easier to use my icon.library under OS 3.0+, I've built a demo ADF that shows how to get things to work. Just copy this image file onto a disk and then boot from it. It displays all types of icons: old icons, MWB-icons, NewIcons, GlowIcons, OS4-icons and PNG-icons. And it does not even need SetPatch v44 or the workbench.library. It works with LoadResident instead, uses icon.library 46.4.301 (plz update it) and the new faster colormapping. FBlit needs no ChipMem for the icons and the NewIcons patch makes even transparent backgrounds possible. DefIcons and NiPrefs are included. AutoUpdateWB and SwazInfo are also installed. Works with Kick 3.0 already. Please read the NewIcons.guide from the original package. Aminet - util/wb/NewIcons46.lha
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IconDemoADF.png
Views:	1101
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	35819  
Attached Files
File Type: lha IconDemoADF.lha (554.5 KB, 489 views)
File Type: lha IconLib_46.4.402.lha (159.6 KB, 35 views)

Last edited by PeterK; 22 November 2014 at 14:18.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 April 2012, 12:16   #2
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 2,080
Cool But how do I use this (3.0)?
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 April 2012, 12:21   #3
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
It works with ClassicWB (tested ADVSP), Scalos 1.2d and OS 3.0.
No need to get any OS 3.5+ files !

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63342

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=810622&postcount=36

Last edited by PeterK; 27 April 2012 at 12:44.
PeterK is offline  
Old 27 April 2012, 12:23   #4
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Will report back from home Peter mate
Cheers once more for these updates \o/
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 04:18   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Some additional information concering the icon.library:

How to use LoadResident with icon.library and workbench.library and save 200 kB FastMem ?

There is a problem with SetPatch which does not realize that LoadResident has already loaded these libraries into memory, although the same procedure seems to work perfectly with LoadModule. But it does not !

SetPatch needs the option DISABLEROMMODULES ""
For example: SetPatch QUIET SKIPROMMODULES scsi.device DISABLEROMMODULES ""
Add the following lines or something similar to your startup-sequence:

Code:
 
C:Version >NIL: exec.library 45
If WARN
   C:LoadResident >NIL: LIBS:icon.library
   C:LoadResident >NIL: LIBS:workbench.library
EndIf

C:SetPatch QUIET DISABLEROMMODULES "" ; plus other options like SKIPROMMODULES ....
How to use LoadModule with icon.library and workbench.library ?

Although it seems to work for LoadModule without this trick, I've checked it out and ...
surprise, surprise, you can save about 180 kByte FastMem even with LoadModule, but LoadResident is even better in saving FastMem, it needs nearly no extra FastMem at all. Add something like this to your startup-sequence:

C:LoadModule >NIL: LIBS:icon.library LIBS:workbench.library NOREBOOT
C:SetPatch QUIET DISABLEROMMODULES ""
; plus other options like SKIPROMMODULES ....


Something else: Important for users of DOpus Magellan II:

Make sure that the newicon.library V44 is installed in your LIBS: drawer.
And activate "Smart Icon Copying" under the DOpus "Icon Settings".

Last edited by PeterK; 04 May 2012 at 08:38.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 21:17   #6
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 51
Posts: 245
I thought you could just copy the latest version of icon.library to libs: and it would automatically be used if it's newer than the ROM based version?

I think I have 40.4.209 in ROM and I really don't want to burn a new ROM for every update. I don't like LoadResident any more than I like OSRomUpdate!
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 22:29   #7
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Tested it tonight and it works just fine (as the previous version did).
Haven't tested thoroughly all the new features but will report once I test them out

I agree SpeedGeek that is annoying burning new ROM for the new updates. I use ACATune's MapROM feature which rox, but it would be really awesome if we could make something like ROMflash at some point to get over with all this stuff
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 22:42   #8
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
I would agree to that it doesn't make much sense to put the icon.library into an eprom and burn a new one for every update. Maybe, if it were a flash rom. Nevertheless, it has a lot of advantages to use custom ROMs with WinUAE or BlizKick or other ROM emulaters. You have shorter boot times and building a new ROM image is quite easy with Remus.

But many people are using LoadResident or LoadModule to make these libraries reset proof. This needs an extra reset only for the cold start which is neccessary for SetPatch in any case, but it speeds up all further reboots later. And that's where they should take this SetPatch option into account.

If you don't use it then SetPatch will always try to replace the resident icon.library and workbench.library with those that can be found in the LIBS: drawer, exactly as you said (but maybe without checking the version). As a result, LoadResident calls will get useless and fail and for LoadModule calls SetPatch will just waste memory by loading these two libraries again.

To avoid this either use SetPatch DISABLEROMMODULES "" or alternatively you could rename these libraries to prevent SetPatch from finding them in LIBS:.

ok, mfilos was a little faster
Thanks for testing, mfilos !

Last edited by PeterK; 29 April 2012 at 23:13.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 May 2012, 18:42   #9
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
icon.library 46.4.230 running fine so far on my system (A1200, ACA1230-56, OS 3.9 on 4 GB CF-card).
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 04 May 2012, 01:52   #10
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 42
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post


Something else: Important for users of DOpus Magellan II:

Make sure that the newicon.library V44 is installed in your LIBS: drawer.
And activate "Alternative Icon Copying" in the DOpus settings.
I'm using dopus 5.82 ( last version)
where is the option "alternative icon copyng" ? I can't found it
clauddio is offline  
Old 04 May 2012, 08:31   #11
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Sorry clauddio, I was using DOpus Magellan II with German localization and the options name was "Alternatives Piktogramm Kopieren", so I thought that the translation should be "Alternative Icon Copying". But now I've changed the localization to English and that shows me under "Icon Settings" that the option is called "Smart Icon Copying" instead.

@_mandark_
Thank you for your report

Last edited by PeterK; 04 May 2012 at 10:55.
PeterK is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 12:07   #12
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Updated to icon.library 46.4.231
PeterK is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 07:48   #13
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,006
Cool I will get around to installing this soon, thanks for your work

I'm running an AGA WB OS 3.9 BB2 and RemapApollo (works like BlizKick).

I assume I can just give this icon.library to RemapApollo and it will be all good?

This library will be faster/better than the BB2 version for an AGA user?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 08:58   #14
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
As already mentioned above, when loading icon.library and workbench.library resident, like it is done by RemApollo or BlizKick too, then you can save about 200 kByte of memory by using SetPatch like this: (important is the empty string "" )

C:SetPatch QUIET DISABLEROMMODULES "" ; plus other options like SKIPROMMODULES ....

If you don't use this SetPatch option, then loading these libraries resident is absolutely pointless, because SetPatch would remove them from the resident list and will load them again. The empty list = "" means that it should not disable any ROM modules.

I'm always trying to improve the library with every new release. The next version will come out very soon here....

Last edited by PeterK; 23 May 2012 at 09:06.
PeterK is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 11:47   #15
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 939
You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.
daxb is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 14:26   #16
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,006
I just use NOROMUPDATE for SetPatch and then pass in all the updated modules separately to RemapApollo
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 15:58   #17
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.
Better check with "Avail FLUSH" directly after booting has finished.
And compare it once with SetPatch DISABLEROMMODULES ""
and another time without this option.

I would predict and could bet that NOROMUPDATE will not prevent SetPatch from disabling these two resident libraries and loading them from LIBS: again. They may still appear in the resident list, but they are disabled there. Only Avail FLUSH can show the difference.

Last edited by PeterK; 25 May 2012 at 16:13.
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 May 2012, 17:16   #18
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Was testing the new version on my A1200 and WinUAE (A1200-clone, Picasso96, uaegfx) yesterday. No big problems whatsoever, but I encountered a freeze on WinUAE when saving all drawer icons in a drawer (about 160 blue and green colored drawer icons). But I was not able to reproduce the crash...
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 25 May 2012, 00:11   #19
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Hmm ? I never encountered such a problem yet.
Please, give me some more details in case it occurs again. (example drawer icons or the name of the icon collection they belong to)

Maybe this could also be an issue of the new dos.library ?
I guess, you are using it, but I didn't try it out yet.

Last edited by PeterK; 25 May 2012 at 16:12.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 18:31   #20
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Updated to icon.library 46.4.235
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 6 03 December 2012 13:47
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 19:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 05:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 16:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22333 seconds with 14 queries